Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-17-08, 05:10 AM   #1
firehawk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 410
Default system information...is this right?!?

ok so i oc's my crap e4600 to 2.90z (tried for 3 but the ram didnt like it)

system info is showing it as 2.40 stock speed and then directly under that it shows my oc'd 2.90


cpu-z shows me running at 2.90 i dont have any power saving intel bois crap on....is that normal for core 2's to show themselves in the system info like that?!?

sorry for thye jumbled mess of writing im tired and slightly drunk
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-08, 05:41 AM   #2
andy_nv
Registered User
 
andy_nv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 300
Default Re: system information...is this right?!?

If cpu-z shows it at 2.9 it's ok, you're running at the right speed. I get the same thing in system info for xp32, default speed and overclocked value under it .
The funny thing is when you use a lower multiplier to overclock, system info is stuck thinking at default multiplier, so you might get a higher than overclock value displayed (e.g: for a Q6600 2.4GHz, 425 x 8 should be 3.4 GHz overcloked, system info detects it as 425 x 9 and shows around 3.8Ghz).
__________________
Desktop PC: Asus P5K, Q6600 @ 3.4GHz, Thermalright Ultra 120X, 2x 2GB Mushkin PC6400 ram, Gainward 8800GTS 512 @ 730/2000 MHz, X-fi Fatality Pro, 2x 36GB WD Raptor, 74GB WD Raptor, 320GB WD KS, Pioneer DVR-212 DBK , Seasonic S12+ 650W, Antec P160 -dual boot with XP32 SP3 and Vista 64 SP1.

Notebook: Asus X55 SV - Intel GM965, 2.2GHz T7500 CPU, 2x 2GB Corsair PC5300 (upgraded), 9500M GS 512MB, 250GB Seagate drive - XP64 SP2 .
andy_nv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-08, 06:08 AM   #3
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: system information...is this right?!?

on mine (Vista 64 sp1) system shows

6400 @ 2.13 2.13
Thats just wrong
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-08, 06:43 AM   #4
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: system information...is this right?!?

In Vista x64, my system window shows:

E6750 @ 2.66Ghz 2.67 Ghz

CPU-Z shows 3600Mhz

I'm pretty sure it just shows the default clock for whatever CPU you're using. Whatever speed CPU-Z reports is what your CPU is running at.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-08, 12:57 PM   #5
andy_nv
Registered User
 
andy_nv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 300
Default Re: system information...is this right?!?

Vista 64 Sp1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sys info.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	17.9 KB
ID:	31504  
__________________
Desktop PC: Asus P5K, Q6600 @ 3.4GHz, Thermalright Ultra 120X, 2x 2GB Mushkin PC6400 ram, Gainward 8800GTS 512 @ 730/2000 MHz, X-fi Fatality Pro, 2x 36GB WD Raptor, 74GB WD Raptor, 320GB WD KS, Pioneer DVR-212 DBK , Seasonic S12+ 650W, Antec P160 -dual boot with XP32 SP3 and Vista 64 SP1.

Notebook: Asus X55 SV - Intel GM965, 2.2GHz T7500 CPU, 2x 2GB Corsair PC5300 (upgraded), 9500M GS 512MB, 250GB Seagate drive - XP64 SP2 .
andy_nv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-08, 02:43 PM   #6
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: system information...is this right?!?

Under XP mine showed up as Intel Core2 4300 1.80GHz @ 3.00 GHz & 3.25GB Ram
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-08, 03:28 PM   #7
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: system information...is this right?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazz
Under XP mine showed up as Intel Core2 4300 1.80GHz @ 3.00 GHz & 3.25GB Ram
+1
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UEFI+Nvidia - NVRM: Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console... interzoneuk NVIDIA Linux 0 06-26-12 05:51 AM
Max Payne 3 system requirements updated, new PC screenshots released News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 07:49 AM
Ars Technica system guide: Bargain Box April 2012 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 11:30 PM
Strange RedHat 7.3 issues with A7N266-C nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 8 09-27-02 04:16 PM
GeForce4 owners: Please post your TV encoder and board information ScuzziOne NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 8 08-04-02 07:55 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.