Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-08, 12:31 PM   #1
eXeraZoR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 146
Default No Patch = No Ultra Settings

So they decided to dont Patch Crysis.

So what is with the Patch which brings ULTRA Settings for Crysis?

An how can i enable myself the ULTRA settings?
And the 2048x2048 Shadows?
In earlier Versions they was a config where i could change this but in the new config i cant change anything.
I will go to tweakguides.com. Maybe i find there some info.
eXeraZoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-08, 01:03 PM   #2
*magic*
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 23
Default Re: No Patch = No Ultra Settings

there are rumors that crytek will release a official texture update but this will definitely take some time.
Patch 1.3 was mainly adressed to the multiplayer so no ultra mode anyway.
and I cant believe that there will be never some fixes for the editor,the engine and the SP.
I dont think the support is totally dead but there will be pass some time.

The are three configs which bring the best graphical settings :

http://www.crymod.com/filebase.php?fileid=491&lim=0
http://www.crymod.com/filebase.php?fileid=864&lim=0 (take the highest level)
http://files.filefront.com/Mster+Con.../fileinfo.html

You can try them all out and decide.

And the command for changing the texture size of the shadows is :
e_shadows_max_texture_size
*magic* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 12:40 AM   #3
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: No Patch = No Ultra Settings

Maybe if we had a GPU maker that actually released faster cards Crytek would have a reason to release some more features!
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 05:27 PM   #4
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: No Patch = No Ultra Settings

dont bother with setting your shadow resolution past 1024. Anything higher looks unrealistic and destroys your frame rate.

Now which of these look most like shadows in real life and which of these frame rates would you rather have?

2048



1024



768

__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 07:04 PM   #5
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: No Patch = No Ultra Settings

i likey the last picture best

mesa gonna install a bombastic crysis setup

mesa jar jar binks swedish relative
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 07:04 PM   #6
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: No Patch = No Ultra Settings

nice shots last = best
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 08:00 PM   #7
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: No Patch = No Ultra Settings

I agree.. last looks best. shadows lose their focus the farther the caster is from the shadow. Since those leaves are no where near the ground, they should be blurry as hell.
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-08, 09:51 AM   #8
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: No Patch = No Ultra Settings

truth be told, the 1028 is the best IMO. In that particular shot, yah the lowest looks best but due to the absurd mile long shadows that palm trees cast on the ground in the game, 768 shadows make those look wierd and 1028 looks best for that. It's just one thing in a long list of things I wish crytek could have just taken a step back and said "you know, this looks nothing like real shadows...we should fix this"

but no... If there were a way to have the shadow resolution progressively go from highest nearest the object to less as it gets further away, it's like a no brainer in my mind but they must have their reasons.

Valve figured it out though...
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-16-08, 06:22 AM   #9
eXeraZoR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 146
Default Re: No Patch = No Ultra Settings

What is the default setting for e_shadows_max_texture_size when running crysis in DX10 in very high on 64bit?


1028 i think?
eXeraZoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 06:49 AM   #10
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: No Patch = No Ultra Settings

The Ultra settings are saved for the expansion.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 06:54 AM   #11
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: No Patch = No Ultra Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64 View Post
The Ultra settings are saved for the expansion.
Works cited please
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 07:04 AM   #12
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: No Patch = No Ultra Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar View Post
Works cited please
I'm just guessing
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max Payne 3 patch makes Max skinnier News Archived News Items 0 06-07-12 07:50 AM
AMD kernel patch question redmoose NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 08:16 PM
Soldier of Fortune 2 patch -=DVS=- Gaming Central 7 07-30-02 03:31 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.