Go Back   nV News Forums > Website Related > Feedback Forum

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-24-08, 08:16 AM   #1
Imbroglio
xeroyphyte
 
Imbroglio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,271
Default fix my PM's please

help.....

__________________

HT: 360 -- Sony60A3000 -- Onkyo SR605 --> Polk cs2, monitor 60s and monitor 40s w/ Bic F12 sub -- PS3
XBL:Mr X3r0 -- PSN:Mr_X3r0

Rig- Asus P6X58D Premium - intel i7 920 @3.6 - EVGA GTX570 - Corsair HX1000 - Prolimatech Mega Shadow - WD640 - COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 - OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3 1600*

Imbroglio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-08, 09:11 AM   #2
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: fix my PM's please

Try logging off of the forums and logging back on. I've seen people post about this several times. I'm not sure how they fixed it.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-08, 10:37 AM   #3
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: fix my PM's please

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Try logging off of the forums and logging back on. I've seen people post about this several times. I'm not sure how they fixed it.
I think its time for Mikec to upgrade the forum software...that should fix it once and for all...
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-08, 11:58 AM   #4
Imbroglio
xeroyphyte
 
Imbroglio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,271
Default Re: fix my PM's please

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Try logging off of the forums and logging back on. I've seen people post about this several times. I'm not sure how they fixed it.

logging off and on doesn't work


65535 is a 32 bit representation of -1 as an unsigned int, so I don't know what software you are using but my -1 unread messages are causing an issue. I'm not familiar enough with vbulletin to give any advice on how to correct it. Just thought that info may help.
__________________

HT: 360 -- Sony60A3000 -- Onkyo SR605 --> Polk cs2, monitor 60s and monitor 40s w/ Bic F12 sub -- PS3
XBL:Mr X3r0 -- PSN:Mr_X3r0

Rig- Asus P6X58D Premium - intel i7 920 @3.6 - EVGA GTX570 - Corsair HX1000 - Prolimatech Mega Shadow - WD640 - COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 - OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3 1600*

Imbroglio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-08, 01:29 PM   #5
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: fix my PM's please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imbroglio
logging off and on doesn't work


65535 is a 32 bit representation of -1 as an unsigned int, so I don't know what software you are using but my -1 unread messages are causing an issue. I'm not familiar enough with vbulletin to give any advice on how to correct it. Just thought that info may help.
heh i bet some piece of code in vbulletin subtracts the unread msg count by one and it executed twice due to some small error. voila, a -1 unread msg count.

probably just need to look in the DB.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-08, 01:51 PM   #6
evox
:3
 
evox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: India
Posts: 2,254
Default Re: fix my PM's please

Kinda off topic, but this vB version is quite old. MikC should upgrade to latest 3.7 version.
evox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-08, 03:13 PM   #7
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: fix my PM's please

Quote:
Originally Posted by evox
Kinda off topic, but this vB version is quite old. MikC should upgrade to latest 3.7 version.
ya i agree but mike's a busy man with a wife and kids so im sure to sit down and get it done would be quite involved. i wish i knew the software and platform they are running here or i would do it for him.
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-08, 03:20 PM   #8
evox
:3
 
evox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: India
Posts: 2,254
Default Re: fix my PM's please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runningman
ya i agree but mike's a busy man with a wife and kids so im sure to sit down and get it done would be quite involved. i wish i knew the software and platform they are running here or i would do it for him.
Linux with Apache.

http://toolbar.netcraft.com/site_rep...www.nvnews.net
evox is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-24-08, 03:39 PM   #9
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: fix my PM's please

Quote:
Originally Posted by evox
ya i know, me and apache dont get along to well....lol...
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-08, 03:42 PM   #10
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: fix my PM's please

hmmm i was just thinking, why doenst mikec just go over to the vbulltin guys and see if he could just pay one of them to get the upgrade done. i mean what would it cost maybe 100$ or 200$ and a few hours of down time.....just a thought...
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-08, 05:14 PM   #11
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: fix my PM's please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runningman
hmmm i was just thinking, why doenst mikec just go over to the vbulltin guys and see if he could just pay one of them to get the upgrade done. i mean what would it cost maybe 100$ or 200$ and a few hours of down time.....just a thought...
And if he can't afford it I'm sure most here wouldn't mind donating some cash. $20 or even $5 from each of us would more than cover it (assuming you're correct with the price).
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-08, 07:01 PM   #12
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: fix my PM's please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
And if he can't afford it I'm sure most here wouldn't mind donating some cash. $20 or even $5 from each of us would more than cover it (assuming you're correct with the price).
i would donate cash or he could even sell some shirts...i figure 8+ years here, i might give something back to the site....
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI overscan fix for multiple resolutions + Zod Engine Problem. cheechr1 NVIDIA Linux 0 06-11-12 02:27 PM
Jester2K Detonator 30.xx To 40.xx Control Panel Fix sh*tshot NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 1 10-06-02 02:36 AM
QIII engines & Dets 40.41 "darkness" fix... sisi NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 6 09-03-02 04:55 AM
New 40.41 refresh rate fix ???? Smokey NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 8 08-30-02 01:32 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.