Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-03, 11:16 AM   #1
digitalwanderer
 
digitalwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland, IN USA
Posts: 4,944
Exclamation I'm taking the plunge again...XP, take 4.

Yeah, so I decided to give XP another go again....I never bothered re-installing it since me last 98se re-install and I haven't really missed it. But Rightmark3D won't run on XP, so I'm going back to a dual-boot 98se/XP.

I HATE XP!

Sorry, had to get that out. 98se makes sense to me and it fits me well, too many years of playing with it probably helped. XP isn't as intuitive to me to tweak, so I still get some headaches with it. (Actually, I generally end up tweaking it "one step over the line" and abandoning the install. )

Any advice/tips for a fresh XP install? Should I do SP1 or not? Which dets are good for XP right now?

Any input appreciated. I'm not a noob with XP anymore since I've been thru this a few times now, but I ain't an oldhand at it by any means. I just figured that I've never whined about me XP experiences here so I thought it might be a change-o-pace.
__________________
[SIZE=1][I]"It was very important to us that NVIDIA did not know exactly where to aim. As a result they seem to have over-engineered in some aspects creating a power-hungry monster which is going to be very expensive for them to manufacture. We have a beautifully balanced piece of hardware that beats them on pure performance, cost, scalability, future mobile relevance, etc. That's all because they didn't know what to aim at."
-R.Huddy[/I] [/SIZE]
digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-03, 02:11 PM   #2
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Always clean install.

SP1 is your friend if you use the speed patch (I'll find the URL later).

43.51s seem to work fine for me.

XP is a much superior OS if for no other reason than its ease of tweaking and repair compared to 98SE. You can actually tell what's going on in XP (event viewer, Administrative Tools, etc. al), where in 98SE you're kinda left in the dark.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-03, 08:44 PM   #3
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What's this speed patch you're talking about?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-03, 09:15 PM   #4
netviper13
Treehugger
 
netviper13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 942
Default

There's a bug in SP1 that can cause programs to take up to 20 times longer than normal to start up. Microsoft released a patch to fix it.
netviper13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-03, 09:39 PM   #5
vampireuk
**** Holster
 
vampireuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The armoury
Posts: 2,813
Send a message via AIM to vampireuk
Default

Instead of XP install 2000, I love win2k
__________________
I put children in microwaves.
vampireuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-03, 11:50 PM   #6
digitalwanderer
 
digitalwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland, IN USA
Posts: 4,944
Default XP=YUCK!

Man, I just picked up 2K too and was thinking of giving it a go!

XP is doing ok, but I'm having severe difficulty with the brightness control in "Enclave"...which is sort of why I re-installed it. It's just too bloody dark and the brightness control doesn't have any effect!

I tried 43.51, 41.09, & 30.86 and they all did the same thing whether I adjusted the levels thru control panel or rivatuner, low-level or driver level.

What did I miss, how'd I screw up? More importantly, how do I get the gamma control to work in D3D games in XP?
__________________
[SIZE=1][I]"It was very important to us that NVIDIA did not know exactly where to aim. As a result they seem to have over-engineered in some aspects creating a power-hungry monster which is going to be very expensive for them to manufacture. We have a beautifully balanced piece of hardware that beats them on pure performance, cost, scalability, future mobile relevance, etc. That's all because they didn't know what to aim at."
-R.Huddy[/I] [/SIZE]
digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-03, 08:33 AM   #7
Mojo
Suck my balls
 
Mojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 62
Default

speed patch?

im using SP1 but know of no such a patch...

a link would be thuper ^_^

Mojo
Mojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-03, 03:50 PM   #8
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Because I'm everyone's buddy:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&threadid=9274
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-03, 04:19 PM   #9
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,004
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vampireuk
Instead of XP install 2000, I love win2k
I concur, 2k > xp.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-03, 05:34 PM   #10
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default

Regarding the speed issue aforementioned, take a look at the controversy around hotfix (sp2) Q811493. I would suggest NOT installing this if you have.

It caused my girlfriend's Dell 4550 Dimension to get pauses after you try and open programs up. Remove this "fix" and the problem went away. Her PC is not the only one out there having problems with this stupid security patch.

My P4PE, on the other hand, has no problem with that patch. I removed it anyway, just in case.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-03, 10:07 PM   #11
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Baron
Because I'm everyone's buddy:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&threadid=9274
yer such a nice guy
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-03, 10:56 PM   #12
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

To quote The JuiceZ (who, once again, is LooseZ):

Quote:
MikeC bat phone
I cannot tell you how much that made my day. Now get him to reply to my emails, and I'll send you $20.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition Review - Taking on the GTX 680 (PCPerspective) News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-22-12 03:50 AM
Q&A: Taking a closer look at System Center Operations Manager 2012 News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-27-12 03:00 PM
World of Warplanes closed beta taking flight on May 31 News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-23-12 08:00 AM
nvidia: Start-up CEOs are taking the stage to talk disruptive, GPU-based tech @ Emerg News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-15-12 05:30 PM
Improve Your Powers of Observation by Taking Field Notes Like a Scientist [Mind Hacks News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-04-12 11:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.