Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-17-08, 09:47 PM   #1
mxmightymc
Registered User
 
mxmightymc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NewYork
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to mxmightymc
Unhappy Striker II formula glitch voltage

Okay this my setup

QX6850 3.0Ghz
Striker II Formula
4GB GSkill 5.5.5.15 1066
tagan 1100 bz

First of all I can't overclock at all except for the mem. Now I'm not sure if is a glitch or a defective board but I overclocked the cpu to 3.6ghz with v. 1.50 but cpuid shows 1.41 and temps in the 60's.

__________________
iCore 7 980x Extreme/EVGA X58 CLASSIFIED/CORSAIR DDR3 6Gb 2000mhz 8.8.8.20
eVGA GTX 260 Core 216 SSC 55nm Edition/Tagan TG-1100 U88 PSU/LIAN LI PC-V2000
/Vantage Score
mxmightymc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 09:51 PM   #2
mxmightymc
Registered User
 
mxmightymc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NewYork
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to mxmightymc
Default Re: Striker II formula glitch voltage

Using bos 1001,and tried 902.
__________________
iCore 7 980x Extreme/EVGA X58 CLASSIFIED/CORSAIR DDR3 6Gb 2000mhz 8.8.8.20
eVGA GTX 260 Core 216 SSC 55nm Edition/Tagan TG-1100 U88 PSU/LIAN LI PC-V2000
/Vantage Score
mxmightymc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 11:20 PM   #3
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Striker II formula glitch voltage

It's called Vdroop happens with most boards sadly, i have to use 1.6v in my BIOS to get 1.53v, with the 45nm in some cases does not correctly display temps my need another BIOS update, also ceck to make sure the HS is correctly seated, also what Heatsink you using to cool the processor?
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 11:25 PM   #4
mxmightymc
Registered User
 
mxmightymc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NewYork
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to mxmightymc
Default Re: Striker II formula glitch voltage

zalman 9700 cools my cpu. Should i rma my board? Oh and thanks for the quick answer!
__________________
iCore 7 980x Extreme/EVGA X58 CLASSIFIED/CORSAIR DDR3 6Gb 2000mhz 8.8.8.20
eVGA GTX 260 Core 216 SSC 55nm Edition/Tagan TG-1100 U88 PSU/LIAN LI PC-V2000
/Vantage Score
mxmightymc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 11:29 PM   #5
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Striker II formula glitch voltage

You may want to look into better cooling really, like a thermalright Ultra 120+ it's big but the 45nm processors can run hot once you start upping the voltage, 1.45v is really the best you want to put through it. Also have you tried just uping the multiplier rather then the FSB as i noticed you are at 400MHz so the northbridge may need extra juce, but also you may need to up the VTT voltage inorder to increase the FSB, not that i would recomment that you set that above 1.4v for that either. Also do you have CE1 enabled or Intel speedstep enabled?
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 11:41 PM   #6
mxmightymc
Registered User
 
mxmightymc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NewYork
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to mxmightymc
Default Re: Striker II formula glitch voltage

no Should I? Does vdroop happen with every striker II formula? Should I be worry?
__________________
iCore 7 980x Extreme/EVGA X58 CLASSIFIED/CORSAIR DDR3 6Gb 2000mhz 8.8.8.20
eVGA GTX 260 Core 216 SSC 55nm Edition/Tagan TG-1100 U88 PSU/LIAN LI PC-V2000
/Vantage Score
mxmightymc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 11:46 PM   #7
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Striker II formula glitch voltage

Happens with most boards not just the Striker, Some don't have as much of a drop ie Giabyte boards don't from what i have seen from reviews. Never personaly used a Gigabyte board so can't say for sure. Technically no if you are overclocking CE1 and speed stemp should be disabled although it does not have any impact on my E4300 all it does is reduce the multiplier on the CPU if you have manually set the voltage it will not change.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-08, 04:26 AM   #8
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Striker II formula glitch voltage

Quote:
Originally Posted by mxmightymc
Okay this my setup

QX6850 3.0Ghz
Striker II Formula
4GB GSkill 5.5.5.15 1066
tagan 1100 bz

First of all I can't overclock at all except for the mem. Now I'm not sure if is a glitch or a defective board but I overclocked the cpu to 3.6ghz with v. 1.50 but cpuid shows 1.41 and temps in the 60's.
That is not your vdroop. Vdroop is the difference between actual vcore at idle and actual vcore at full load. It looks like CPU-Z is reading your vcore way too low (happens to me also). Try use the lastest version of Everest Ultimate which should show the same vcore value as Asus PC Probe.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mxmightymc
no Should I? Does vdroop happen with every striker II formula? Should I be worry?
You shouldn't be worried about vdroop as it's there to protect the CPU from voltage spikes when going from no load to load, load back to idle, etc. If you really want to drastically reduce vdroop, just enable Load Line Calibration in BIOS and set your VID to a lower value, but doing so your CPU will be taking voltage spikes above your BIOS set VID value when going from full load to idle. It happens in miliseconds so you won't notice it, but it could crash your computer if you're already running on a high vcore.

BTW, I think your temps are normal since the 65nm QX6850 does run hot on air.

Oh, and for the CPU VTT, 1.30V in BIOS (1.22V actually according to Everest) is more than enough for 400 FSB, at least that is the case for the QX9650.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-22-08, 10:42 AM   #9
mxmightymc
Registered User
 
mxmightymc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NewYork
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to mxmightymc
Default Re: Striker II formula glitch voltage

thanx! With my specs I cant see to overclock at all everything I tried from being a small overclock to high it just crashes! any would help!
__________________
iCore 7 980x Extreme/EVGA X58 CLASSIFIED/CORSAIR DDR3 6Gb 2000mhz 8.8.8.20
eVGA GTX 260 Core 216 SSC 55nm Edition/Tagan TG-1100 U88 PSU/LIAN LI PC-V2000
/Vantage Score
mxmightymc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-08, 11:37 AM   #10
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default Re: Striker II formula glitch voltage

Amuro is right, CPU-Z doesn't ever read Striker II voltage correctly. Says I'm running 1.29v when I have 1.38 set with loadline calibration enabled, Everest reads it correctly . As for the overclocking, try upping your multiplier first, instead of going straight to 1600MHz FSB, you probably have enough vcore but not enough northbridge or southbridge voltage. Try 1.42v NB and 1.55v SB, you can always back down when you get it stable. Also mess with your memory dividers, for 1600MHz FSB run the memory in Sync mode for DDR2 800.
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Athalon 1900+ what voltage should it be? MUYA CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 10-06-02 12:37 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.