Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-08, 09:22 PM   #1
rage10
Registered User
 
rage10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: In the clouds!:)
Posts: 1,271
Default the wrong fsb

what happens if one were to put a cpu with a 800 mhz fsb in a mobo with a 533 mhz fsb?
thanks,
rage10
rage10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-08, 11:25 PM   #2
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: the wrong fsb

The CPU would set itself to run at 533Mhz.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-08, 05:21 PM   #3
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: the wrong fsb

Well technically, yes but as it's CPU locked it would mean that it will be underclocked as well.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-08, 11:02 PM   #4
rage10
Registered User
 
rage10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: In the clouds!:)
Posts: 1,271
Default Re: the wrong fsb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazz
Well technically, yes but as it's CPU locked it would mean that it will be underclocked as well.
I was afrad of that.
EDIT: any idea how much?
rage10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-08, 11:05 AM   #5
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: the wrong fsb

Well if you have a Pentium 4 3800MHz Processor which is 19x200 it will be (19x133) 2533MHz, but although the board may not officaly support 800MHz you maybe able to overclock it.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-08, 08:28 PM   #6
rage10
Registered User
 
rage10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: In the clouds!:)
Posts: 1,271
Default Re: the wrong fsb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazz
Well if you have a Pentium 4 3800MHz Processor which is 19x200 it will be (19x133) 2533MHz, but although the board may not officaly support 800MHz you maybe able to overclock it.
will I see a difference over clocking my current CPU as opposed to overclocking a under clocked CPU? and if speed fan says my board can be set higher is that a trust worthy source/ keep in mind I have not contacted the manufacturer yet.
rage10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-08, 06:44 PM   #7
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: the wrong fsb

Not really no.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3dmark reports my fsb is 66? Gator Benchmarking And Overclocking 7 09-21-02 11:10 PM
nforce fsb Grommit CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 1 09-12-02 08:05 AM
Can't Get FSB Above 143 MHz Phyre CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 1 09-09-02 11:59 AM
OC'd AthlonXP w/400MHz FSB... Anybody got one? Switch CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 08-23-02 09:27 PM
weird idea for performance boost, lower multi, raise fsb Gator CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 8 08-05-02 06:01 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.