Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-01-08, 05:24 PM   #1
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default XP x64 SP2

Due to the fact that my CD became cracked, I want to replace it, but everytime that I look at the Windows specs I get confused with some of their terms. For instance, what does DSP mean? When I Google it, I only find reference to digital signal processing...does this relate? Many of the versions offered say nothing about SP2, which I consider essential, so I assume that they are simply SP1. However, I noticed that the ones that did state the SP said SP2c...is that different than SP2? I once called MS to clarify some of my questions, but that did not help at all. All that I got was alot of vague responses.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-08, 05:42 PM   #2
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: XP x64 SP2

SP2c is for XP only, not XP64. I believe the c portion only added some valid serial numbers for volume customers.

DSP info:
http://www.xxera.com/faqs/faq_s4.html
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-08, 05:58 PM   #3
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: XP x64 SP2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Q
SP2c is for XP only, not XP64. I believe the c portion only added some valid serial numbers for volume customers.

DSP info:
http://www.xxera.com/faqs/faq_s4.html
Your link answered my question regarding DSP...thanks, and you may be correct about SP2c, but take a look at this link, and you will see that it is speaking of XP x64 SP2c:

http://www.pricewatch.com/public/inf...73401&a=267051
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-08, 06:31 PM   #4
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: XP x64 SP2

Quote:
Originally Posted by seeker
Your link answered my question regarding DSP...thanks, and you may be correct about SP2c, but take a look at this link, and you will see that it is speaking of XP x64 SP2c:

http://www.pricewatch.com/public/inf...73401&a=267051
http://microsoft.blognewschannel.com...ndows-xp-sp2c/
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-08, 06:51 PM   #5
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: XP x64 SP2

Assuming that blog is accurate, it would appear that you are correct...but the link that I gave is only an example, there are many more that also say that they offer XP x64 SP2c, so I am still a bit confused. Since that blog is a bit dated and XP 32 bit is now going to SP3, it leaves the label SP2c is somewhat of a limbo.

My current installation only says that it is SP2, but I guess that it wouldn't pose any problem in terms of compatabllity...I hope. It's probably just a matter of alot of oblivious venders, but if they are wrong on this, I'm a bit wary to trust them not to sell me a copy of SP1.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 08:16 AM   #6
S.SubZero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 124
Default Re: XP x64 SP2

The "c" thing is not something the end user will ever see. It's not identified anywhere. All it is, is XP with a new key algorithm. The software itself does not identify itself as "c".

As for XP64, there's no "c" since the key volume is relatively small in comparison to XP32. XP64 comes in OEM and volume license versions, and that's it. There's no retail.
S.SubZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-08, 03:33 PM   #7
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: XP x64 SP2

After shopping around, I have found that there is a significant difference in price between OEM and NFR versions of the OS. Actually, my current installation of x64 is NFR, but even though I once called MS about it, I have never really understood this. Googling, I found some items that seemed to infer that NFR was a grey market item, but when speaking with MS or the retailers offering it, I was not given this impression. Is this something to be concerned about, or is it just another marketing tactic?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-08, 01:06 PM   #8
S.SubZero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 124
Default Re: XP x64 SP2

Code-wise there's probably nothing different, the most there would be is the key generation. OEM is what is sold on systems, while NFR is what one would get at a trade show or some other "legally free" way. I have Vista and Server 2008 NFR from the "Heroes Happen Here" event a couple of months ago. NFR stuff isn't meant to be sold, period. OEM stuff just isn't meant to be sold by itself.
S.SubZero is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-08, 02:05 PM   #9
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: XP x64 SP2

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.SubZero View Post
Code-wise there's probably nothing different, the most there would be is the key generation. OEM is what is sold on systems, while NFR is what one would get at a trade show or some other "legally free" way. I have Vista and Server 2008 NFR from the "Heroes Happen Here" event a couple of months ago. NFR stuff isn't meant to be sold, period. OEM stuff just isn't meant to be sold by itself.
That may be what is intended for NFR, but on occassion I hasve found NFRs available online cheaper than OEM.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.