Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-08, 11:22 PM   #1
bitter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 32
Default 8500 GT and TVOverScan

I just spent a few hours today trying to get TV-out working for this card. TVOverScan does not have any affect in xorg.conf nor is it in the nvidia-settings control panel. The driver is 173.08.

Is there something I am missing here? I read through other posts on the forum and it doesn't give me a lot of hope. I have come to terms with not having fine-tooth control like windows for TVout but if I can't even have overscan for a 8500 GT??? Not happy...
bitter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-08, 09:21 AM   #2
apaige
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 106
Default Re: 8500 GT and TVOverScan

No overscan either with my 8600GT, which by default is way too big. I have to resize the image with mplayer in order to compensate (i.e. I make it smaller so that it fits the actual screen size).
apaige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-08, 07:12 PM   #3
bitter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 32
Default Re: 8500 GT and TVOverScan

Could someone from nvidia give an official word if this is an upcoming feature. This makes the TVout functionality of the card all but useless, and this is a relatively new card too.
bitter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-08, 05:55 AM   #4
pmcy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Angry Re: 8500 GT and TVOverScan

Hi,

I'm experiencing the same Problem on my 8500GT. TVOverscan does not have any eefect. This is very annoying as I bought the card for my HTPC which does not work as intended now. Thinking of returning the card ...

Peter
pmcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-08, 06:57 AM   #5
realvz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: 8500 GT and TVOverScan

as apaige mentioned, tv overscan has no effect for 8600GT...my display misses some 20px from both top and bottom on my CRT TV.
realvz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-08, 10:11 AM   #6
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 8500 GT and TVOverScan

Look in the topic http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=110721
An enhancement request has been filed.
Also note that it really is an issue of the TV, not the videocard or driver.
A TV is not suitable as a graphical-desktop monitor. You can use it to play movies, where the few pixels don't matter.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-08, 11:32 AM   #7
apaige
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 106
Default Re: 8500 GT and TVOverScan

My TV had no problem with my old GeForce FX5900: the overscan parameter worked. Also, those "few" pixels do matter, because the overscan I'm witnessing is huge. You lose whole parts of characters' heads in close-ups and such.
apaige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-08, 11:09 PM   #8
dscoular
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Thumbs down Re: 8500 GT and TVOverScan

Hi All,
Same problem here I lose about 3cm top and bottom and about 1cm left n right... this is using component out on an Standard Definitiion LG television with a PCI-e 16x 8500gt card, same result for S-Video too.

This is for a new mythtv system, I had perfect output when I used an NVidia 440MX AGP... in my old system, but now AGP is no longer an option.

It's frustrating that the newer cards offer poorer quality TV out than the older ones.

Could someone at NVidia comment on this and not just blame the TV ?
Why does an MX440 do a much better job than a 8500gt ?
Are there any plans to address the overscan issues in the next version of the driver ?

Please, please respond.

Cheers,

Doug
dscoular is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-08, 10:14 AM   #9
marcel83
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: 8500 GT and TVOverScan

Same problem here. Used to work perfectly on my old GeForce Go 7300, but not on my new GeForce 8600M GT. I don't even have the overscan slider in nvidia-settings anymore.

What sucks even more (although may not be directly related to this topic) is that the the GeForce 8 cards no longer have a video blitter adaptor and I can't choose anymore what display device to sync XVideo to. So now I have a much to huge picture on my TV PLUS terrible tearing effects. Great progress NVidia!
marcel83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-08, 10:45 AM   #10
apaige
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 106
Default Re: 8500 GT and TVOverScan

marcel83: not sure what you're talking about. I set XVideo v-sync for both the DVI and the S-Video outputs, and I don't get any tearing on either one (8600GT).
apaige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 10:58 AM   #11
marcel83
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: 8500 GT and TVOverScan

How did you set those? I don't see any such option anywhere. nvidia-settings only provides a checkbox for "Sync to VBlank" under "Video Texture Adaptor" but that only syncs XVideo to my LCD. I can't select what device to sync to.
Thanks.
marcel83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 11:04 AM   #12
apaige
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 106
Default Re: 8500 GT and TVOverScan

Latest beta drivers (173.08), nvidia-settings > X Screen 0 > X Server XVideo Settings > "Sync to this display device" [x] DFP-0
X Screen 1 > X Server XVideo Settings > "Sync to this display device" [x] TV-0
apaige is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.