Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-08, 06:47 AM   #1
bj1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Default GeForce FX 5200 & Dual Monitors

Hi All,

Sorry for my first post to be a "help me!" but I have searched through these forums for an hour and haven't found a similar scenario with an answer.

I have a computer that I got built for me a number of years ago, and I asked for a video card that I would be able to run 2 monitors on when I could eventually afford a 3rd monitor (for wife's computer).

So that ended up being about 3 years later (i.e. now), so I now have two LG 1750SQ monitors.

The card is a GeForce FX 5200, which has a VGA out, an S-Video out, and a DVI out. My computer as work has the same outputs (different card though) using the VGA and the DVI for running 2 monitors. I got a spare adapter and brought it home, and discovered it didn't plug into my FX 5200 - since the FX 5200 has a DVI-D out, as opposed to the DVI-A outs at work.

So I got a DVI-D -> VGA adapter off eBay, it arrived today, and I've been spending the past 4 hours trying to get it to work.

I have:
- Looked for a 'run 2 monitors' in the BIOS
- Downloaded & installed the latest Forceware version 169.21
- Played around with the nView software trying to get it to work.

What happens:
- the 2nd monitor (plugged into the DVD-D -> VGA adapter) gets no signal, nor is it detected as either a monitor or TV by the nVidia software.

So, I'm prepared for a "It just won't work" in which case I'll get a different card, but I did specify that I wanted to be able to run 2 monitors when I got the computer, and the people who built it are pretty switched on and did our computers at work which all work fine.

Any ideas, nVidia experts? Do I need to post any more information?

Thanks in advance.
bj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 01:46 PM   #2
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: GeForce FX 5200 & Dual Monitors

Are you using the 169.21 driver?
I seem to remember it working but that was a while ago so I maybe wrong.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-08, 09:45 PM   #3
bj1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: GeForce FX 5200 & Dual Monitors

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger
Are you using the 169.21 driver?
Yep. First thing I tried.

When looking at driver details in Device Manager:
Driver Provider: NVIDIA
Driver Date: 12/5/2007
Driver Version: 6.14.11.6921
bj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
Gnome3 with composite is very slow on Geforce FX 5200 with 173.14.31 driver Artox NVIDIA Linux 0 05-26-12 10:33 AM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
Help with dual monitors in Windows 2000 Hellfire NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 11 09-03-02 08:23 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.