Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-21-08, 05:02 PM   #1
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Higher fsb or higher multi?

I always thought a higher fsb increased overall bandwidth resulting in greater performance.

I'm currently running 272x11, E4600, P5K SE, stock volts, PC6400, and was thinking about trying for 300x10 after my new ram gets in, but some articles suggest there's not much of a difference?
http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.aspx?i=3239&p=5

+ several forum discussions. I just don't want to bother if the gain will be minimal.

Thoughts?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 05:15 PM   #2
BronzeGod
Kanye West is emo
 
BronzeGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,099
Default Re: Higher fsb or higher multi?

Higher FSB
__________________
>>>>In MikeC We Trust<<<<
BronzeGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 05:16 PM   #3
Buckeye
Registered User
 
Buckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 468
Default Re: Higher fsb or higher multi?

I have read that you should find the Max FSB first. Lower Multi and find Max FSB.
Then raise Mulit until not stable. Back it down to find stable clocks.

But find Max Stable FSB first.

I could be wrong
__________________
New Build Coming Soon
Powered by Liftoff and soon to be cooled by H30.
Buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 05:41 PM   #4
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: Higher fsb or higher multi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeye
I have read that you should find the Max FSB first. Lower Multi and find Max FSB.
Then raise Mulit until not stable. Back it down to find stable clocks.

But find Max Stable FSB first.

I could be wrong
You're actually right. That's the correct way to overclock per guides and reviews.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 05:46 PM   #5
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Higher fsb or higher multi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeye
I have read that you should find the Max FSB first. Lower Multi and find Max FSB.
Then raise Mulit until not stable. Back it down to find stable clocks.

But find Max Stable FSB first.

I could be wrong
You've always seemed to know what you're talking about to me.

I've got faster ram coming soon, I'll do this method when it comes in.

Thanks guys!
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 06:56 PM   #6
Buckeye
Registered User
 
Buckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 468
Default Re: Higher fsb or higher multi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
You've always seemed to know what you're talking about to me.

I've got faster ram coming soon, I'll do this method when it comes in.

Thanks guys!
hehe thanks. I do not do very much OCing atm, but I will be soon so I have tried to read as much about it as I can.

Now when it comes to rasing voltage's for RAM and CPU's to get higher speeds I am still unclear on a lot of things.
__________________
New Build Coming Soon
Powered by Liftoff and soon to be cooled by H30.
Buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 07:09 PM   #7
Slammin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: Higher fsb or higher multi?

Then you have the other crowd that says why risk stability by overclocking the fsb when that only results in higher synthetic benchmarks. Also, depending on the chipset, you could actually find a nice high fsb, only to find that you are in a performance black hole. You'll know you are in the black hole by the synthetic numbers, but just something to keep in mind if you are running a 680i chipset.

Personally, I run whatever I can get most stable at, but I also do consider the synthetic benchmarks while doing it too. Sometimes, the cpu multi can affect fsb stability too. Seems weird, but it does.

It's fun playing with all this 'finding ram highest clock vs finding highest fsb while keeping ram happy, vs finding best oc while using ram divider vs finding happy divider that your cpu can live with' etc. etc.

Lots to play with if your mobo bios lets you.
__________________
Abit IN9 32x MAX- Kentsfield QX6700 @3520
1.5 vcore watercooled D-Tek Fuzion/PA-160/MCR120/2x MCP655
2x2GB G-Skill 1066 5-5-5-15 2T@1.9vdimm
2x EVGA 580GTX 1.5GB Sli
2x 74GB Sata Raptor Raid0
2x 320GB Hitachi Sata II
X-FI Elite Pro
Dell U3011
Lian Li V2100B
Corsair HX1000
Slammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 07:22 PM   #8
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Higher fsb or higher multi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slammin
Then you have the other crowd that says why risk stability by overclocking the fsb when that only results in higher synthetic benchmarks. Also, depending on the chipset, you could actually find a nice high fsb, only to find that you are in a performance black hole. You'll know you are in the black hole by the synthetic numbers, but just something to keep in mind if you are running a 680i chipset.

Personally, I run whatever I can get most stable at, but I also do consider the synthetic benchmarks while doing it too. Sometimes, the cpu multi can affect fsb stability too. Seems weird, but it does.

It's fun playing with all this 'finding ram highest clock vs finding highest fsb while keeping ram happy, vs finding best oc while using ram divider vs finding happy divider that your cpu can live with' etc. etc.

Lots to play with if your mobo bios lets you.
I ran into that black hole on my nf4...lots of good info, thanks!
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-21-08, 07:49 PM   #9
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Higher fsb or higher multi?

I haven't had a CPU with unlocked multipliers in a very very long time (AXP 1700+ TbredB on nforce 2 ultra 400 board) so I generally just leave my multiplier at the maximum and raise the FSB until the system is no longer passing prime\orthos.

I don't think the benefits of having a higher FSB are worth the trouble of lowering your multi to raise your FSB to its limit.

That's probably how people end up frying their chips with high FSB voltage.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 11:36 PM   #10
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: Higher fsb or higher multi?

Both. I would run 425 to 450 being max for 24/7 use. I ran 500fsb for a good while but it can stress parts doing that. Find a happy medium good OC with good FSB and a multi with good temps for summer and winter. Then play games and forget about it.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-08, 01:04 AM   #11
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Higher fsb or higher multi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeye
I have read that you should find the Max FSB first. Lower Multi and find Max FSB.
Then raise Mulit until not stable. Back it down to find stable clocks.

But find Max Stable FSB first.

I could be wrong
Yup, I think that's the best way to do it. Basically it just finds the max RAM speed first. Then once you know that, you can start raising the multi and fiddling with the RAM divider to achieve the highest clock.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-08, 02:21 AM   #12
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: Higher fsb or higher multi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeye
hehe thanks. I do not do very much OCing atm, but I will be soon so I have tried to read as much about it as I can.

Now when it comes to rasing voltage's for RAM and CPU's to get higher speeds I am still unclear on a lot of things.
Ok, Ill try to explain why you raise Voltages.

Your CPU do 1 and 0 or Clock cycles, that translates to voltages, For ease of arguments sake, lets say your CPU runs on 2volt stock.

There will be a sertain amount of Cycles per second (Mhz/Ghz), you could view Volt as a sound wave where Square would be the optimal signal (at 0v you get a 0, and at 2v you get a 1).

*see square*


However this is not the case of computers, The volt signal is more round, and volt might also fluctuate.
so theres a treshold value, lets say everything below 0.2v is 0, and everything above 1.8 is 1.
It will take a small amount of time to reach above 1.8v *see sawtooth wave, its just like that but a bit more round*

So when you OC, you add more clock cycles to the same amount of time. The result is that the cpu will eventually not be able to hit 1.8v before the cycle is ended, thus the expected 1 becoms a 0, and your cpu misscalculates. The result is you might post, but Windows usually fails to load.

This is where over volt comes in play.
By over volting your CPU you will damage the cpu, but the idea is to up the volt just so much that you manage to hit the 1.8v before the clock cycles end. Lets say you set the volt to 2.2v, the cpu in its Overclocked state will never reach 2.2v peak we set (and wont become damaged), our target it to get it to go above 1.8 before the clock cycle ends, and we might have landed on 1.9, its all good. You have OCed so much that theres no time to actually hit the maximum value you set (in this case 2.2v).

Thats the theory
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nforce fsb Grommit CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 1 09-12-02 07:05 AM
Can't Get FSB Above 143 MHz Phyre CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 1 09-09-02 10:59 AM
weird idea for performance boost, lower multi, raise fsb Gator CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 8 08-05-02 05:01 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.