Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-08, 12:28 PM   #1
ChiBChombo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 393
Default Finding out blue screens?

Lately I been getting blue screens (to be exact since I installed AVG 8.0), also been having problems where my network connection gets "Limited connection" for a while after booting up.

I can't read blue screens because they go away too fast, but is there a way to know why exactly it is happening? my DRAM voltage was at 2.00, I raised to 2.04, then 2.1, and still did it.

Any idea what to do?
__________________
Motherboard: eVGA E758-A1 X58 CPU: Intel core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz Memory: Corsair Dominator-GT 6GB 1600MHz 7-7-7-20 GPU: 2x eVGA GTX 470 Sli PSU: Corsair 1000HX Storage: Intel X25-M SSD 80GB - 2x WD Caviar Black 1TB Optical Drives: Sony Optiarc 24X CD/DVD - Pioneer BDR-205BKS BluRay/DVD/CD Writer Case: Lian-Li Armorsuit PC-P50R Display: Alienware OptX AW2310 Audio: Logitech Z-5500.
ChiBChombo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-08, 12:38 PM   #2
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Finding out blue screens?

If you have "automatically reboot" enabled, disable it in system properties>Advanced system settings>startup and recovery. Then write down the stop error you get on the BSOD and google that. Some will give you generic 'yep, you crashed' info, others will point you straight to a driver/other software etc.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-08, 12:55 PM   #3
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Finding out blue screens?

Or if you have a camera...

nah grey_1's way is better
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-08, 01:57 PM   #4
Technoholic
Registered User
 
Technoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Under your chair
Posts: 1,729
Send a message via MSN to Technoholic
Default Re: Finding out blue screens?

Yeah, get the stop code, and search for what the code means in google.

Im sure some people here remembers I have BSOD. It was the RAM, but completely different code, and it was something to do with system's kernel, I'm not sure. Sometimes the stop code will tell you it's actually RAM related.
__________________
[MY PC]
-- 3DMarkVantage: H7522
-- Q9450 @ 3.2GHZ 1.15V | THERMALRIGHT TRUE BLACK ULTRA-120 | DFI LANPARTY DK P45-T2RS | 4GB G.SKILL DDR2-1000
-- EVGA 280GTX | SAMSUNG 225BW | X-FI XTREMEGAMER FPS | Z-5300e | Z-2300 | 250GB SEAGATE | RAZER LACHESIS
-- 320GB WESTERNDIGITAL | TAGAN 700W | G15 rev. 2 | NINE HUNDRED | VISTA HOME PREMIUM
-- no longer own this system

[MY LAPTOP]
-- MAC BOOK PRO 13" | DUAL BOOT WITH WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64-BIT | 2.3GHz i5 | 4GB DDR3 |
-- OSX LION | 320GB HDD
-- Stolen :^(

[STUFF]
-- PSN: lqfocus06
-- AEKDB
Technoholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-08, 02:04 PM   #5
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Finding out blue screens?

probably due to overclocking... run prime95 for at least 1 hour to make sure your CPU/RAM is stable
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-08, 03:17 PM   #6
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Finding out blue screens?

You might also try installing Windbg to analyze the errors as logged in Windows/Minidump or Windows/Memory.dmp, depending on how you have the OS configured.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-08, 03:26 PM   #7
ChiBChombo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 393
Default Re: Finding out blue screens?

If it helps for anythng, I haven't tried anything yet, but my computer once it loads everything and internet works, it wont blue screen for the rest of the day again. I can leave it on 5 days straight and it wont blue screen, it only seems to blue screen on start up, and ONCE during booting up.
__________________
Motherboard: eVGA E758-A1 X58 CPU: Intel core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz Memory: Corsair Dominator-GT 6GB 1600MHz 7-7-7-20 GPU: 2x eVGA GTX 470 Sli PSU: Corsair 1000HX Storage: Intel X25-M SSD 80GB - 2x WD Caviar Black 1TB Optical Drives: Sony Optiarc 24X CD/DVD - Pioneer BDR-205BKS BluRay/DVD/CD Writer Case: Lian-Li Armorsuit PC-P50R Display: Alienware OptX AW2310 Audio: Logitech Z-5500.
ChiBChombo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-08, 03:40 PM   #8
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Finding out blue screens?

I would tend to suspect a bad driver, that is why I suggested Windbg. Since the problem began after installing the firewall, I would disable it on the startup tab of msconfig to see if the problem disappeared.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-13-08, 08:07 AM   #9
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Finding out blue screens?

I installed SP3 yesterday and didn't have any anti-virus installed. So, earlier this morning I installed AVG 8.0 Free Edition and it BSOD on me. I've since uninstalled it and not had any problems. Might give it another go later.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-08, 08:42 PM   #10
PlayerZen14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 193
Default Re: Finding out blue screens?

Quote:
I installed SP3 yesterday and didn't have any anti-virus installed. So, earlier this morning I installed AVG 8.0 Free Edition and it BSOD on me. I've since uninstalled it and not had any problems. Might give it another go later.
just 2 days ago i installed xp sp3 through windows update. Ever since, i'd be getting BSODs after leaving my computer on for more than an hour, even when running non-intensive tasks like word and internet. I occassionally get BSODs from running Battlefield 2 , but thats because my notebook's thermal solution SUCKS.
PlayerZen14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-08, 06:46 PM   #11
ChiBChombo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 393
Default Re: Finding out blue screens?

So I went to start up and blocked AVG from opening on Windows Start up, haven't gotten any blue screens since 3 days ago.

So maybe it is AVG 8.0 after all causing a problem with certain programs or something.

We'll see.
__________________
Motherboard: eVGA E758-A1 X58 CPU: Intel core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz Memory: Corsair Dominator-GT 6GB 1600MHz 7-7-7-20 GPU: 2x eVGA GTX 470 Sli PSU: Corsair 1000HX Storage: Intel X25-M SSD 80GB - 2x WD Caviar Black 1TB Optical Drives: Sony Optiarc 24X CD/DVD - Pioneer BDR-205BKS BluRay/DVD/CD Writer Case: Lian-Li Armorsuit PC-P50R Display: Alienware OptX AW2310 Audio: Logitech Z-5500.
ChiBChombo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-08, 08:02 PM   #12
Technoholic
Registered User
 
Technoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Under your chair
Posts: 1,729
Send a message via MSN to Technoholic
Default Re: Finding out blue screens?

I heard AVG 8 is not free anymore.

I still use AVG 7.5
__________________
[MY PC]
-- 3DMarkVantage: H7522
-- Q9450 @ 3.2GHZ 1.15V | THERMALRIGHT TRUE BLACK ULTRA-120 | DFI LANPARTY DK P45-T2RS | 4GB G.SKILL DDR2-1000
-- EVGA 280GTX | SAMSUNG 225BW | X-FI XTREMEGAMER FPS | Z-5300e | Z-2300 | 250GB SEAGATE | RAZER LACHESIS
-- 320GB WESTERNDIGITAL | TAGAN 700W | G15 rev. 2 | NINE HUNDRED | VISTA HOME PREMIUM
-- no longer own this system

[MY LAPTOP]
-- MAC BOOK PRO 13" | DUAL BOOT WITH WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64-BIT | 2.3GHz i5 | 4GB DDR3 |
-- OSX LION | 320GB HDD
-- Stolen :^(

[STUFF]
-- PSN: lqfocus06
-- AEKDB
Technoholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tv-out blue "blinking" chrisz NVIDIA Linux 3 10-04-02 04:04 PM
FS: Dual Cathode Kit (Blue and Red CCFLs) TSA For Sale/Trade 2 10-03-02 05:09 PM
Worked fine before, now getting "no screens found" HansBoldt NVIDIA Linux 3 08-22-02 06:20 AM
TV-out - only white blue screen on TV zefme NVIDIA Linux 13 08-19-02 10:46 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.