Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-13-08, 07:21 AM   #1
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down Part 2

OK, here it is....I think?

































musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-08, 07:46 AM   #2
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down Part 2

Does that really say 102-104 for your core temps? I think we found the issue.

I would reseat your heatsink before doing anything else at all, something is pretty wrong there. I would also make sure you have some kind of airflow through the case.

Dat pretty warm...

EDIT: Just noticed it's set to Fahrenheit

Try the ram next.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-08, 02:43 PM   #3
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down Part 2

I did that stress test, I cut & copied the error, I have no idea what it means? But...here it is.


1:FATAL ERROR: Final result was A9961C58, expected: 685B792E.
1:Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
1:Torture Test ran 3 hours, 30 minutes 49 seconds - 1 errors, 0 warnings.
1:Execution halted.

2:Torture Test ran 3 hours, 30 minutes 49 seconds - 0 errors, 0 warnings.
2:Execution halted.
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-08, 02:58 PM   #4
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down Part 2

My first bet would be ram. Try removing the 2 sticks as I suggested earlier. Just be certain you ground yourself first before touching the components. Leave the 2 yellow slots in, maybe try a quick overclock afterwards. That will give you the fastest indication if that's the issue.

Either way, whether it works or not with only 2 sticks, try the other 2 you pulled after. If it still works, then we know your mobo doesn't like 4x1gb sticks. If it doesn't work with any of the 2 sticks in there, I would consider setting up an RMA for the mobo.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-08, 04:35 PM   #5
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down Part 2

OK! So I did exactly as you said (removing the two sticks or RAM) and so far so good! No crashes. I overclocked it to 1.93GHz Temps at 110/110 on idle.

What I did find is, the RAM was extremely hot to the touch. I don't know how that should feel so it could be normal?
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-08, 04:44 PM   #6
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down Part 2

It shouldn't be that hot...my Mushkin gets pretty warm, but not hot. How's your cases airflow?

Oh yeah, Isn't that XMS2 supposed to be 1.8v?

Maybe next time you reboot, just double check the specs on your ram, and what's actually showing in your bios. It should be 1.8, but may be higher for some reason. That could account for extra heat.

If this works for you...when you can I would suggest selling the 4 1gb sticks and grabbing some decent 2x2 for your 4gb. XP will still use up to 3.25gb, so in memory intensive apps it wouldn't be a waste.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-08, 04:44 PM   #7
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down Part 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by musman
OK! So I did exactly as you said (removing the two sticks or RAM) and so far so good! No crashes. I overclocked it to 1.93GHz Temps at 110/110 on idle.

What I did find is, the RAM was extremely hot to the touch. I don't know how that should feel so it could be normal?
No. It's not normal. Are you overclocking the ram at all?

My ram is slightly underclocked so it can be synced with the FSB, but I've never noticed my ram feeling even slightly hot.

Probably a bad stick. retest the stress test on the supposed "bad stick" and see if your theory holds true.

EDIT: I've had my computer on without restart for several days now, and the ram feels mildly warm to the touch. Your ram definitely shouldn't be really hot though.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-08, 05:00 PM   #8
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down Part 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
It shouldn't be that hot...my Mushkin gets pretty warm, but not hot. How's your cases airflow?

Oh yeah, Isn't that XMS2 supposed to be 1.8v?

Maybe next time you reboot, just double check the specs on your ram, and what's actually showing in your bios. It should be 1.8, but may be higher for some reason. That could account for extra heat.

If this works for you...when you can I would suggest selling the 4 1gb sticks and grabbing some decent 2x2 for your 4gb. XP will still use up to 3.25gb, so in memory intensive apps it wouldn't be a waste.

Not sure about the "1.8v" but, I shut it down & one of the stick or RAM was hotter than the other, so I replaced it with another. Hope I didn't hurt anything by it running so hot.


The E6300 max temp is 61.4 C?
musman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-13-08, 05:13 PM   #9
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down Part 2

OK, so I ran Need For Speed ProStreet for a while, shut the computer down and touched the RAM, both are at the same temp & warm to the touch, much cooler than it was.


Can I run 3 sticks or RAM?

Do you have some 2x2 you would like to suggest?

THANKS!


EDIT: I did a stress test & the processor reached 62C at 1.96GHz
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-08, 05:46 PM   #10
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down Part 2

Sounding better and better.

Those temps aren't too bad for a stock cooler. If you are planning on going much higher, a better cooler or better airflow in the case will help tremendously.

I wouldn't recommend 3 sticks if overclocking. It might work, but will more likely be flakey.

Based on feedback here and what I've read I would go with G Skill, Mushkin, or I've heard A-Data is good ram also.
Here's some just to browse..
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...1066+(PC2+8500)

For what it's worth, if you're staying on XP and just mostly game, email surf etc...2Gb is really fine. If moving to Vista 4 will show a difference.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-08, 06:10 PM   #11
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down Part 2

Yea! At least it was easy enough. I have been reading online in a few places that the processors max temp is 61.4C at 1.86GHz, what is the max that I can go? 61.4C? It's kinda confusing.

Thanks for helping me out & troubleshooting with me!!!
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-08, 06:20 PM   #12
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down Part 2

Personally I get nervous at 50c and above. My E4600 is dead on 3ghz using an Ultima 90 heatsink and a silent Zalman 92mm fan, and maxes out at 44c.

Others here may feel differently, but 50c is my max even though more is safe. Depending on the airflow in your case, all you may need is a better fan setup.

Can you post a pic of your case with the side open? Better cooling may be easier than you're thinking.

EDIT: From what I can see, I think you are right about the max temp for that proc.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.