Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-29-08, 06:59 AM   #13
Kirurgs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 165
Default Re: [Flash and nvidia] Fulscreen very choppy

Quote:
Originally Posted by kriko
@Kirurgs: what is quite good? What resolution?
I have 1600x1200.
1680x1050, Fedora8, FF3RC1, Flash10, T61 (C2D 2.2GHz, NVS140M, 2Gb) YouTube videos run really fine, meanwhile one core is busy ~ 50% with full screen, but video is smooth and not stuttering.
Kirurgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-08, 06:03 PM   #14
macemoneta
Registered User
 
macemoneta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 159
Default Re: [Flash and nvidia] Fulscreen very choppy

The problem is the Adobe Flash plugin on Linux.

If you download the .flv from YouTube (with Downloadhelper, for example), then play it with mplayer, it plays fine. Fullscreen, no choppiness - even on my 8-year old 32MB 440Go, 1.7GHz P4M. CPU only runs at about 30% on that old hardware with fullscreen playback (on a 1920x1200 external monitor).

Try to play that same .flv with the Flash plugin, and CPU is at 100% with the little window. Fullscreen turns into a (slow) slide show. Obviously, no hardware acceleration. Adobe says the .flv creators need to change the content to use hardware acceleration (what?). BS, as other players can do this without a problem.

Go gripe to Adobe about their crummy software. I don't see Nvidia being at fault here.
macemoneta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-08, 07:44 PM   #15
jcornwall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 120
Default Re: [Flash and nvidia] Fulscreen very choppy

Quote:
Originally Posted by macemoneta
Go gripe to Adobe about their crummy software. I don't see Nvidia being at fault here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriko
However today at work I was shocked, because on an cheap intel integrated graphichs was running super-smooth at fullscreen (1280x1024)!
(And I've had this working fine on older NVIDIA cards, too.)

Sure, Adobe are using a different rendering pipeline from other players. This doesn't change the fact that the pipeline worked on older hardware/drivers but doesn't any more.
jcornwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-08, 09:58 PM   #16
hyfans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 75
Default Re: [Flash and nvidia] Fulscreen very choppy

no problem here:

flashplayer plugin 10 beta+Arch linux+173.14.05 (amd x2 3600+ 8500GT)
hyfans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-08, 11:30 PM   #17
Dâniel Fraga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to Dâniel Fraga Send a message via MSN to Dâniel Fraga Send a message via Yahoo to Dâniel Fraga Send a message via Skype™ to Dâniel Fraga
Default Re: [Flash and nvidia] Fulscreen very choppy

http://blogs.adobe.com/penguin.swf/2...s_the_gpu.html

I don't know if you use Compiz or some composite manager, but Flash can't use the GPU if you use a composite manager like Compiz Fusion. Very bad, it's a shame for Adobe developers who are unable to create a decent plugin for Linux.
Dâniel Fraga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-08, 07:13 AM   #18
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Default Re: [Flash and nvidia] Fulscreen very choppy

Can someone, who is not experiencing problems, post xorg.conf?

I don't use compiz or any kinf of other compositing manager.
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-08, 12:29 PM   #19
macemoneta
Registered User
 
macemoneta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 159
Default Re: [Flash and nvidia] Fulscreen very choppy

Odds are the folks that are not experiencing a problem have sufficiently large CPUs to mask the issue. It's not a configuration issue, it's just throwing enough hardware at a software problem to "solve" it.
macemoneta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-08, 06:27 PM   #20
Kirurgs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 165
Default Re: [Flash and nvidia] Fulscreen very choppy

So, there is a problem with flash.
Previously I posted that F8 x86_64 with my hardware was running fine with flash fullscreen. Yes it was!!! Now I had to install and use F8 i686 (due to java issues in 64bit and other things), so in i686 fullscreen flash is pain in the a...s...
So, is this computing power of 64bit saving design issue with 32bit?
Kirurgs is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-01-08, 01:11 AM   #21
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Default Re: [Flash and nvidia] Fulscreen very choppy

I don't know.
There is one detail that I missed - at my work (I inspected that machine now) it is a dual CPU (pentium M) machine, so it is probably cpu doing it's job instead of graphics (probably).
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-08, 04:44 PM   #22
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Default Re: [Flash and nvidia] Fulscreen very choppy

Anyone tried newer release of flash plugin:
http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/flashplayer10/

Here the situation is much better now @1600x1200 - even when using desktop effects on KDE4.
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-08, 01:24 AM   #23
gbil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: [Flash and nvidia] Fulscreen very choppy

Flash 10 beta1 was a bit smoother than flash 9. I'll try beta2 when I'm home maybe it has some improvements.
gbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-09, 06:49 PM   #24
creepytennis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: [Flash and nvidia] Fulscreen very choppy

Hey everyone.

I managed to solve this issue. I have Intel 915GM graphics.

This adobe blog is really the key:

http://blogs.adobe.com/penguin.swf/2...s_the_gpu.html

The flash player does the unbelievably brain dead thing of checking the glxinfo vendor strings to make sure they do *not* contain the string "SGI". Flash hardware acceleration will only be enabled if the vendor strings do not contain the string "SGI". Incredible, huh? I guess this is the kind of idiocy we've got to contend with in closed-source binary blobs.

The advice given in one of the comments actually worked for me. Specifically, use a hex editor (such as 'ghex') to alter these two binaries:

/usr/lib/libGL.so.1.2
/usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/libglx.so

(or the actual binaries these files link to, if they are symbolc links. They were links on my system.)

They each contain one instance of "<null>SGI<null>" (plenty of the string "SGI" in other contexts, but ignore these). Change the single instance in each file to "<null>ATI<null>". Restart X, and you may just have hardware accellerated flash. It worked for me.

creepytennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.