Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-02-08, 12:32 PM   #277
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Mass Effect (PC) Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destroy View Post
Man, that lunar jeep/truck is crazy to drive. Too bad there is only one speed and jump jets are so limited.
It definitely takes some getting used to. Once you get a good grasp of the controls it's easy to move around on uncharted worlds but even then it can be hard to maneuver on some of the plot worlds.

BTW finished my first "good guy" playthrough, can't decide on my class for the next - I just used the default John Shepard for the first one. I'm thinking female this time and either an engineer or a biotic. Or maybe I'll play my first guy on a replay to get to level 60...can't decide.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 12:33 PM   #278
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: Mass Effect (PC) Feedback Thread

not sure what driver have you tried, there is buch of them here.
http://www.station-drivers.com/page/analog%20device.htm

SoundMax is by Analog Devices, I don't know how it would have anything to do with Realtek, those are two seperate companies.

if you want to give Realtek driver a chance, here you go.
http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/...&GetDown=false

my laptop have Sigmatel audio, and also some people said you can use realtek driver, while trying that. it apears to install, but after checking it disables Sigmatel and it just loaded Microsoft standard driver. Which caused problem with HDMI out.

It could be same thing with your SoundMax, installing Realtek might apear to work, but instead of installing Realtek driver it would load standard Microsoft driver.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 12:41 PM   #279
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Mass Effect (PC) Feedback Thread

Thanks for the link.

This is from the spec sheet.
Quote:
SupremeFX II Audio card
ADI® AD1988B 8-channel High Definition Audio CODEC
- Support Jack-Sensing, Enumeration, Multi-streaming
- Coaxial / Optical S/PDIF out ports at back I/O
- AI Audio 2
- ASUS Noise Filter
http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?mo...11&l3=572&l4=0

SupremeFX is Realtek? I haven't been able to find much on exactly who makes it, just been trusting drivers off Asus website.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 12:43 PM   #280
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: Mass Effect (PC) Feedback Thread

SupremeFX has ADI chip (Analog Devices Inc.)
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 12:49 PM   #281
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Mass Effect (PC) Feedback Thread

Ok, I didn't know what ADI stood for

That explains the inclusion into the install then, unless I can install driver only manually. I'll try that after work today. Thanks man.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 03:43 PM   #282
Acid Rain
What a sweet little...
 
Acid Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Coast, USA.
Posts: 1,248
Default Re: Mass Effect (PC) Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK4 View Post
This game looks incredible !!! Facial animations and all that talking !!! Incredible...
Almost like it is not UE3
Best console to PC game ever. Damn, these people do some good work.
__________________
MY PIG
MB: GA-EP45-UD3P
CPU: Q6600 (SLACR)
RAM: 4GB KHX6400D2LLK2
3D Porkware: Radeon HD 4890
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 with MSE
Aux Equipment: Phase-B Nanocycloptics
Acid Rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 03:45 PM   #283
JigenD
Registered User
 
JigenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,070
Default Re: Mass Effect (PC) Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Acid Rain View Post
Best console to PC game ever.
Now that's kind of crazy. What about all the console to PC ports that had added content, features, and all of that?
JigenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 03:48 PM   #284
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Mass Effect (PC) Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
Ok, I didn't know what ADI stood for

That explains the inclusion into the install then, unless I can install driver only manually. I'll try that after work today. Thanks man.
Is it possible to just stop the app from running?
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-02-08, 04:28 PM   #285
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Mass Effect (PC) Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Is it possible to just stop the app from running?
It is, but all that happens is the tray icon is disabled. Maddening, that's what this is.

Even the readme (which I should have done before) states they are installed together, no "driver only" installation available.

new game I can't play. Bwah.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 04:52 PM   #286
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Mass Effect (PC) Feedback Thread

If anyone with an X-Fi card is having problems getting surround sound working in this game, this worked for me:

http://masseffect.bioware.com/forums...forum=127&sp=0


Quote:
Well I finish installing the game today and notice no 5.1 effect on my speakers. I checked the forums and it seemed many people have this issue. Well you guys are lucky today because here's a fix that works for Mass Effect. If your a creative SB X-fi User like myself copy and paste:
UseEAX=True
Use3DSound=True
UseDefaultDriver=True
MaxEAXVersion=5
UsePrecache=True
MaxChannels=128
CompatibilityMode=False
UseFilter=True
UseReverb=True
TimeBetweenHWUpdates=15
UseEffectsProcessing=False
LowQualitySound=False
DisablePitch=False
OutputRate=48kHz
MinOggVorbisDurationGame=20
MinOggVorbisDurationEditor=4
NoHALSupport0=RealTek AC97
NoHALSupport1=SigmaTel Audio
NoHALSupport2=Realtek HD Audio output
NoHALSupport3=Sound Blaster Audigy
NoHALSupport4=SB Audigy
//DeviceName=
DeviceName=

to your documents/BioWare/Mass Effect/Config/BIOEngine folder under [ISACTAudio.ISACTAudioDevice].

It should then look like this:
[ISACTAudio.ISACTAudioDevice]
UseEAX=True
Use3DSound=True
UseDefaultDriver=True
MaxEAXVersion=5
UsePrecache=True
MaxChannels=128
CompatibilityMode=False
UseFilter=True
UseReverb=True
TimeBetweenHWUpdates=15
UseEffectsProcessing=False
LowQualitySound=False
DisablePitch=False
OutputRate=48kHz
MinOggVorbisDurationGame=20
MinOggVorbisDurationEditor=4
NoHALSupport0=RealTek AC97
NoHALSupport1=SigmaTel Audio
NoHALSupport2=Realtek HD Audio output
NoHALSupport3=Sound Blaster Audigy
NoHALSupport4=SB Audigy
//DeviceName=
DeviceName=

Save the file.
Copied and pasted those lines and it works fine.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 05:04 PM   #287
Severian126
Y SO SRS?
 
Severian126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 973
Default Re: Mass Effect (PC) Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjaman09 View Post
It definitely takes some getting used to. Once you get a good grasp of the controls it's easy to move around on uncharted worlds but even then it can be hard to maneuver on some of the plot worlds.

BTW finished my first "good guy" playthrough, can't decide on my class for the next - I just used the default John Shepard for the first one. I'm thinking female this time and either an engineer or a biotic. Or maybe I'll play my first guy on a replay to get to level 60...can't decide.
I'm playing as a good guy Vangaurd this play through. I've toyed around with every class, and so far this is my favorite.

Lift + Shotgun blast = fun.
__________________
Chassis: Alienware P2 ALX Chassis
OS: Vista 32
Graphics Processor: 2x 768MB NVIDIA GeForce 8800 Ultra - SLI Enabled
Processor: Core 2 Extreme QX6850 3.0GHz 8MB Cache 1066MHz FSB - OC @ 3.2 GHz Liquid Cooled
Memory: 4GB Low Latency DDR2 Performance SDRAM at 1066MHz - 2 x 1024MB
Motherboard: NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI Motherboard
System Drive: Extreme Performance (RAID 0) - 320GB (2 x 160GB) Serial ATA 1.5Gb/s 10,000 RPM w/ 2 x 16MB Cache
Storage Drive: 500GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s 7,200 RPM w/ 16MB Cache
Power Supply: Alienware® 1000 Watt Multi-GPU Approved Power Supply
Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster X-FI


XBOX LIVE: Kungfujoe126 - Catch me on NBA 2K9!
PSN: Severian126
Steam: Sever126

Currently Playing: Fallout 3 (PC), NBA 2k9! (360), Dead Space (PS3), Silent Hill Homecomings (360), Fable 2 (360)

Quote:
Do you know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with until you understand who is in command here.
Severian126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 05:22 PM   #288
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Mass Effect (PC) Feedback Thread

Got mine fixed. Installed the latest drivers for the P5E from Asus.
Version V6.10.0x.6260
http://support.asus.com/download/dow...map&mapindex=3

If I leave the soundmax app open while launching the game, it works. if I close it it doesn't. Screwy, but repeatable.

Game looks beautiful!
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BioWare Calibrates Mass Effect Extended Cut For June 26 News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-23-12 04:30 AM
Mass Effect 3 trailer shows free Rebellion pack weapons and characters, electric whip News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-30-12 08:30 AM
Space Punk's Not Dead: Mass Effect 3â?˛s Rebellion DLC News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-26-12 06:00 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.