Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-08, 08:00 AM   #1
tstate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Default forcedeth problem on M3N78 (MCP78)

Hi,

I have a problem here. The forcedeth modul loads without errors.
But the device eth0 cant't be found afterwards. dmesg has revealed to me that udev has renamed the device eth0 to eth2. Is there an explanation for this? And how can I force the name of my one and only NIC to be eth0?
tstate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-08, 09:26 AM   #2
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: forcedeth problem on M3N78 (MCP78)

well, this depends on your distro...
in debian (an maybe Ubuntu), you should take a look into /etc/udev/rules.d/z25_persistent-net.rules .
it's pretty obvious then what you have to do, if not... attach it!
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-08, 09:59 AM   #3
tstate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Post Re: forcedeth problem on M3N78 (MCP78)

Thanks that helped!

distro is Fedora8
The rules where in: /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules

eth0 and eth1 where the two NIC's from my old board.

Is there a better way to move an installation form one board to another?
I mean without leaving such garbage behind (and without a fresh install )
tstate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-08, 11:13 AM   #4
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: forcedeth problem on M3N78 (MCP78)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tstate
Is there a better way to move an installation form one board to another?
I mean without leaving such garbage behind (and without a fresh install )
I'm not aware of anything like that... maybe could be a new entry for udev's wishlist?
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 06:15 PM   #5
tobiz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Default Re: forcedeth problem on M3N78 (MCP78)

I'm not sure if I have the same network problem but I I can't get the onboard networking to work on my M3N78-EMH M/B running Ubuntu 8.04. Setup by the gui for DHCP there seems to be a device eth2:avahi with a network address of 169.254.7.107 whereas it should be in the 192.168 range. If I try another Intel chip NIC it all works as expected with or without disabing the LAN in the BIOS. The onboard network device seems to decide the eth2:avahi is IPV6 (from syslog)? Any ideas as to how to get the onboard networking to work would be appreciated.
tobiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem connecting Pioneer VSX-S300 to Nvidia Ion - flat panel scaling solves it? wild_oscar NVIDIA Linux 3 06-17-12 07:18 AM
Post working out problem with 40.xx trying to work problem out, ONLY system specs b5fan NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 10-19-02 09:17 AM
nv30 problem rumor bob747b Rumor Mill 37 10-10-02 03:14 PM
kswapd kernel problem and the NVdriver kwaz NVIDIA Linux 2 09-25-02 08:33 PM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 10:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.