Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-08, 04:15 PM   #1
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post Vista SP1 troubles

I've been getting random bsods regardless of ram used, clock settings, gaming or otherwise.

The shop I got my mobo from says since that's been released they've been getting quite a few rigs in for bsod repair, and rolling back to pre-SP1 is fixing it. So I'm trying that now and will report back later.

Anyone else had trouble after installing SP1?

Funny thing is it was fine on my P35 chipset, no issues. Not so with the X38 - IF SP1 is eally the issue.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-08, 04:49 PM   #2
dxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 490
Default Re: Vista SP1 troubles

My system - E8400, P35 Asus P5K, 2x PNY 2GB and 2x Aenon 1GB DDR2 800 modules - never BSODs. Not before SP1, not after either. Sever 2008, which I have running on my Sempr0n 3400 / nforce4 system, is equally immune to error. The SP1 codebase seems fairly solid from what I can tell from my systems.

Do the event logs tell you anything useful about the crashes? Have you reinstalled the Inf drivers and everything else? Try booting SP1 into safe mode with networking and see if it still BSODs. If it does, it's probably a driver or a TSR that's causing trouble.
dxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-08, 06:00 PM   #3
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Vista SP1 troubles

I have been running SP1 RTM since late January and only had about 3-4 BSOD, but that was when my 8800GTX started failing and causing artifacts. Card was replaced 3-4 days after the getting RMA, and its been clear sailing after that.

Do the BSOD point in any direction? My 3rd PC aka family PC had some BSOD recently that i fixed, and those were caused by Wi-Fi driver from windows updates, was quite easy to diagnose since BSOD were pointing the a DLL that was part of the driver.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-08, 07:13 PM   #4
LovingSticky
plenty of work, no games
 
LovingSticky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 559
Default Re: Vista SP1 troubles

Running SP1 since late January as well, with only one BSOD (due to faulty Leadtek 9800GX2 card, immediately replaced by Asus model). Very happy with SP1, whatever I do, it is rock stable. Very reliable machine / OS.

(I am an update freak, all my drivers, BIOS, apps, codecs, etc., are in latest versions)
__________________
Q9550@3.4 + Asus P5Q Premium + 16GB RAM + 2xVelociraptor 300GB + 4xWD Black 1TB RAID-5 on Adaptec 5805 + PoV GTX580 + Dell 3008WFP + Windows 7 x64
Xbox 360 Elite + Kinect + Onkyo receiver + Acoustic Energy Aelite 1/3/center speakers + 46" FullHD Samsung TV
LovingSticky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-08, 07:43 PM   #5
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Vista SP1 troubles

Since installing SP1 I have had zero BSODs, and I think I may have only had one since using Vista fulltime from July last year.
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-08, 07:48 PM   #6
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vista SP1 troubles

Thanks for the replies - The STOP is a blanket, cover everything message that suggests ram, then video card, then drivers then other software.

So far 2 different brands and amounts/configs of ram.

Vid drivers have been solid for me prior to this board so I left those.

I now have SP1 rolled back, the 4gb of Mushkin back in with only the 4gb hotfix installed.

Weird, it was rock solid on my P35. Well..I'll bench it and leave it with Orthos overnight..see what happens.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-08, 02:41 AM   #7
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Vista SP1 troubles

Recently I've had a few BSODs in Vista caused by the Kaspersky Internet Security software.

Download and install Windows debugging tools (Windbg), so you can look at the small memory dump files for clues.

Follow the instructions here:
http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/devtoo...ebugstart.mspx

The dump files are located at your \windows\minidump directory.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-08, 04:43 AM   #8
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vista SP1 troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuro
Recently I've had a few BSODs in Vista caused by the Kaspersky Internet Security software.

Download and install Windows debugging tools (Windbg), so you can look at the small memory dump files for clues.

Follow the instructions here:
http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/devtoo...ebugstart.mspx

The dump files are located at your \windows\minidump directory.
THANK YOU!!!!

This has been making me crazy - Windbg took about 2 seconds and pointed right to the Marvel Ethernet controller's driver, which makes sense since the majority of crashes so far have been when drivers would be initializing during boot or just plain old surfing the net.

Now I do what I usually don't and try the driver release showing on windows update. Thanks again Amuro!



*crosses fingers*
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-31-08, 06:26 AM   #9
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,068
Default Re: Vista SP1 troubles

or go to the ASUS site and get the right driver.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-08, 07:16 AM   #10
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vista SP1 troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
or go to the ASUS site and get the right driver.
LoL, that's where I got it from. I generally avoid driver updates from windows update, but those are the only ones I haven't tried.

So..more bsod fun since last post and 2 newest drivers I could find. It's not SP1 and I've tried 3 different versions of the marvel driver.

Yah, puter may go out the window before the day is done.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-08, 07:29 AM   #11
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Vista SP1 troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
THANK YOU!!!!

This has been making me crazy - Windbg took about 2 seconds and pointed right to the Marvel Ethernet controller's driver, which makes sense since the majority of crashes so far have been when drivers would be initializing during boot or just plain old surfing the net.

Now I do what I usually don't and try the driver release showing on windows update. Thanks again Amuro!



*crosses fingers*
No problem! Hope you get it solved soon.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-08, 07:44 AM   #12
rflair
W OOO OOO
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 714
Default Re: Vista SP1 troubles

Try resetting Vista's stack, open a CMD window (DOS), type, netsh winsock reset .

May not be your problem, but resetting the stack helps many problems with internet/NIC drivers.

You could also try, netsh winhttp reset since you mention crashes while surfing, but I would try the first one.

Could it be a faulty CAT5/6 cable? And if you have a spare NIC card around, or your mobo has two NIC cards in it maybe try a different NIC. I like on board NIC cards but hate when they go faulty.
__________________
Vista x64
Intel Q6600 (3.6GHz 1.45v)
ATI 4890
Sharp Aquos 42" 1080p
ASUS P5K-E
8.0G OCZ RAM
Rig is ON 24/7
rflair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
After SP1 all games crash Creole Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 4 09-24-02 12:53 PM
On remove program after SP1 install john19055 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 1 09-22-02 09:36 PM
New Dets and WinXP Sp1 NO more TV OUT Firetripper NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 1 09-11-02 08:08 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.