Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-20-08, 05:08 PM   #13
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Why go Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ASUSEN7900GTX
so if i have 4gb it uses almost all of that, at least thatīs what i read but hen again it was months ago, so how will Vista run on a E6600 4gb hyper X 800mhz? or do i nedd 8gb?

also i read or heard that vista doesnīt swap as much as Xp do is that true?
4GB is plenty. I "only" have 4 GB and it runs awesome. The thing people don't understand about Vista is how it caches commonly used programs in your RAM to make them start faster. This is why it tends to use more ram than XP. But, if for some reason you NEED that ram that it's using to cache stuff, it WILL release it to be used for critical stuff.

And of course you can always turn off this caching (it's called super fetch).

Gaming is perfectly fine with 4GB.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-08, 05:51 PM   #14
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default Re: Why go Vista?

I dont think too many people are already using 8gb of ram, its more like 2gb vs 4gb, and vista 64 runs fine with 2gb. Vista frees up ram when ram is needed for games or apps, vista manages memory differently than XP, so its not really comparing apples with apples.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-08, 08:24 PM   #15
RAY16
Defenestration Specialist
 
RAY16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Land of a Thousand Suns
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: Why go Vista?

I've been using Vista x64 with 2GB just fine for a while now. It's not a perfect OS, but it's far from what all the negative nancy's would like you to believe.
__________________
| Xbox/Games for Windows LIVE: NeoHumanity | Steam: RAY16 |
| Random Textual Nonsense | Random Visual Stimuli | Twitch.tv Stream |
RAY16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-08, 09:25 PM   #16
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Why go Vista?

People need to make themselves feel better about the decisions they make. Hence the repeat Vista bashers.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-08, 09:54 PM   #17
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Why go Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
People need to make themselves feel better about the decisions they make. Hence the repeat Vista bashers.
XP is a lot easier to use pirated than Vista as well.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-08, 10:06 PM   #18
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Why go Vista?

True, though MS have changed Vista to now allow users to use the OS with popups like XP. Before Vista would more or less lock them out...
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 03:50 AM   #19
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Why go Vista?

well seems as i might put an offer on that Vista ultimate after all

i have now for a while been cuorious about DX10 even if the differense isnīt all that big to dx9 but there still is a difference.

and since i have 2 HDDīs i can go dual XP and Vista

i mus thank you all for all your opinions and tips and help

i thank you kind sirīs
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 05:46 AM   #20
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: Why go Vista?

I think you'll be happy with vista, been running it for a while now (dual boot with xp).
It's mainly my music programs that makes me keep Xp (as some of them dont work very well in vista along with some VSTs). Winrar was slow too in vista64, but switching to 7-zip64bit was the cure *damn fast*

All games ive tried worked just as good as in xp so no complaining there
Dx10 is a bit overrated I think, usually it dont add much to the game (compared to the usual performance loss). This might get better in time tho as games becomes true dx10
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-21-08, 05:52 AM   #21
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Why go Vista?

but still DX10 adds some things dx9 canīt in games like WIC crysis Assassins creed among other and even if tweaks make crysis look incredible on XP it might look even better with dx10 effects adde i donīt know if it do as i havenīt seen crysis in dx10.

But yeah iīve heard that dx10 isnīt all "that"

but with dual boot i get both good dx9 and some dx10 stuff

so how is vista compared to Xp when it comes to video editing/encoding is it better than xp?
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 08:03 AM   #22
S.SubZero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 124
Default Re: Why go Vista?

DX10 also needs considerable horsepower to do those extra effects. An 8800 Ultra may do alright, but putting DX10 in an 8400 or even 8600 is kind of silly.
S.SubZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 08:05 AM   #23
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Why go Vista?

I Won the Auktion about the Vista Ultimate 32 & 64-bit

totally new never been used i won it at 1625 SEK wich is 272.0052 USD

it costs in stores 4895 at someplaces maybe cheaper 4895SEk is 819.3634 USD

so i got really cheap if ya ask me and even if it is english i can get swedish language pack

__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 08:14 AM   #24
S.SubZero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 124
Default Re: Why go Vista?

Jeez.. that's expensive. They really charge that much for Windows in other parts of the world? We here in the US went bonkers when they tried making Ultimate $400.
S.SubZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
Nvidia Tray Icon in Vista? lutikri55 NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 4 10-30-07 03:25 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Đ1998 - 2014, nV News.