Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-08, 09:47 PM   #1
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default FAT32 to NTFS

I have an external hd, 500gb fat32. and id love to convert it to ntfs but i dont want to lose my files. is this possible?
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 01:17 AM   #2
boow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 23
Default Re: FAT32 to NTFS

type this in the cmd CONVERT C: /FS:NTFS if your scared just google it.
boow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 02:31 AM   #3
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,069
Default Re: FAT32 to NTFS

Quote:
Originally Posted by boow
type this in the cmd CONVERT C: /FS:NTFS if your scared just google it.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 03:48 AM   #4
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: FAT32 to NTFS

If you want a little more info, here you go. The official microsoft documentation.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307881
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 04:17 PM   #5
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: FAT32 to NTFS

i know how to convert it. i was jw if u could do it w/o file loss.
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 04:44 PM   #6
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: FAT32 to NTFS

Just transfer the files somewhere temporary. Reformat to NTFS, then bring them back over.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 05:28 PM   #7
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: FAT32 to NTFS

well i knew u can do that. but i guess u cant do what i wanted to do
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 05:36 PM   #8
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: FAT32 to NTFS

Quote:
Originally Posted by breathemetal
well i knew u can do that. but i guess u cant do what i wanted to do
...Maybe I am missing it. You simply didn't want to lose any files. So transfer them, then back. You won't lose any.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-17-08, 06:26 PM   #9
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: FAT32 to NTFS

Quote:
Originally Posted by breathemetal
well i knew u can do that. but i guess u cant do what i wanted to do
I know what you mean, just convert it so you can save the time of copying the files. Personally I wouldn't try it because the one time it's not going to work properly is the time when you don't have backups of the files; so your pc magically eats them then you have to try to recover your data. It is just easier to copy them over and back for peace of mind.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 07:15 PM   #10
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: FAT32 to NTFS

Uh, convert doesn't erase your files. It converts them on the fly. Risky yes. I wouldn't do it without first backing up, in which case you might as well just reformat it and copy them back.

Taken from the link I posted earlier.....

Quote:
You can use the convert command (Convert.exe) to convert an existing FAT volume or FAT32 volume to NTFS. Because this conversion retains all your files (unlike a format operation), use Convert.exe when you want to keep existing files on your volumes intact.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Redesigning chkdsk and the new NTFS health model (MSDN Blogs > Building Windows 8) News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 02:40 AM
Fat32 hard drive size limit Kruno Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 8 10-08-02 08:22 PM
NTFS DOS boot disk Kruno Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 5 09-22-02 05:24 AM
Dual boot question.. Tactics General Hardware 15 09-07-02 11:39 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.