Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-08, 10:53 AM   #1
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Vista x64 swap file?

What do you guys with x64 set your swap to? I can't find any tweak guides or info on what's best.

I have 4GB.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-08, 12:20 PM   #2
rflair
W OOO OOO
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 714
Default Re: Vista x64 swap file?

I have 8 gigs, its set to 0.

When I had 4 gigs, I had it set to 2gigs.
__________________
Vista x64
Intel Q6600 (3.6GHz 1.45v)
ATI 4890
Sharp Aquos 42" 1080p
ASUS P5K-E
8.0G OCZ RAM
Rig is ON 24/7
rflair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-08, 02:11 PM   #3
MrTexTure
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 134
Default Re: Vista x64 swap file?

I have mine set to 1Gb = 1024!
I have 4 Gb mem!
MrTexTure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-08, 06:29 PM   #4
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Vista x64 swap file?

I just use system managed.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-08, 06:54 PM   #5
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,726
Default Re: Vista x64 swap file?

I have it set at 200mb
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-08, 02:18 PM   #6
UberRN69
Registered User
 
UberRN69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saratoga Springs, Utah
Posts: 230
Default Re: Vista x64 swap file?

How big should the swap file be? Or is it better to have it smaller. I have 4GB of RAM and a 4GB swap file of a 2nd SATAII drive and my primary drive is 2 SATAII in RAID 0.

Would I 'force' windows to used the emory more if I shrink the swap file? Would I have 'not enough memory' issue's? All I do is game and watch the occasional DVD, with rare HD content
__________________
Lian-Li Case, MSI 890FXA-GD70, AMD Phenom II 965BE OC'd @ 3.9GHz with ZALMAN CNPS9900ALED, OCZ AMD Black Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600, XFX HD 5870 1GB with AC Accelero Twin Turbo Pro @ 920/1250, X-Fi XtremeGamer, WD Caviar Black 500GB x2 in RAID 0, WD Caviar Black 500GB for Backup, Pioneer DVR-115DBK & LG Blu-Ray GGC-H20LK, KINGWIN LZG-700 GOLD 700W, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
UberRN69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-08, 03:16 PM   #7
LovingSticky
plenty of work, no games
 
LovingSticky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 559
Default Re: Vista x64 swap file?

Vista will use as much as it needs, if you are not low of disk space, there is no reason to set it to 200MB or even 0MB, as some apps might crash because of that. 0MB pagefile = better performance is one of many Windows myths.

It is good to set a fixed pagefile size though instead of "system managed", as it does not get fragmented. I have 8GB RAM and 8GB swapfile.
__________________
Q9550@3.4 + Asus P5Q Premium + 16GB RAM + 2xVelociraptor 300GB + 4xWD Black 1TB RAID-5 on Adaptec 5805 + PoV GTX580 + Dell 3008WFP + Windows 7 x64
Xbox 360 Elite + Kinect + Onkyo receiver + Acoustic Energy Aelite 1/3/center speakers + 46" FullHD Samsung TV
LovingSticky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-08, 07:03 AM   #8
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: Vista x64 swap file?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LovingSticky
0MB pagefile = better performance is one of many Windows myths.
Link?
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-08, 07:06 AM   #9
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Vista x64 swap file?

setting it to 0 is not good, few programs will freak out when no page file is present.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-08, 11:24 PM   #10
compuguy1088
UberGeek
 
compuguy1088's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Sub-basement of Solitude
Posts: 88
Default Re: Vista x64 swap file?

I have 4 GBs of ram, and my page file is set to 6138 MB.
__________________
My Comp:
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4 Ghz|4 x 1024 meg Corsair XMS2 DDR800|Gigabyte Geforce 8800 GT 512 Mb OC|Windows Vista Ultimate x64|Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus MB|CoolerMaster WaveMaster Case|Logitech G15 Ver 1 Keyboard|Razer Copperhead Laser Mouse
compuguy1088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-08, 11:52 PM   #11
malachi1313
Registered User
 
malachi1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SMASHVILLE,TN
Posts: 818
Default Re: Vista x64 swap file?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
setting it to 0 is not good, few programs will freak out when no page file is present.
Thats true. I have mine set to 2500 and I have 4 gigs of ram
malachi1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-08, 11:57 PM   #12
iron99
GPL Is Still King
 
iron99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 181
Default Re: Vista x64 swap file?

I have 8GB of RAM and pagefile fixed at 12GB.
__________________
AMD Phenom 1090T @ 3.8 On H2O\ Asus M4A89TD Pro/USB3.0\CORSAIR XMS3 8GB\RealSSD C300 128GB SataIII (OS)2xWD 600 GB(1 Apps. and Games/1 My Docs)WD 1.5TB for backup\ 480 GTX @825/2000/1.113V on H2O\Dell 2405\350Watt 5.1 Sound\1000watt single rail PSU\Logitech MX518 and G15 / ECCI Trackstar 6000 / Frex H-Shifter+\Windows 7 Professional 64-bit\My Favorite games - FallOut 3 with PFEE Mod
iron99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
The Rise of Object-based File Systems for HPC News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 01:10 PM
RPM Source problems LaoTzuTao NVIDIA Linux 10 01-19-03 05:15 AM
Can't install NVIDIA_kernel.XXXX.XXXX.src or regular rpm noeffort NVIDIA Linux 15 12-17-02 01:22 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.