Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-08, 09:51 PM   #1
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,062
Default Asus Commando overclocking!!

Well I'm doing a little OC for fun. AI did not work due to the fixed mulitiplier. I set my CPU to 9 x 300 for the 2.7 which set the memory to 775. This also pushed my front bus to 1200. I got the CPU's to 46C during the fuzzy donut graphic test. Seems very stable. PC Probe is issuing warnings about my
[05/08/2008 at 08:29 pm] DDRII Voltage Abnormal, 4.08 V
[05/08/2008 at 08:29 pm] DDRII Termination Voltage Abnormal, 0.02 V
Should I worry about this? Can I fix this in BIOS?
Is this just a threshold adjustment in PC Probe itself?
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score

Last edited by Eltigre88; 08-09-13 at 03:28 PM.
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-08, 10:03 PM   #2
stevemedes
Intel Virgin
 
stevemedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,716
Send a message via AIM to stevemedes
Default Re: Asus Commando overclocking!!

4.08v on the ram? lol that cant be right. what do you have the ram voltage set to in the bios? also, that donut test will mostly stress your graphics card. if you really want to stress test the CPU, try orthos out. or prime95.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400 | Asus P5B Deluxe w/ Thermalright HR-09 | 4gb Crucial BallistiX Tracer PC2-8000 | eVGA 9800 GTX | Tuniq Tower
2x36gb WD Raptor RAID-0 | 750gb WD SE16 | Samsung SH-S203B | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair VX550
Coolermaster Stacker 832 | Klipsch Promedia 2.1
stevemedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 01:50 AM   #3
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Asus Commando overclocking!!

You should manually set you memory voltage & timings in the bios, my memory is at 1.9v .... I think your memory should be at 2v with 5-5-5-15 timings!

As said, to test your cpu try prime95 with a Small FFTs stress test for over 8 hours, i thought it was alittle weird to see you running the donut test to stress your cpu lol.

Heres my overclock setup,

(1:1 Ratio)
CPU Frequency - 356 (x6 multiplayer) = 3.22GHz
DRAM Frequency - 712MHz
PCI Express Frequency - 115
PCI Clock Synchronization - 33.33MHz
CPU Vcore - 1.3125v
Memory Volatage - 1.9v
Memory timings - 5-5-5-12

Everything else is on auto & thats over 12 hours Prime96 Small FFTs stable with a load temp of around 50c.

BTW, you do know the latest bios is 1605 for these boards right?
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 08:54 AM   #4
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,062
Default Re: Asus Commando overclocking!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR
You should manually set you memory voltage & timings in the bios, my memory is at 1.9v .... I think your memory should be at 2v with 5-5-5-15 timings!

As said, to test your cpu try prime95 with a Small FFTs stress test for over 8 hours, i thought it was alittle weird to see you running the donut test to stress your cpu lol.

Heres my overclock setup,

(1:1 Ratio)
CPU Frequency - 356 (x6 multiplayer) = 3.22GHz
DRAM Frequency - 712MHz
PCI Express Frequency - 115
PCI Clock Synchronization - 33.33MHz
CPU Vcore - 1.3125v
Memory Volatage - 1.9v
Memory timings - 5-5-5-12

Everything else is on auto & thats over 12 hours Prime96 Small FFTs stable with a load temp of around 50c.

BTW, you do know the latest bios is 1605 for these boards right?
I was just seeing at what temp they would get to. The fuzzy test keeps them around 30% so thought it was good for a quick check. I have used TAT in the past and will download it again from Intel. As far as the bios go I'm a little Leary after recently loosing my P5B Deluxe to a bad flash, which is on its way back to Asus via RMA. Asus no longer puts a bios chip on the board. From what I have been told it is incorporated into the south bridge. STUPID move. Also my new board is the same way. Funny that the P5 died on me after many successful flashes. Oh ya and roger that on the 2 volt memory which is what I have set it on.

Does the PCI Express Frequency - 115 really make that much difference. What does it normally run at?

Nice setup BTW!

Thanks for the OC info.

What are you using on your CPU to cool it?

CPU-z has a stress test right?
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 09:27 AM   #5
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,062
Default Re: Asus Commando overclocking!!

So what are all these new settings for DDRII in Bios for???
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score

Last edited by Eltigre88; 10-20-12 at 08:57 AM.
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 09:39 AM   #6
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Asus Commando overclocking!!

I think your probabally best leaving all of those on auto, i do, i just change the settings i have mentioned in my above post!

The PCI Express Frequency adds more bandwidth across the bus, people generally say not to touch it because it can lead to system instability, ive had no issues here at all in almost a year & 115 is supposed to be the sweet spot.(the The PCI Express Frequency normally runs on auto)

Im using a Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme with a antec tricool 120mm fan & AS5 thermal compound.

And no CPU-Z dont have a stress test.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 10:25 AM   #7
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,062
Default Re: Asus Commando overclocking!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR
I think your probabally best leaving all of those on auto, i do, i just change the settings i have mentioned in my above post!

The PCI Express Frequency adds more bandwidth across the bus, people generally say not to touch it because it can lead to system instability, ive had no issues here at all in almost a year & 115 is supposed to be the sweet spot.(the The PCI Express Frequency normally runs on auto)

Im using a Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme with a antec tricool 120mm fan & AS5 thermal compound.

And no CPU-Z dont have a stress test.
Very nice cooler!

For a long time I was using the Thermaltake 112 tower but have since switched to a lighter swiftech MCX775-V with a 120mm fan installed on a funnel redusing it down to the 90mm mount.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score

Last edited by Eltigre88; 10-20-12 at 08:57 AM.
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 11:17 AM   #8
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Asus Commando overclocking!!

i would just oc the cpu and the chips on the GFx card, i bet anything else will not make any noticable difference apart from decreasing the life time of the components
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III review (w/ Asus GTX680 DirectCU II TOP) News Archived News Items 1 07-01-12 04:39 PM
Review of the 23-inch Asus VG23AH Passive 3D IPS Display News Archived News Items 0 06-21-12 08:40 PM
Asus ditches Android for Windows 8 in new Transformer laptop/tablet News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 03:10 PM
ASUS GeForce GTX 670 DirectCU II Top Unveiled Features 1137MHz Boost Clock (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 07:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.