Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-07, 10:43 AM   #1
Riplayne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 154
Default Crysis Framerate Benches with 2gb vs 4gb ram?

Anyone know of any?
Riplayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 05:13 PM   #2
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis Framerate Benches with 2gb vs 4gb ram?

I would like to see some aswell.
this had to be done on just Vista 64 thuogh since there's a performance difference between x86 & x64 as it is.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 05:48 PM   #3
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Crysis Framerate Benches with 2gb vs 4gb ram?

I don't think you will see an actual FPS difference, the game will just play much smoother and hitch less, I noticed this when I went from 2GB to 4GB.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 06:07 PM   #4
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis Framerate Benches with 2gb vs 4gb ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
I don't think you will see an actual FPS difference, the game will just play much smoother and hitch less, I noticed this when I went from 2GB to 4GB.
Less hitiching will generally translate to a little better framerates in either of the CPU/GPU benchmarks. i wanna see that & make sure there is a difference.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 08:09 PM   #5
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Crysis Framerate Benches with 2gb vs 4gb ram?

Traditionally it never seems to translate into an FPS difference until you hit other limitations. But it's worth a try.
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 08:20 PM   #6
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Crysis Framerate Benches with 2gb vs 4gb ram?

I just came from 2gb and I didn't notice an increase in performance, but load times in all my currently installed game halved roughly. I also noticed exiting games is lightning quick now, before the Vista would come to a halt exiting The Witcher for 30secs, now it's out done and dusted in a split second.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 08:41 PM   #7
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis Framerate Benches with 2gb vs 4gb ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
I just came from 2gb and I didn't notice an increase in performance, but load times in all my currently installed game halved roughly. I also noticed exiting games is lightning quick now, before the Vista would come to a halt exiting The Witcher for 30secs, now it's out done and dusted in a split second.
Do you get less stuttering when playing Crysis say at high or v.high ? esp with grenade explosions or when entering different areas ..
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 08:46 PM   #8
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Crysis Framerate Benches with 2gb vs 4gb ram?

Yeah, definitely less stutter, especially removed the stutter before I detonate a High Explosive.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-07, 08:51 PM   #9
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis Framerate Benches with 2gb vs 4gb ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
Yeah, definitely less stutter, especially removed the stutter before I detonate a High Explosive.
Amazing! yeah i get that stutter before deteonating HG's more than often.
i might seriously consider upgrading my RAM even if XP/Vista 32-bit will not read them all.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-07, 08:59 PM   #10
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Crysis Framerate Benches with 2gb vs 4gb ram?

It's worth it. Vista on a whole feels a lot more responsive with 4.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 02:27 AM   #11
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Crysis Framerate Benches with 2gb vs 4gb ram?

Hmmm I never experienced shuttering with 3GB in Crysis at very high settings when here was explosions and in heavy firefights.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 02:56 AM   #12
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Crysis Framerate Benches with 2gb vs 4gb ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viral
Traditionally it never seems to translate into an FPS difference until you hit other limitations. But it's worth a try.
Yeah.

Think of it in terms of average FPS.

If the benchmark records 30-40fps 10 times per second for a few minutes then averages the results together, a few drops to 1-5 fps (a hitch\stutter) will hardly make any difference in the final average but will be very obvious in gameplay.

About the only way to show the results of a memory upgrade would probably be a line graph like [H] uses, to show the framerate throughout the entire benchmark. Ideally, more memory would result in fewer low spikes on a graph.

Fraps can record data like that. It probably wouldn't be too hard to do.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.