Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-08, 08:22 PM   #13
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,061
Default Re: Memory, When is enough enough?

Thanks guys I'll save my money!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-08, 08:32 PM   #14
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Memory, When is enough enough?

Good man. Now stop buying ASUS.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-08, 09:07 PM   #15
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Memory, When is enough enough?

Yep Not yet .. 4GB is enough for the time being.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-08, 09:37 PM   #16
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default Re: Memory, When is enough enough?

More ram is always better.

I will be upgrading to 8gb (from 4) within the next month.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-08, 06:22 PM   #17
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,061
Default Re: Memory, When is enough enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
Good man. Now stop buying ASUS.
I use to be an Abit fan back in the day. I can't even remmeber the board but it had a religious following.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-08, 06:23 PM   #18
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,061
Default Re: Memory, When is enough enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starscream
More ram is always better.

I will be upgrading to 8gb (from 4) within the next month.
Let me know how it goes!!

How about stepping up to pc2 8500 from 6400?
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-08, 08:15 PM   #19
GeniusPr0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 173
Default Re: Memory, When is enough enough?

I went from 4GB to 8GB 2 days ago.

Vista x64 caches about 4GB of RAM (hardly have any software installed).

The only benefit will be improved loading times for more applications.

I somewhat regret buying 8GB but I couldn't resist .

__________________
3930K 4.4Ghz Liquid Cooled | 16GB 1866Mhz | PM830 256GB | 680 SLI 100+/500+
GeniusPr0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-08, 08:33 PM   #20
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Memory, When is enough enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eltigre88
I use to be an Abit fan back in the day. I can't even remmeber the board but it had a religious following.
If it was the P4 days it was probably the IC7. It was a great board.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-08-08, 09:03 PM   #21
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Memory, When is enough enough?

I would definitely install 8GB if I were using an Intel chipset based board. I have extra 4GB lying around right now, but the 780i MCH is already running hot, and I don't want to exacerbate the NB temps any further, so I'm only using 4GB.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 07:26 AM   #22
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Memory, When is enough enough?

I'll be going 8GB soon but I do photo/video editing and some 3D modeling. Ram makes a big difference with those sorts of applications.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 08:06 AM   #23
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,061
Default Re: Memory, When is enough enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
If it was the P4 days it was probably the IC7. It was a great board.
BX440 chipset right?
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 08:11 AM   #24
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Memory, When is enough enough?

4GB is enough for most gamers.

I run several VM's at once as I study for my MCSE. You add in 2 instances of Windows Server 2003, 1 or 2 of XP, 1 of Vista, and run them all at once... well...

I appreciate my 8GB.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU memory consumption, back buffer, Quadro tdsussman NVIDIA Linux 5 08-14-12 09:14 PM
Video: For HPC Energy Efficiency, Samsung 20-nm Memory Fab Makes a Difference News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 06:00 AM
Measuring card memory usage peter_ga NVIDIA Linux 0 05-24-12 08:07 PM
new memory tech QBM (Quad band memory) sebazve Rumor Mill 9 09-24-02 09:38 PM
Best DDR Memory... pelly General Hardware 10 09-01-02 04:17 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.