Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-18-08, 05:26 AM   #1
Intel-Inside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 53
Default Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER

I overclocked to 3.0ghz, same voltage with stock cooler, i did stress test, according to Real Temp it got to 75c highest, and when its hot in the room at 100% load i'd say it would each 85c at least.

Is this bad, i mean real bad or is it ok for stock cooler? im hoping to replace it by monday, or tuesday because im ordering a better cooler, much better cooler i just need advice if to turn it off for now the overclock and re-enable when i got the cooler!

According to my TEMP MONITOR LCD on front cpu was only at 48c on stress but all i done is shuved the sensor into the heatsink at the far back near the top which is inaccurate so im like add 20c onto that, and thats the real temp. like 68c on lcd.

What is safe temperatures for this type of overclock am i pushing it too far? this was measured on Tj. Max tool, Tj. Max was 100c.

Any ideas?
Thanks,
Intel
Intel-Inside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-08, 06:04 AM   #2
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER

That's pretty hot. Personally I would ignore the case temp sensor, you already know that's not accurate. I'd leave the speed at default until I had the aftermarket cooler. My personal cutoff is 50c, anything over that bothers me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-08, 07:40 AM   #3
BrianG
aka HalcYoN - Hook Em!
 
BrianG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intel-Inside
I overclocked to 3.0ghz, same voltage with stock cooler, i did stress test, according to Real Temp it got to 75c highest, and when its hot in the room at 100% load i'd say it would each 85c at least.

Is this bad, i mean real bad or is it ok for stock cooler? im hoping to replace it by monday, or tuesday because im ordering a better cooler, much better cooler i just need advice if to turn it off for now the overclock and re-enable when i got the cooler!

According to my TEMP MONITOR LCD on front cpu was only at 48c on stress but all i done is shuved the sensor into the heatsink at the far back near the top which is inaccurate so im like add 20c onto that, and thats the real temp. like 68c on lcd.

What is safe temperatures for this type of overclock am i pushing it too far? this was measured on Tj. Max tool, Tj. Max was 100c.

Any ideas?
Thanks,
Intel
G0? Too hot. The fact you are stable with out thermal runaway at 3.0 on the stock means you won't need much to keep it cool. Just about any tower-style heatpipe cooler will do. If you want the mobo to control it, make sure it has a PWM fan.
__________________
Brian - aka HalcYoN

photobriangray
Nikon D700 and D300s | SB-600 | Tamron 28-75/2.8 | Tamron 17-50/2.8 | Nikon 70-200VR I
10.5/2.8 Fisheye | 28/1.8 AF-S | 35/1.8 AF-S | 50/1.8 | 105/F2 AF-D | Sigma 150/2.8 Macro
Nikon J1 | 10-30VR |30-100VR | 10/2.8 | 18/1.8
BrianG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-08, 08:11 AM   #4
Intel-Inside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 53
Default Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER

It says G0 but then it says Stepping: B but Revision: G0 i think it that way.

Also it seems stable at these temps, when i did a test on normal i get about the same temps stressed anyways.
Intel-Inside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-08, 10:02 AM   #5
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER

I would agree that is too hot as well. Real temp is about 5C less than Hwmonitor for me. I would probably just clock it back down until you get a better cooler.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-08, 12:39 PM   #6
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER

Intels states max thermal spec is 62.2C http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SL9UM
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-08, 12:57 PM   #7
hokeyplyr48
hooah
 
hokeyplyr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 755
Send a message via AIM to hokeyplyr48
Default Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER

62.2 for B3, 71 for G0
http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SLACR
__________________
Main Rig:
CPU:Q6600 @ 3.5 w/ Ultra 120 extreme|| RAM: 4x2GB G. Skill || Motherboard: ABIT IP35 Pro || VideoCard: eVGA 260GTX & 7200GS for triple monitoring || Sound Card: Creative X-FI xtremegamer || Hard Drive: 2 x 150GB Raptor in RAID 0 (OS and Program Files) | 1 x 150GB Raptor (User Drive) | 1 x WD 2TB HD SATA II | 1 x 1TB Seagate | 1 x WD 500 GB HD SATA II | 1 x Seagate 400 GB HD SATA II | 1 x WD 160 GB HD IDE (slow, only for storage) || Monitor: Dell 30" 3007WFP LCD, Acer 22" widescreen, & Gateway 17" || Case: Antec 900 || PSU: 1 KW athenatech or force or something PSU || Keyboard: Logitech G15 || Mouse: Logitech MX 518 || OS: Windows 7 Build 7201 x64

Secondary Rig: FX-60, 7900GTX, 2 x 1BG OCZ Platinum, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, Antec 180, XP x32
hokeyplyr48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-08, 05:17 PM   #8
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER

Quote:
Originally Posted by hokeyplyr48
QFT
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-18-08, 05:19 PM   #9
Intel-Inside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 53
Default Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER

Fixed the overclock!

CPU Speed: 3.00GHZ
FSB: 1333MHZ
Idle Temp: 45c
Load Temp: 60c

Those idle and load temperatures are based on the night, when the room is hot after two pc's generating alot of heat, also quite hot outside now summer is coming up, so that is what i have seen so far.

Notice: Load temp is based on a 100% Load at a period of 15 minutes constant, i would never experience that if im playing games even with any application to be honest, so i can say this is now safe.

Solution: Lower Voltage! 1.450v to 1.300v - It is stable i done a couple test's with stressing etc and it is fine and working smoothly, iv'e still orderd a better heatsink for it so that will lower it even more, im guessing Idle: 35c - Load: 55c Im hoping!
Intel-Inside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-08, 05:37 PM   #10
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intel-Inside
Fixed the overclock!

CPU Speed: 3.00GHZ
FSB: 1333MHZ
Idle Temp: 45c
Load Temp: 60c

Those idle and load temperatures are based on the night, when the room is hot after two pc's generating alot of heat, also quite hot outside now summer is coming up, so that is what i have seen so far.

Notice: Load temp is based on a 100% Load at a period of 15 minutes constant, i would never experience that if im playing games even with any application to be honest, so i can say this is now safe.

Solution: Lower Voltage! 1.450v to 1.300v - It is stable i done a couple test's with stressing etc and it is fine and working smoothly, iv'e still orderd a better heatsink for it so that will lower it even more, im guessing Idle: 35c - Load: 55c Im hoping!
Yea you shouldn't need 1.45V in order to hit 3.0Ghz. I'm running 3.2Ghz right now with 1.41V. That looks like a lot better temps though.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prolimatech Genesis CPU Cooler Review - The Super Cooler News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 09:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.