Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-27-08, 05:49 PM   #1
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?

I have my ram set at 2.1 and 1T in the bios, but look at cpu-z.

It's also pc2-8500, not pc2-6400. Or am I totally missing something?
Is there any other way to check these settings?

TIA
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 06:28 PM   #2
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?

are you running your memory @ 1066? I think cpu-z is just reporting the speed you're running at, not the speed its rated for, mine says the same thing
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 06:34 PM   #3
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?

Ok, maybe that's all it is. I'm at 866 at the moment. I just learned I could tighten timings beyond spec, so I'm playing with tighter timings and lower voltages.

Spec is 2.3v and 5-5-5-15.

Currently at 2.1 and 4-5-4-15, 866 with cpu at 260x12, default vcore. This is since that screenshot, and stable as heck at the moment.

CL4 @ 1066 is a no boot though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 06:34 PM   #4
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?

Try downloading the new CPU-Z version.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 06:44 PM   #5
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05
Try downloading the new CPU-Z version.
I had to download cpu-z just to check what mine said so I think it's the new version.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 06:44 PM   #6
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05
Try downloading the new CPU-Z version.
I will.

EDIT: got it, shows exactly the same. I think it's just a quirk like jcrox said.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-08, 06:54 PM   #7
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?

Please correct me if i'm wrong but I thought all DDR2 >800mhz was pc2-6400, normal is DDR2-800, pc2-8500 is a made up name for 1066 pc2-6400, not a JEDEC standard.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-08, 01:14 AM   #8
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?

Maybe you should try pushing the "memory" tab instead of "SPD".
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-04-08, 01:38 AM   #9
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?

First, you're on the SPD tab which only shows the JEDEC standards and rated specs for the memory modules, use the Memory tab to see what they're actually running at. Second, CPU-z recognize the RAM as PC2-6400 because that was the JEDEC standard found on the SPD. The highest JEDEC standard for DDR2 modules is 800Mhz 5-5-5-18, i.e, PC2-6400, and anything above it is considered OC.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-08, 07:17 AM   #10
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?

I did, maybe I didn't show enough info -


I'm still set to 1T in the bios, but other values have changed since I posted this thread. cpu-z still shows 2T.

It's not really a big deal I guess, I just like to confirm with folks who know more than I do.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 08:15 PM
Tweakmonster Shim Contest pelly CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 47 11-19-02 04:41 AM
Asus Bios bug nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 3 10-06-02 05:15 AM
Prime95 and CPU stress testing DaveW General Software 2 10-05-02 01:38 PM
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 11:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.