Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-04-08, 06:36 PM   #1
Sycario
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to Sycario
Default Q9450 high idle/load temps (2 of them)

Well, I have 2 Q9450s and on one of them 1 core idles at 32c and the other 3 are at about 47. Under load the 3 go up to about 55c on stock speeds. On the other 3 cores idle at about 42c and one is at 50c. I've tried reseating the heatink, tried different thermal paste, etc.

I put my Q6600 in and the temps are normal. The Q6600 idles at about 34c (on all 4 cores) overclocked to 3.4ghz. I am using a ThermalRight Ultra 120 extreme. I've tried Arctic Silver 5 and MX-2.

This sucks.......
__________________

Comp Specs:
Intel Q9650 @ 3.95Ghz
Asus Rampage Extreme
2x2GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 @ 6-6-6-17
eVGA GTX 280 SSC
BFG ES-800 PSU
Sycario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-08, 06:47 PM   #2
amk21
*BANNED*
 
amk21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 928
Default Re: Q9450 high idle/load temps (2 of them)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaNiBuS
Well, I have 2 Q9450s and on one of them 1 core idles at 32c and the other 3 are at about 47. Under load the 3 go up to about 55c on stock speeds. On the other 3 cores idle at about 42c and one is at 50c. I've tried reseating the heatink, tried different thermal paste, etc.

I put my Q6600 in and the temps are normal. The Q6600 idles at about 34c (on all 4 cores) overclocked to 3.4ghz. I am using a ThermalRight Ultra 120 extreme. I've tried Arctic Silver 5 and MX-2.

This sucks.......
How exactly are you measuring the temps? Some times inaccuracies can occur due to the way you take the temps.
amk21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-08, 07:01 PM   #3
Sycario
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to Sycario
Default Re: Q9450 high idle/load temps (2 of them)

I've been using Everest and Core Temp, they are both the same.
__________________

Comp Specs:
Intel Q9650 @ 3.95Ghz
Asus Rampage Extreme
2x2GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 @ 6-6-6-17
eVGA GTX 280 SSC
BFG ES-800 PSU
Sycario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-08, 07:24 PM   #4
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: Q9450 high idle/load temps (2 of them)

can this be due to a bios issue with a new cpu
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-08, 07:37 PM   #5
Sycario
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to Sycario
Default Re: Q9450 high idle/load temps (2 of them)

not sure...
The temps were the same on the eVGA 790i as the Gigabyte x48T-DQ6.

on the first CPU it was the #4 core that was lower than the other 3. On the second it's the #1 core thats higher than the other 3.

Not sure whats going on.
__________________

Comp Specs:
Intel Q9650 @ 3.95Ghz
Asus Rampage Extreme
2x2GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 @ 6-6-6-17
eVGA GTX 280 SSC
BFG ES-800 PSU
Sycario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-08, 07:50 PM   #6
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: Q9450 high idle/load temps (2 of them)

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=179044

have you tried this yet?
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-08, 07:59 PM   #7
Sycario
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to Sycario
Default Re: Q9450 high idle/load temps (2 of them)

Nice find. I will give it a try.

Thanks
__________________

Comp Specs:
Intel Q9650 @ 3.95Ghz
Asus Rampage Extreme
2x2GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 @ 6-6-6-17
eVGA GTX 280 SSC
BFG ES-800 PSU
Sycario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-08, 08:11 PM   #8
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Q9450 high idle/load temps (2 of them)

Seems really weird.

All my cores are idling at about 30-32C (with Zalman 9700NT, silent settings). On load, they range between about 40 and 44C, but I think it's primarily because of the g92 sitting right below.

Get the latest bios and make sure everything is seated correctly. It should not be an issue with both processors honestly.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-04-08, 08:38 PM   #9
Sycario
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to Sycario
Default Re: Q9450 high idle/load temps (2 of them)

I have the latest BIOS for both motherboards.
__________________

Comp Specs:
Intel Q9650 @ 3.95Ghz
Asus Rampage Extreme
2x2GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 @ 6-6-6-17
eVGA GTX 280 SSC
BFG ES-800 PSU
Sycario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-08, 11:22 PM   #10
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Q9450 high idle/load temps (2 of them)

The digital thermal sensors on the 45nm chips are all screwed up, defective or whatever. It's a known issue.
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=171381
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-08, 07:47 PM   #11
Sycario
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to Sycario
Default Re: Q9450 high idle/load temps (2 of them)

Well, I got RealTemp and started it up. At idle cores 1,2 and 3 are 30c and #4 is 19c. The idle temps on the first 3 look like what they should be. Still sucks that a sensor is bad (it seems).

On the other CPU it's the same deal pretty much except that core #1 is about 8c higher than the others.
__________________

Comp Specs:
Intel Q9650 @ 3.95Ghz
Asus Rampage Extreme
2x2GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 @ 6-6-6-17
eVGA GTX 280 SSC
BFG ES-800 PSU
Sycario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-08, 10:28 PM   #12
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Q9450 high idle/load temps (2 of them)

It seems to be normal with the 45nm chips. Just google around and you'll see tons people are reporting the same thing with the thermal sernsors. You can try your luck by RMA and see if you get one with near perfect sensors. But I recommend you keep it unless it's a bad overclocker.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video: High Schoolers Build Supercomputer in Ontario News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 01:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.