Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-08, 08:51 AM   #1
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Free AA in Crysis...well, maybe...sort of...

So, I've been playing in the editor again specifically with the TOD settings and the flowgraph editor and happened on something kind of neat. If you tweak the DOF settings to apply a very mild DOF blur to the entire scene instead of just things that are very far away you get an effect that looks very much like the old Quincunx AA setting we use to have back in the day. There's virtually no performance hit. Sure, Quincunx wasn't all that great because it was essentially just blurring the screen, but hey, I think it looks better than nothing. I'll post some screenshots later today after I finish some school work.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-08, 11:48 AM   #2
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Free AA in Crysis...well, maybe...sort of...

No AA



No AA + Full Screen DOF Blur



As you can see the textures get blurred out aswell because the blur is applied to the entire image. Quincunx did the same thing to textures. However, I think I may be able to recapture some of the texture sharpness with the flowgraph image:sharpen filter. We'll see...
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-08, 12:32 PM   #3
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Free AA in Crysis...well, maybe...sort of...

Turns out the shapren filter undoes the DOF blur. So, it's either slightly blurring textures and simulated AA or sharp textures and no AA and some shimmering. Here's another set of comparisons.



__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-08, 01:14 PM   #4
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Free AA in Crysis...well, maybe...sort of...

Just like GRAW !!! Nice one
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-08, 01:30 PM   #5
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Free AA in Crysis...well, maybe...sort of...

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK4
Just like GRAW !!! Nice one
Not quite. Graw uses an edge smoothing technique and probably doesn't blur the textures as much. Crysis has a built in edge AA mode but it doesn't work on all edges. This works on the entire scene and I actually really like it in game. It does a lot to get rid of shimmering and makes the image appear very smooth. Sometimes I find the very harsh edges, even with AA, a little off putting.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-08, 01:37 PM   #6
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Free AA in Crysis...well, maybe...sort of...

LOL that looks terrible! No details FTL
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-08, 02:30 PM   #7
SeriTonin
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,349
Default Re: Free AA in Crysis...well, maybe...sort of...

Yeah I'll take some detail with jaggies over blurred with no jaggies, good find and nice info though brady, I'm sure plenty will appreciate it. =)
SeriTonin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-08, 02:31 PM   #8
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Free AA in Crysis...well, maybe...sort of...

Awww come on now. It doesn't look that bad. I almost prefer it over having sharp edges poking my eyes out. Crysis is the only game I can't use any level of AA on and it's just starting to wear on me a bit. I'm getting desparate...well, not enough to not run it on very high settings, but you know what I mean. Also, I think it's a little different in my case because I play Crysis on a 37" TV from about 8' away.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-10-08, 02:40 PM   #9
dxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 490
Default Re: Free AA in Crysis...well, maybe...sort of...

It's a nice enough idea, but it looks terrible. A similar effect can be acheived by lowering the screen res and letting our TFT monitors upscale it, and that';d probably be better, since that'd even earn a performance boost.

I do admire your nerdy investigation and experimentation skills, though. Good stuff, even if it hasn't worked out brilliantly this time.
dxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 08:50 AM   #10
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Free AA in Crysis...well, maybe...sort of...

Why don't just combine 4xAA and Multisampled Transparancy AA?

I play with that and i have no jaggies anywhere, not even on the vegetation
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 10:53 AM   #11
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Free AA in Crysis...well, maybe...sort of...

I just run it at 1680X1060 and jaggies aren't a problem. I can see where a big TV could make things different and perhaps the blurriness that we see in the screen shots won't be as noticable from 8 feet away.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 03:51 PM   #12
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Free AA in Crysis...well, maybe...sort of...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soetdjuret
Why don't just combine 4xAA and Multisampled Transparancy AA?

I play with that and i have no jaggies anywhere, not even on the vegetation
Ummm...because then performance would be horrible.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ZoneAlarm Free 10.2.064.000 News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 11:30 AM
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
Getting your witchcraft and wizardry on for free News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 12:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.