Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-27-08, 07:39 PM   #13
wrathofgod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 364
Default Re: this game and vi$ta

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony
BS... There's like one FPS difference in Crysis. And that was when Crysis first came out. I doubt you have that even now, that one FPS difference. I've checked too... There is no difference...
Gotta go with Loreman on this. I also see a significant improvement in FPS in XP over Vista 64 playing Crysis.

I pretty much only use Vista 64 for the editor. It's more stable in Vista 64 (using 32 bit version of editor).
wrathofgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-08, 08:31 PM   #14
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: this game and vi$ta

DX9 I am running exactly as it does in XP Pro X86 - Using 175.63 driver set.

DX10 - Lol, nope.

EDIT: Loreman, just noticed you're using 32 bit. Most everyone I chat with are having the same Vista experience I am, however we all use 64 bit. That could be a big factor.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-08, 11:51 PM   #15
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: this game and vi$ta

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathofgod
Gotta go with Loreman on this. I also see a significant improvement in FPS in XP over Vista 64 playing Crysis.

I pretty much only use Vista 64 for the editor. It's more stable in Vista 64 (using 32 bit version of editor).
as do 90% of the people who play crysis. hell go browse crymod forums and see how many people agree. but i guess they are all spreading fud too according to tony. its a worldwide fud conspiracy!!!!!!
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-08, 02:20 AM   #16
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: this game and vi$ta

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
DX9 I am running exactly as it does in XP Pro X86 - Using 175.63 driver set.

DX10 - Lol, nope.

EDIT: Loreman, just noticed you're using 32 bit. Most everyone I chat with are having the same Vista experience I am, however we all use 64 bit. That could be a big factor.
That is most likely the case is that it has something to do with DX9 versus DX10.

@Loreman: Do you have a 680i or 780i board with 4GB of ram? There is an issue with DX10 + 4GB ram + SLI that basically cripples the FPS. If you take any one of those items out of the equation it will perform better. (It has something to do with a few hotfixes in Vista. If you install SP1 it automatically installs one of the hotfixes) Turning off SLI when using DX10 I can actually run the benchmark. If I run the benchmark in Vista 64 with DX9 SLI I get pretty decent fps on my system.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-08, 08:18 AM   #17
Loreman
Shred Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Default Re: this game and vi$ta

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121
That is most likely the case is that it has something to do with DX9 versus DX10.

@Loreman: Do you have a 680i or 780i board with 4GB of ram? There is an issue with DX10 + 4GB ram + SLI that basically cripples the FPS. If you take any one of those items out of the equation it will perform better. (It has something to do with a few hotfixes in Vista. If you install SP1 it automatically installs one of the hotfixes) Turning off SLI when using DX10 I can actually run the benchmark. If I run the benchmark in Vista 64 with DX9 SLI I get pretty decent fps on my system.
2GB of ram. FPS isn't crippled, just less. I find this is a general theme across the board with Vista, not just in Crysis.

I actually like Vista in terms of the interface, and it is better to do pro audio apps on it than XP (well it will be when they sort out the drivers, if ever, which I feel is the real issue with Vista), just gaming performance is down fairly consistently. Even when the frames show as being the same, Vista seems to be so more jerky and shuddery than the equivalent in XP.

I wish it was better, I would use it all the time.
__________________
Core 2 E6700
2 Gig Ram
Creative X-FI
2 x Leadtek 8800GTX SLI
Loreman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-08, 08:31 AM   #18
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: this game and vi$ta

Runs fine here, Vista x64 Ultimate. I run it in 32-bit DX9 though (sometimes DX10).

The 64bit Crysis client doesn't seem as stable.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-08, 11:38 AM   #19
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: this game and vi$ta

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dude
as do 90% of the people who play crysis. hell go browse crymod forums and see how many people agree. but i guess they are all spreading fud too according to tony. its a worldwide fud conspiracy!!!!!!
BTW, I hope you didn't take my comment the wrong way. No hard feelings or anything, just making healthy conversation. You know that mate, yes?
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-08, 11:32 PM   #20
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: this game and vi$ta

DX10/veryhigh motion blur in Vista is simply awesome, however, Vista does run a bit slower.

Even XP tweaks cannot give you DX10/Vista motion blur.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-29-08, 12:10 AM   #21
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: this game and vi$ta

ive been running crysis in vista64 now (@very high), and its running alot better then back when crysis first came out. Can't really use my monitors native res, but 1280x720 is pretty damn smooth.
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-08, 02:25 AM   #22
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: this game and vi$ta

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoudazo
DX10/veryhigh motion blur in Vista is simply awesome, however, Vista does run a bit slower.

Even XP tweaks cannot give you DX10/Vista motion blur.
if u mean object motion blur, u can get that in dx9 on xp.

q_renderer=3
r_motionblur=5

i think thats it. u might need q_shaderpostprocess=3 as well.
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-08, 02:46 AM   #23
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: this game and vi$ta

m3dude, I think it was shown that the shader used for blurring in dx10 mode seemed just plain look better (atleast when screenshoted). Its a different shader, but no in what it blurrs, only how it looks.
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-08, 08:51 AM   #24
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: this game and vi$ta

that may be, there are some improvements dx 10 brings that cant be replicated in dx 9. more accurate hdr and lighting, no object materialization, and built in foliage aa to name a few.
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.