Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-27-08, 11:14 AM   #61
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Why go Vista?

ok i donīt know if mie has that well 4 or 3 itīs still more than 2gb

iīll be installing Crysis 64-bit soon iīm a bit cuorious i know since iīve read that vista ddinīt do all that much difference compared to DX9=XP but still it has some effects DX9 canīt do

and running all very high using a kickass cfg might get it look even better but thatīs for me to find out soon enough
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 11:18 AM   #62
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Why go Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.SubZero
Some motherboards have an option in BIOS to remap RAM that needs to be toggled.
This and isn't there something about installing 64bit with 2Gb then plugging in the other 2 after the install? Maybe not, but I think I remember seeing that before.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 11:24 AM   #63
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Why go Vista?

well i already had 2x2gb installed prior to installing vista 64 but maybe after all updates it can read the ram normally if not then screw that
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 11:26 AM   #64
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Why go Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ASUSEN7900GTX
well i already had 2x2gb installed prior to installing vista 64 but maybe after all updates it can read the ram normally if not then screw that
LOL! Drove you crazy eh?

I'll try the 2Gb install and see what mine reads after and let you know, just not sure what day it's arriving.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 11:36 AM   #65
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Why go Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ASUSEN7900GTX
i made a 120gb partition for vista rest backup

that is 232-120=112 for backup/storage this has to be enough for vista? and games like dx10 games

crysis
coh
wic
coj
bioshock etc

or is it too small?
With an 80GB HDD (75GB partition) installing Visual Studio 2005, The Witcher, Crysis, 3dMark05 & 06, SQLServer 2005 standard Edition and then probably 10 or 12 small apps that probably don't amount to much space I was left with about 20GB free if that helps at all. One of the things with Vista that can take up quite a bit of extra space is all the updates you have to do if your running any kind of development software. Other than that, games are just getting to be HUGE and even 120GB can get used up pretty quick. I always uninstall my games after playing through them but, if you're a person that keeps all his games installed, 120GB will fill up pretty fast.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 11:40 AM   #66
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Why go Vista?

yeah but iīll be installing COH WIC and Crysis due to DX10 since iīve never seen it at hand only screens so iīm cuorious other than that i donīt know i mean having XP i might as well install other games on that HDD
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 11:41 AM   #67
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Why go Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
LOL! Drove you crazy eh?

I'll try the 2Gb install and see what mine reads after and let you know, just not sure what day it's arriving.
alrighty mate itīll be interesting to see
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 12:06 PM   #68
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Why go Vista?

Leave lots more room for Vista than you expect. You can thank WINSXS dir for that; damn bloated thing keeps getting tons bigger.
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-27-08, 01:14 PM   #69
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Why go Vista?

ok so iīm installing crysis in vista but why install it to program filesX86 when it is both x86and x64 how do i get it to install the 64bit version of crysis?
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 02:20 PM   #70
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Why go Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ASUSEN7900GTX
ok so iīm installing crysis in vista but why install it to program filesX86 when it is both x86and x64 how do i get it to install the 64bit version of crysis?
C:\Program Files (x86)\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\Bin64

AFAIK Theres nothing special about the non x86 programs folder ,In itself it has no magical 64bit properties that the other folder doesn't
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 02:44 PM   #71
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Why go Vista?

ok yeah i noticed it later dah

but why canīt vista install language packs it fails all the time?

also is there any stuff i can turn off or something? to make vista faster but still as stable as anything?
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 03:22 PM   #72
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Why go Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ASUSEN7900GTX
ok yeah i noticed it later dah

but why canīt vista install language packs it fails all the time?

also is there any stuff i can turn off or something? to make vista faster but still as stable as anything?
I used this guide: http://www.blackviper.com/WinVista/servicecfg.htm to disable some services, it reduced my memory usage quite a bit. Before installing all my web development stuff I was down to about 400mb of memory usage at idle.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
Nvidia Tray Icon in Vista? lutikri55 NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 4 10-30-07 03:25 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Đ1998 - 2014, nV News.