Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-08, 02:07 PM   #1
Medion
 
Medion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Barksdale AFB, La
Posts: 1,238
Default Two Vista related questions

1 - I have 4GB system RAM and a GPU with 512. If I view "system" it shows 4.00GB. However, if I open dxdiag, I get this:

Memory - 2814MB
Video - 1648MB

I've heard that Vista is flexible with how it allocates the memory, so I'm assuming that this is a "base" settings, but if I were to need more of one type of memory, it would change the allocation to match. Can anyone confirm this, or should I be conerned?

2 - I used to network an external HDD off my WinXP machine. I'd just share it, and any PC connected to my network could access the HDD. If I were to turn it off and back on, or restart my PC, it would still network.

However with Vista, when I share it, turning it off or rebooting causes it not to share anymore, and I have to go through sharing it again. Is there anyway to permanently share th device?
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-08, 02:39 PM   #2
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Two Vista related questions

what does performance monitor and/or cpuz show?
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-08, 04:52 PM   #3
Medion
 
Medion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Barksdale AFB, La
Posts: 1,238
Default Re: Two Vista related questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
what does performance monitor and/or cpuz show?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CPU.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	56.0 KB
ID:	31746  Click image for larger version

Name:	mobo.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	41.3 KB
ID:	31747  Click image for larger version

Name:	ram.jpg
Views:	289
Size:	40.0 KB
ID:	31748  
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-08, 07:27 PM   #4
Medion
 
Medion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Barksdale AFB, La
Posts: 1,238
Default Re: Two Vista related questions

Fixed the networking issue, had to put both PCs under the same workgroup name (by default, Vista and XP are "WORKGROUP" and "MSHOME" respectively).

Just awaiting any input on the memory.
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 08:30 PM   #5
Medion
 
Medion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Barksdale AFB, La
Posts: 1,238
Default Re: Two Vista related questions

Actually, networking issue remains.
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 12:42 AM   #6
Medion
 
Medion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Barksdale AFB, La
Posts: 1,238
Default Re: Two Vista related questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
ok, umm go to contol+alt+delete, task manager, then performance, how much does it show there? plus i am not sure what dxdiag is
Pretty much figured out my first assumption is correct. It takes a percentage of total system memory (in this case, just over 25%) and allocates it as extra video memory. However, if I need more system memory and less video memory, it re-allocates on the fly. It's a good thing

As for dxdiag, do this. Click start > run (if on Vista, type run into the search box, and click "run" when it comes up). In the run box, type "dxdiag" without the quotes. If it asks to check for whql signatures, just click yes. It's a nifty tool
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 01:00 AM   #7
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: Two Vista related questions

try this for the network issue...

http://calypso.tux.org/pipermail/nov...st/006693.html

Microsoft finallly killed off lanman authentication and alot of legacy still relies on this method of authentication.
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 05:30 AM   #8
Fackamato
User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 366
Default Re: Two Vista related questions

To use 4GB of RAM you need a 64bit CPU and 64bit OS. Otherwise the RAM has to share the memory space with all the devices (gfx, sound, onboard stuff etc etc) > you can't use all of your RAM.
Fackamato is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-10-08, 09:24 AM   #9
Badboy_12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Two Vista related questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fackamato View Post
To use 4GB of RAM you need a 64bit CPU and 64bit OS. Otherwise the RAM has to share the memory space with all the devices (gfx, sound, onboard stuff etc etc) > you can't use all of your RAM.
^ what he said
Badboy_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 01:54 PM   #10
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default Re: Two Vista related questions

Is the network share actually unsharing, ie the hand under it disappears after a reboot, or is it just not visible from the XP machine without reseting it up? Are you using "simple folder sharing"?
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 02:21 PM   #11
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: Two Vista related questions

IMO, if you choose to go with Vista, you might aswell go with 64bit.
Unlike XP x64 the driver support is pretty good (prolly as good as the 32bit version).
There are some extra security additions, and mainly you can get the full memory out of 4Gb, specially now with graphics cards have up towards 1Gb of memory.

I finally went and bought Vista Home Premium 64 bit OEM, pretty happy with it, everything running smooth sofar.
DXdiag showing Memory: 4094Mb, Approx Total Memory (In Display): 2284Mb.
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 04:21 PM   #12
Medion
 
Medion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Barksdale AFB, La
Posts: 1,238
Default Re: Two Vista related questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fackamato View Post
To use 4GB of RAM you need a 64bit CPU and 64bit OS. Otherwise the RAM has to share the memory space with all the devices (gfx, sound, onboard stuff etc etc) > you can't use all of your RAM.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badboy_12345 View Post
^ what he said
This is actually incorrect. Vista x86 is capable of reading and utilizing UP TO 4GB system RAM (that's the 32-bit limit). Amounts over 4GB require 64-bit.

In the images below, you can see that my system is detecting all 4GB. I showed the task manager to show that only 2.8GB is being utilized, because 1.2GB is being shared for video, in addition to the 512MB already there.

On the rare occurrence that I go over 2.8GB system RAM needed, it raises that amount by unsharing with the GPU, on the fly. Basically, my system is detecting and using 4GB system RAM and 512MB video RAM, with 1.2GB of system RAM floating back and forth as needed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ram1.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	10.6 KB
ID:	31853  Click image for larger version

Name:	ram2.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	12.6 KB
ID:	31854  Click image for larger version

Name:	ram3.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	3.8 KB
ID:	31855  
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Arma 3 E3 hands-on preview: 8 important questions answered News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
Siggraph 2012 offering five courses related to Khronos Technology News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 09:30 AM
FastM, AdrianHall, Questions About Leadtek TV 2000 Essense General Hardware 3 09-29-02 11:15 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.