Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-08, 05:56 PM   #37
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Futuremark lays an egg.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
This just in. FutureMark is going cross platform due to piracy of it's latest PC benchmarking tool!
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-08, 06:05 PM   #38
JigenD
Registered User
 
JigenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,070
Default Re: Futuremark lays an egg.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
This just in. FutureMark is going cross platform due to piracy of it's latest PC benchmarking tool!


They probably should do something different though, make actual games, could be multiplatform or not, but I don't see their benchmarking tools sustaining them for any longer.
JigenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-08, 08:01 PM   #39
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Futuremark lays an egg.

If they kept 3DMark free and went with banner ads and in benchmark ads they could make a fortune without forcing us average joes who run it for fun to pay. They did it in 2001, with the Max Payne for the game and engine. They also had banner ads for Alienware and/or Falcon PCs.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-08, 04:04 PM   #40
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Futuremark lays an egg.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrox
to late now, you only get to run it once without buying it correct?

3dMark-Oh-FAIL
I call it "3DMark disadvantage"
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-08, 04:34 PM   #41
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Futuremark lays an egg.

Stupid tool takes forever to load the first benchmark, then crashes loading the second. FutureMark is now on my ignore list.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 05:01 AM   #42
omg_dastard!
Fig-roll FTW!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 90
Default Re: Futuremark lays an egg.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrox
I don't think it's all that terribly bad but I'm not paying for a benchmark tool, there's just too many free ones to be had. I can see if you're a reviewer or really really into over clocking buying a benchmark but I wonder how many people will actually purchase this thing? Seems like material to me.
It already is piracy material lol, not that I stoop to such low standards.

I support the pc gaming industry.................wait.
omg_dastard! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-08, 06:14 PM   #43
Richteralan
The Enigma
 
Richteralan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 758
Send a message via ICQ to Richteralan Send a message via MSN to Richteralan
Default Re: Futuremark lays an egg.

Installed the hotfix.
Now it refuses to run anything besides Entry because my monitor native resolution is 1440*900.

LAME.
Richteralan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-08, 11:58 PM   #44
G-Man
i can hit the g spot
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 274
Default Re: Futuremark lays an egg.

3DMARK VANTAGE HAS FAILED written all over it.......
__________________
Core i9 "Engineering Sample"
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-26-08, 07:55 PM   #45
MadPt
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 66
Default Re: Futuremark lays an egg.

I agree

3DMark Vantage is a big disapointment.
We lost the old fun and amazing demo and now have a pure benchmark...
Question is, why change what was right in the first place and why make it simpler when everyone loved the cool demo with sound?

Feels kinda empty ??!!?? That's my humble opinion.
We need the old kind of 3DMark benchmark then, please!
Not saying Vantage is bad but we did loose features over the old series.
MadPt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-08, 08:20 PM   #46
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Futuremark lays an egg.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadPt
I agree

3DMark Vantage is a big disapointment.
We lost the old fun and amazing demo and now have a pure benchmark...
Question is, why change what was right in the first place and why make it simpler when everyone loved the cool demo with sound?

Feels kinda empty ??!!?? That's my humble opinion.
We need the old kind of 3DMark benchmark then, please!
Not saying Vantage is bad but we did loose features over the old series.
**** Vantage .. you can always use Crysis as a "benchmark stick"
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-08, 06:33 PM   #47
MisterMister
Registered User
 
MisterMister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 118
Default Re: Futuremark lays an egg.

FYI, you do NOT have to pay for ANYTHING to run vantage more then once. All you have to do is input your registration code (for the free demo version), and it will run an infinate number of times. You just need to input said code each time.
__________________
Ultra M998 mid-ATX case
SilenX 650W 14dB SLI Power Supply Unit
Nvidia/EVGA 780i tri-SLi motherboard
Intel Q6600 quad core @ 3.4GHz (3.6 for benchmarking)
2GB OCZ ReaperX HPC Edition PC9200 DDR2 RAM (2x1GB)
2x EVGA 9600GT SC in SLI (750/1100Mhz over-clock)
2x WD Raptor HDD (1x 36GB; 1x 74GB)
Samsung Spinpoint HDD (250GB)
Thermalright TRUE-120 w/ dual 120mm fans in push-pull config.
Windows Vista Home Professional w/ SP1 (32-bit)
Samsung SyncMaster 206BW 20" LCD display (1680x1050)

3DMark06: 17,420 Points
MisterMister is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPCwire: @Intel Release Knights Corner ISA, Lays Groundwork for MIC Launch http://t. News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 06:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.