Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-08, 05:29 AM   #13
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: AMD 45nm CPUs will be Socket AM3 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007
This is like the 939 all over again...

Are they trying to lose customers? If not i hope the change warrants for a huge performance boost.
Intel has been using the same socket for how many years now? Sockets don't matter for performance as much as we once thought. If you think about where intel started with the 775 and ended(and still going), its quite amazing. Meanwhile, incompetent AMD is changing sockets like they are going out of style.

/waiting for a mindless reply from the AMD fan brigade that always tries to "prove me wrong". It never works, but it always gives me something good to laugh at.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-08, 05:49 AM   #14
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: AMD 45nm CPUs will be Socket AM3 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygerwoody
Don't say that. AMD is run by brilliant individuals. You might not know this yet, but all the moves AMD make are due to them being INNOVATIVE!!!!! Seriously, Intel is using FSB still. What lo5ers!!!! I mean.... Intel is a few light years ahead of AMD in terms of speed, reliability, and EVERYTHING under the sun, but they aren't INNOVATIVE like AMD!!!! Duh!!! AMD is the best! My brain is the size of a peanut! Triple Core!! Hypertransport!!! Incompetence!!!!! Job Layoffs!!! God I love you AMD!!!!!!
This actually made me LOL..

939 939 939 939 939 939 939 939 939 939 939 939 939 939
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-08, 07:23 AM   #15
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: AMD 45nm CPUs will be Socket AM3 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygerwoody
My brain is the size of a peanut!
We know
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-08, 01:33 PM   #16
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: AMD 45nm CPUs will be Socket AM3 only

AM3 has been confirmed that it is backward compatible, in that AM3 processors can work in AM2/2+ boards BUT AM2 processors are not compatible with AM3 motherboards due to no support for DDR3 in their intergrated memory controller.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-08, 04:10 AM   #17
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: AMD 45nm CPUs will be Socket AM3 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by abtomat74
What do you mean by that? s939 was great. We started with a lower single core(Winnie or Venice) that at the time was much better than Intel is over AMD now, and upgraded to double that and more with the dual cores when they were 1/4 the original release price.

As far as gaming goes, with a good GPU the s939's are still doing very well as they are 95%+ identical to the AM2's which is still AMD's only comparable dual core to Intel.

AM2 is the socket that screwed people...it added DDR2 and a few hundred useless MHz. The only upgrade AM2 has is another AM2 of which they had no more(OK, they added 400MHz more later on). I don't count the AM2+ CPU's because you don't get the full functionality of them using the older AM2 mobo...s939 had no such missing features for its upgrade.

My s939 has been enough to game at 1280x1024(my monitors useful res anyway) to convince me not to buy anything new until perhaps either companies new socket. With the exception of Crysis, everything has played very well...and that was only a few fps under the others using a similar GPU.

...wth?
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-08, 06:15 AM   #18
LovingSticky
plenty of work, no games
 
LovingSticky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 559
Default Re: AMD 45nm CPUs will be Socket AM3 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by AthlonXP1800
AMD 45nm Phenom CPUs will use Socket AM3 design with 2 models codenamed DENEB and PULSE will start to ship out around November 2008.
They do not say these CPUs will not work at all in AM2+ sockets. In fact, they probably will. So there *is* an upgrade path...
__________________
Q9550@3.4 + Asus P5Q Premium + 16GB RAM + 2xVelociraptor 300GB + 4xWD Black 1TB RAID-5 on Adaptec 5805 + PoV GTX580 + Dell 3008WFP + Windows 7 x64
Xbox 360 Elite + Kinect + Onkyo receiver + Acoustic Energy Aelite 1/3/center speakers + 46" FullHD Samsung TV
LovingSticky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-08, 06:16 AM   #19
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: AMD 45nm CPUs will be Socket AM3 only

My last puter was 939 based and I was happy with it, but I was a bit annoyed with the socet change up to am2 as faster 939 dual cores dissapeard when I wanted one.

But then again, if they were more available at that time, id prolly not have the puter in sig now.
I had probaly ended up spending more money on the old rig then it would be worth
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-08, 08:06 AM   #20
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: AMD 45nm CPUs will be Socket AM3 only

I love AMD. AMD never makes bad choices. AM2 was the best release in cpu history.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-30-08, 10:49 AM   #21
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: AMD 45nm CPUs will be Socket AM3 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by LovingSticky
They do not say these CPUs will not work at all in AM2+ sockets. In fact, they probably will. So there *is* an upgrade path...
Well if you already owned a AM2+ CPU then you purchase a AM3 motherboard and you will find out that AM2+ CPU will not work on AM3 motherboard so you screwed!

According to confirmations from AMD, Socket AM2+ will have a compatibility path with Socket AM3, AM3 processors will work in AM2+ motherboards; however, AM2+ processors will not be compatible with AM3 motherboards.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Socket_AM2+
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-08, 12:20 PM   #22
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: AMD 45nm CPUs will be Socket AM3 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygerwoody
I love AMD. AMD never makes bad choices. AM2 was the best release in cpu history.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-08, 01:50 PM   #23
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: AMD 45nm CPUs will be Socket AM3 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by AthlonXP1800
Well if you already owned a AM2+ CPU then you purchase a AM3 motherboard and you will find out that AM2+ CPU will not work on AM3 motherboard so you screwed!

According to confirmations from AMD, Socket AM2+ will have a compatibility path with Socket AM3, AM3 processors will work in AM2+ motherboards; however, AM2+ processors will not be compatible with AM3 motherboards.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Socket_AM2+
I don't see your point at all, People are more likley get a new CPU over a new board and DDR3 memory. It's easier to change a processor then the board for the novis. So you can get a new CPU NOW, then upgrade your memory and board down the line so there is still an upgrade path, so you can get part of the speed increase over your old processor before getting the full increase later when you change the board and memory. Intels is worse as they have been using the same socket but will need a new board revision or chipset to use new processors. So you will have to replace the board and memory now and get a minor increase in speed then later buy a CPU to get full advantage.

This goes on from the 865/845 (975X needed board redesign)and the nforce 680/650. With regards to the nForce incompatibility I blame Intel rather then nVidia for the simple reason they did not tell nVidia or provide new samples of the new processor intill AFTER the release as such was incompatible with their boards. If I was Jen-Hsun I would sue Intel as it’s against their contract which THEY pay Intel. nVidia bought a licence from Intel and they never honoured it, Intel are to supply samples of new processors long before they come out to ensure compatibility as part of the contract/ licence agreement. Neither wonder why nVidia are so pissed off at Intel and are willing to raise their conserns publicly. What i find funny for someone that goes by the name of AthlonXP to slag AMD off at every opportunity you get even if you don’t have the full information. So Intels compatibility track record is as bad as AMD's not better.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-08, 06:55 AM   #24
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: AMD 45nm CPUs will be Socket AM3 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by AthlonXP1800
Well if you already owned a AM2+ CPU then you purchase a AM3 motherboard and you will find out that AM2+ CPU will not work on AM3 motherboard so you screwed!

According to confirmations from AMD, Socket AM2+ will have a compatibility path with Socket AM3, AM3 processors will work in AM2+ motherboards; however, AM2+ processors will not be compatible with AM3 motherboards.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Socket_AM2+
AMD didn't include a DDR-3 memory controller in their CPU's designed before DDR-3 was released! OMG AMD HATE THEIR CONSUMERS!
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
$119.99 - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core P News Newegg Daily Deals 0 06-27-12 07:30 AM
Computex: MSI Unveils Four New AMD Trinity FM2 Socket Motherboards News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 06:30 PM
AMD Gooses the Clocks on 'Bulldozer' Opterons News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 02:24 PM
AMD will not chase Intel making "needlessly powerful" CPUs News Archived News Items 0 05-19-12 09:53 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.