Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-22-08, 01:48 AM   #1
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Exclamation Asus update utility in vista!

I was reading another forum when i guy asked the best way to update his asus motherboard in vista, most people where saying use Ez flash, i said why not just use asus update utility? ... somebody said using the asus update utility in vista is a easy way to wipe eeprom & kill the board! .... is this true? is using the asus update utility in vista unsafe?(i used it afew times when i was on xp with no issues) if so why do asus allow you to download the asus update utility for vista when it could kill your board?
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0@4GHz(Corsair Hydro H80i) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 16GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force LS SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Cooler Master HAF X Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 03:05 AM   #2
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Asus update utility in vista!

use it, jus tmake sure you're fully an admin.... temporarily kill your firewall, install teh program as admin in compatibility mode, adn run it as admin in compatibility mode.

I did it and got a very new bios, and it worked great.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 03:15 AM   #3
David power
Dáibhí
 
David power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 271
Default Re: Asus update utility in vista!

I updated my board in Vista 64bit and I didnt mess up my board. I must have been lucky.
David power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 03:44 AM   #4
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Asus update utility in vista!

Quote:
Originally Posted by David power
I updated my board in Vista 64bit and I didnt mess up my board. I must have been lucky.
Personally i think its safe! its a 99% chance that somebody has used the asus update utility in vista and its killed there board(just by chance & maby alittle unlucky)! ..... hes mentioned this on a forum and thats it ... its pread like wildfire across then net! ... i will continue to use asus update utility in vista!
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0@4GHz(Corsair Hydro H80i) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 16GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force LS SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Cooler Master HAF X Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 07:37 AM   #5
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Asus update utility in vista!

UAYOR, but check out the Asus forums for the sticky warning post before you use it. I'd use ez-flash with an USB flash drive. Better safe than sorry.
http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?...Language=en-us
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 08:22 AM   #6
JaxMacFL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 474
Default Re: Asus update utility in vista!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR
I was reading another forum when i guy asked the best way to update his asus motherboard in vista, most people where saying use Ez flash, i said why not just use asus update utility? ... somebody said using the asus update utility in vista is a easy way to wipe eeprom & kill the board! .... is this true? is using the asus update utility in vista unsafe?(i used it afew times when i was on xp with no issues) if so why do asus allow you to download the asus update utility for vista when it could kill your board?
Yeah, ez flash and a flash drive is the safest way to go. I just download the latest bios and unzip it directly into my flash drive. Reboot and hit alt + f2 at first post. Just be sure your flash drive is formatted in FAT32 and remember it will show up as 'B:\' in the ez flash program; it always has for me anyway.
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.8GHz (1.40v) w/NH-D14 - P8P67 WS B3 rev (BIOS 2105) - G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3-1600 16GB (7-8-7-24-2T) - Sapphire 7970 Crossfire w/Xtreme 7970 coolers - OCZ Agility 3 240GB - Dell 3008FPW - SB X-Fi Tit Fatal1ty Pro - Seasonic X-1250W - CM HAF X RC942 - Win 7 HP x64 SP1
JaxMacFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 09:02 AM   #7
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Asus update utility in vista!

I use the bios boot ezflash and a flash drive, I have heard too many stories of that app killing mbs.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 09:38 AM   #8
Badboy_12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Asus update utility in vista!

I have always used asus update utility and never had a problem.
Badboy_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-22-08, 09:42 AM   #9
Buckeye
Registered User
 
Buckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 468
Default Re: Asus update utility in vista!

It killed my Striker MB one night. Man it was a pain to get it back going.

After that I will always use a floppy/USB/CD
__________________
New Build Coming Soon
Powered by Liftoff and soon to be cooled by H30.
Buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 09:42 AM   #10
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Asus update utility in vista!

Toss the bios on a flash drive, boot up Alt F2. Never failed me. My games crash stll in Vista, no way in hell I'd flash a bios in Vista its just not reliable enough for me to trust it yet
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 09:55 AM   #11
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Asus update utility in vista!

You can access ez-flash under Tools in BIOS as well, if you don't remember alt-f2.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 10:19 AM   #12
stefan9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: pretoria,south africa
Posts: 298
Default Re: Asus update utility in vista!

I have always used ez flash. Heard too many bad stories about the windows utility and this isn't just in vista, people have had issues using it in xp as well.
__________________
P160w
Aopen 700 watt
asus p5n32 e sli bios 1205
2x2 gig ddr 2 1200 mhz ocz reaper ram
250 gig and 320 gig sata 2 seagate baracuda h/d
intel core2duo e8500
evga geforce 260gtx
sound max dts card
zalman 9500at
windows 7 home premium
stefan9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Review of the 23-inch Asus VG23AH Passive 3D IPS Display News Archived News Items 0 06-21-12 08:40 PM
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Tribes: Ascend Staying Alive update adds sticky grenades, disco Brute News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 08:10 AM
ASUS GeForce GTX 670 DirectCU II Top Unveiled Features 1137MHz Boost Clock (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 07:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.