Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 04-28-08, 11:27 PM   #1
gavron

Default "nvidia" fails but "nv" works for presentation expanding-circle on 8400. 7300 ok.

I'll try to put as much detail as I can. I know I have few posts, but I'm no newbie.

Symptom: With the Nvidia drivers the expanding circle effect is very jerky, halty, and slow. With the open-source nv driver, it's smooth the way it's supposed to be. This is on an 8400.

This has manifested since 2.6.23 and manifests on 2.6.24 and 2.6.25. The former was a Fedora build and the latter two a vanilla kernel and a wireless-testing kernel respectively.

This has manifested with versions of drivers from 2006 through the latest 173.08 beta.

IT MANIFESTS on a GeForce 8400GS rev a1 (Dell XPS) and does not manifest on a GeForce Go 7300 rev ai (Dell D620).

The powerpoint presentation effect did not work on the XPS. It did work on the D620 with Desktop Effects working. I then experimented on a virgin XPS, eventually giving up and trying Knoppix. Knoppix with "nv" worked.

I then copied xorg.conf, and it worked on Fedora with 2.6.25.
Changing nv -> nvidia loaded the nvidia driver but the bad stuff was back. Changing it back to nv fixed it again.

So... on an 8400GS, "nvidia" is a driver that has performance issues. "nv" is fine. On a 7300 "nvidia" is just fine (and I haven't used "nv" on it in ages).

If providing the ODP or PPT will help, let me know and I'll get the (C) owner permission to share his presentation.

If other information I can provide will help to diagnose or narrow this down. I've no issues with building kernels, git bisects, etc.

Ehud
gavron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-08, 04:31 PM   #2
gavron

Default Re: "nvidia" fails but "nv" works for presentation expanding-circle on 8400. 7300 o