Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-28-08, 02:14 PM   #13
shaker718
Brooklyn'd Out
 
shaker718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brooklyn New York
Posts: 489
Default Re: New Video editing Build! Whatcha think?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
very solid build, you will have no problems, get a nice cooler, OC the q6600 and it will chew through video

I need to upgrade my video encoding/transcoding/server rig as well. dual core amd is just to slow.

re-encoding 1080 h264 streams with 2 pass, 6.8fps for pass 1, and 1.6fps for pass2. totally about 20-35 hours

really need to drop a quad in there

My next job is a 1080i mini-documentary promo dvd for the program I work for, I did a small sampler for our exhibition and it took forever to do things like speeding up video or slow motion or multiple screens... For the final I have 20+ hours of 1080i video left to input and edit down, no way I'll do it by the deadline with my AMD box. So I need to upgrade fast.
__________________
BIG RIG: Q6600 G0 stock / Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3R/XFX ATI 5770/ Dell 30in 3007WFP-HC/8GB G-Skill/2x WD 640gb drives/ Enermax Liberty PSU/Win 7 64bit

LAPTOP: HP DV6500T, 2GHZ T7250, 2 gigs Ram, 120gb HD, Nvidia 8400m
shaker718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-08, 02:17 PM   #14
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: New Video editing Build! Whatcha think?

is there a reason why you are doing 1080i? and DVDs? you can bit about 2 hours of 1080p H264 steams with 5.1 ac3 audio on dual layer DVD.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-08, 02:21 PM   #15
shaker718
Brooklyn'd Out
 
shaker718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brooklyn New York
Posts: 489
Default Re: New Video editing Build! Whatcha think?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
is there a reason why you are doing 1080i? and DVDs? you can bit about 2 hours of 1080p H264 steams with 5.1 ac3 audio on dual layer DVD.

Sorry I'm not sure what you're asking, can you clarify? The reason I'm doing 1080i is because the Sony HD MiniDV cam we use to record captures in that format
__________________
BIG RIG: Q6600 G0 stock / Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3R/XFX ATI 5770/ Dell 30in 3007WFP-HC/8GB G-Skill/2x WD 640gb drives/ Enermax Liberty PSU/Win 7 64bit

LAPTOP: HP DV6500T, 2GHZ T7250, 2 gigs Ram, 120gb HD, Nvidia 8400m
shaker718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-08, 10:38 AM   #16
shaker718
Brooklyn'd Out
 
shaker718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brooklyn New York
Posts: 489
Default Re: New Video editing Build! Whatcha think?

Finally bit the bullet! Put the order in this morning, should be here by Fri/ Saturday

Processor: Q6600- $219.99
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3R $129.99
Ram: G-SKILL 4GB PC2 6400 76.99
CPU Heatsink/Cooler: Scythe Ninja Mini 29.99
OS: Vista Home Premium 64bit OEM $109.99

total: 566.96

Decided to go with the slightly lower speed ram since I am going to add another 4gb anyway, and went with the Ninja Mini instead of the Freezer 7. Because of the reversed airflow and the upside down position of the motherboard in my case, the CPU is right next to a 120mm fan blowing inwards, so in short it means I can run it passive and the less noise the better.
__________________
BIG RIG: Q6600 G0 stock / Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3R/XFX ATI 5770/ Dell 30in 3007WFP-HC/8GB G-Skill/2x WD 640gb drives/ Enermax Liberty PSU/Win 7 64bit

LAPTOP: HP DV6500T, 2GHZ T7250, 2 gigs Ram, 120gb HD, Nvidia 8400m
shaker718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-08, 10:49 AM   #17
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: New Video editing Build! Whatcha think?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
I need to upgrade my video encoding/transcoding/server rig as well. dual core amd is just to slow.

re-encoding 1080 h264 streams with 2 pass, 6.8fps for pass 1, and 1.6fps for pass2. totally about 20-35 hours

really need to drop a quad in there
My AMD 4800+ was about that way with video of that nature. The new QX9650 cut down what used to be a 20+ hour render to less than 4 hours. Quad FTW.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-08, 11:00 AM   #18
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: New Video editing Build! Whatcha think?

I tried the Premiere trial just the other day and was unable to install it and have read reports that the issue is due to a Vista x64 incompatibility...I'm trying Sony Vegas Pro 8 right now and am enjoying it with no problems in Vista x64.

To be perfectly honest if I wanted to make this machine a video editing rig I would install OSX as the primary OS and use the latest version of Final Cut Studio Pro. As far as consumer video editing goes I don't think there is a better option than Final Cut.

In the next few days I'll be ordering another 4GB for this machine. With 8GB of ram the total cost for this rig including the cooling I need to run it at 3.4GHZ is $1300. By comparison a 2.8GHZ Quad Core Mac Pro with 8GB of ram, a 320GB Hard Drive, and a single 8800GT is $3,949.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-08, 02:29 PM   #19
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: New Video editing Build! Whatcha think?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRen72
My AMD 4800+ was about that way with video of that nature. The new QX9650 cut down what used to be a 20+ hour render to less than 4 hours. Quad FTW.
what program did you use?

i was just doing some re-encoding, i do editing from time to time.

ripbot264 is a great program to do re-encodes, very easy, plus it can output files that are blu-ray compatible.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-08, 07:08 AM   #20
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: New Video editing Build! Whatcha think?

took 30 hours, but results are fantastic

need to upgrade my second PC to quad now
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-30-08, 08:53 AM   #21
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: New Video editing Build! Whatcha think?

Lian Li's are awesome cases, youll love that model.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-08, 11:10 AM   #22
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: New Video editing Build! Whatcha think?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86
Lian Li's are awesome cases, youll love that model.
He has for over a year now.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-08, 12:03 PM   #23
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: New Video editing Build! Whatcha think?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
what program did you use?

i was just doing some re-encoding, i do editing from time to time.

ripbot264 is a great program to do re-encodes, very easy, plus it can output files that are blu-ray compatible.
Since I use a Sony HD camera, I use Sony Vegas 8 Pro. It works extremely well with the cameras native format.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-08, 12:50 PM   #24
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: New Video editing Build! Whatcha think?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRen72
Since I use a Sony HD camera, I use Sony Vegas 8 Pro. It works extremely well with the cameras native format.
HDV or AVCHD? i tried vegas 8 before its a good editiong program, but a bit weak at actual encoding.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IOGEAR 3D Complete+ 4-Port HDMI Switcher with 2D/3D Video Processor News Archived News Items 0 06-28-12 05:40 PM
Video: High Schoolers Build Supercomputer in Ontario News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 12:10 PM
Diablo 3 Wizard build guide News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 02:40 PM
Diablo 3 build guide: Barbarian, Demon Hunter, Monk, Witch Doctor and Wizard News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 12:00 PM
Best video card for running dual displays? nutsnbolts NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 09-03-02 02:02 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.