Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-08, 02:31 PM   #13
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
Just keep posting what you find...bunch of knowledgeable guys here, someone will have an answer for you.

When I get home I will take some snapshots of my computer information & post it on here so everyone can see what exactly I have hardware wise & all the specifications. My motherbored may not be up to overclocking. It's about a $75 motherbored on New Egg right now. I have no idea?

What I need to do is find someone in my area (Metro Detroit) who know how to do this and pay them, so I don't fry something.
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 02:34 PM   #14
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

I had an older Gigabyte, great overclockers these days, but this one..bump it up even 1 mhz and it wouldn't post. very frustrating. It's hard to say until your exact specs are posted. Overclocking is luck of the draw anyway..some equipment will oc ike crazy, some won't.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 02:45 PM   #15
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
I had an older Gigabyte, great overclockers these days, but this one..bump it up even 1 mhz and it wouldn't post. very frustrating. It's hard to say until your exact specs are posted. Overclocking is luck of the draw anyway..some equipment will oc ike crazy, some won't.

Yes that's what I have been finding out. I had a buddy put this computer together for me, because I had no idea what to do. Now that I got it, I have been doing a lot of research. Since then I have put a XFX GeForce 8600 XXX video card in it, two more gigs or RAM & then sold my 2GHz processor for a E6300 Dual Core. After reading about that processor I have learned it's a very good overclocker, but everything else needs to be up to speed to do so.

I do have the stock fan/cooling system so I'm not trying to go to 3Ghz but wanted at least 2GHz with that, is that asking too much of the stock cooling system?
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 04:19 PM   #16
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

I've read of guys doing 800+mhz overclocks on those easily.

Here's a very helpful beginners guide.
http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=9808&page=1

After going through that (and the troubleshooting guide at the end)...

I would..

1. remove 2 sticks of ram, see if the 4x1 isn't causing your problem.

2. run orthos with everything at default.

3. If it fails, try swapping sticks of ram out, you may have a bad stick.

4. Just to be sure, it is the fsb you're changing, not the multiplier?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 06:25 PM   #17
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
I've read of guys doing 800+mhz overclocks on those easily.

Here's a very helpful beginners guide.
http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=9808&page=1

After going through that (and the troubleshooting guide at the end)...

I would..

1. remove 2 sticks of ram, see if the 4x1 isn't causing your problem.

2. run orthos with everything at default.

3. If it fails, try swapping sticks of ram out, you may have a bad stick.

4. Just to be sure, it is the fsb you're changing, not the multiplier?



I will do all of that after I run orthos the first time. I will half to check when I get home if it's the FSB or the multiplier. I'm not sure which stick of RAM to pull out, the last two? Or 1 full, 1 open, 1 full, 1 open? Sorry i'm inexperienced

Thank you for all of you're help so far!
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 08:17 PM   #18
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

Quote:
Originally Posted by musman
I will do all of that after I run orthos the first time. I will half to check when I get home if it's the FSB or the multiplier. I'm not sure which stick of RAM to pull out, the last two? Or 1 full, 1 open, 1 full, 1 open? Sorry i'm inexperienced

Thank you for all of you're help so far!
Glad to help!
See the 2 black slots?


Pull those - If I'm not mistaken that will leave you running dual channel in the 2 yellow slots. If it still fails, just to be sure swap the sticks you pulled out with the others and try again. The odds of all 4 sticks being bad are pretty slim.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-08, 04:53 AM   #19
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

I have my e6300 oced to 2,8 and no errors at all with stock cooler and very good 40-50stress temps
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-08, 04:38 PM   #20
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK4
I have my e6300 oced to 2,8 and no errors at all with stock cooler and very good 40-50stress temps

Ok, that's good news, thanks!
musman is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVRM: Xid while using chromium browser blekot NVIDIA Linux 2 06-26-12 01:29 PM
Google launches Metro-style Chrome browser for Windows 8 ' and it rocks News Archived News Items 0 06-12-12 06:40 AM
Anatomy of a hack: 6 separate bugs needed to bring down Google browser News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:40 PM
P4 overclocking - how do you do it? saturnotaku CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 1 08-15-02 08:52 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.