Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-08, 09:02 AM   #1
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

I tried slightly overclocking my E6300 from 1.86GHz to 1.90GHz and all of my web browsers keep shutting down & I get an error report???


Thanks!
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 10:20 AM   #2
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

Just by bumping the fsb a bit? What are your full specs? That's got to be a telltale sign of something else wrong.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 10:46 AM   #3
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
Just by bumping the fsb a bit? What are your full specs? That's got to be a telltale sign of something else wrong.


Yea just a very small amount? Here is the best I can do for right now with my computer specks until I get home.

Windows XP

Motherbored: ASUS P5L-VM

RAM: Corsair XMS2 DDR2 1GB X 4 (windows XP only supports 3Gig I know)

Processor: E6300

Graphics Card: XFX Geforce 8600 XXX Edition

Hard drive: 7200rpm 140Gig



The rest I am not sure about till I get home.

Thank You
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 11:01 AM   #4
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

NOTE: This is my first time overclocking. The only this I did was bump up the FSB very slightly, I made NO other changes.
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 12:29 PM   #5
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

I would try stressing the cpu and mobo at default speeds. If it acts up you may have a faulty mobo or flakey bios.

I still have XP pro running on 4Gb ram and it over clocked pretty decent, except I have 2x2Gb. I hear 4x1Gb sticks can be hard on overclocking..maybe try with only 2Gb? That could be your issue.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 12:36 PM   #6
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

Quote:
Originally Posted by musman
NOTE: This is my first time overclocking. The only this I did was bump up the FSB very slightly, I made NO other changes.
probably need more voltage.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 12:48 PM   #7
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
I would try stressing the cpu and mobo at default speeds. If it acts up you may have a faulty mobo or flakey bios.

I still have XP pro running on 4Gb ram and it over clocked pretty decent, except I have 2x2Gb. I hear 4x1Gb sticks can be hard on overclocking..maybe try with only 2Gb? That could be your issue.

What program would be good for stress testing?
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 01:01 PM   #8
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

Orthos is a good one.

Choose the small FFTs to stress cpu, or blend for cpu+ram. If your hardware is tight it should run no problem, but a bad stick of ram or anythng wrong really, will cause orthos to halt and give you an error message.

Warning though, this will stress your cpu to near max, so if you don't have good cooling, heat may be a concern.

Coretemp is a good temp monitor. Always good to keep an eye on it. If you see temps going over 60c while stressing, I would suggest stopping orthos.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-12-08, 01:17 PM   #9
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Smile Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
Orthos is a good one.

Choose the small FFTs to stress cpu, or blend for cpu+ram. If your hardware is tight it should run no problem, but a bad stick of ram or anythng wrong really, will cause orthos to halt and give you an error message.

Warning though, this will stress your cpu to near max, so if you don't have good cooling, heat may be a concern.

Coretemp is a good temp monitor. Always good to keep an eye on it. If you see temps going over 60c while stressing, I would suggest stopping orthos.

OK I will do that, Thank you very much!!!
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 01:45 PM   #10
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

You're welcome, I hope it winds up being something simple for you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 01:53 PM   #11
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
You're welcome, I hope it winds up being something simple for you.

Me too! I'm new to this and it very hard searching through the sea of information out there.
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 02:15 PM   #12
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Overclocking E6300 browser shuts down

Quote:
Originally Posted by musman
Me too! I'm new to this and it very hard searching through the sea of information out there.
Just keep posting what you find...bunch of knowledgeable guys here, someone will have an answer for you.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVRM: Xid while using chromium browser blekot NVIDIA Linux 2 06-26-12 01:29 PM
Google launches Metro-style Chrome browser for Windows 8 ' and it rocks News Archived News Items 0 06-12-12 06:40 AM
Anatomy of a hack: 6 separate bugs needed to bring down Google browser News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:40 PM
P4 overclocking - how do you do it? saturnotaku CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 1 08-15-02 08:52 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.