Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-10-08, 10:16 PM   #13
Hambone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 260
Default Re: Building a new Rig

I've read around a lot recently so here's the sum of what's in my head:

Q6600 vs E8400

-E8400 faster in games right now (not a lot more)
-Q6600 better long term investment for gaming if you don't plan on rebuilding for another 1-2 years (newer games comming out with quad core support like Alan Wake may run a lot faster on the Q6600 vs the E8400)
-Q6600 provides asmother desktop experience when you combine it with Vista x64 and 4G to 8G or RAM (no matter what you're doing). It's not a massive difference at all but enough to notice the OS is slightly more responsive
-E8400 and Q6600 are both exceptional overclockers
-Some motherboards may need a BIOS update to start with an E8400 in, or may need a BIOS update for them to run properly with an E8400.

Faster games now or a little better future proofing is your main deciding factor I believe. You can't go wrong either way. With either one, you're taking a really big step up in power compared to what you have now.

I went with the Q6600 because I really want to try and go at least a full year before re-building. I bought into the "better future proofing" concept. Maybe I'm an idiot. My sutff (new Ram, Q6600, ABIT IP35 Pro) comes in tomorrow. I can't wait to put it togather. Good luck with your rebuild.
Hambone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 10:03 AM   #14
Eyolan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: Building a new Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hambone View Post
I went with the Q6600 because I really want to try and go at least a full year before re-building. I bought into the "better future proofing" concept. Maybe I'm an idiot. My sutff (new Ram, Q6600, ABIT IP35 Pro) comes in tomorrow. I can't wait to put it togather. Good luck with your rebuild.
Good point, but then again I can always upgrade later when Nehalem is around. Things can only get better the longer one waits.
Eyolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 10:36 AM   #15
Medion
 
Medion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Barksdale AFB, La
Posts: 1,238
Default Re: Building a new Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eyolan View Post
Good point, but then again I can always upgrade later when Nehalem is around. Things can only get better the longer one waits.
Nehalem will require a new socket, which means no mobo, and also DDR3. Just be prepared for that.
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-08, 05:32 PM   #16
Eyolan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: Building a new Rig

Okay here are my specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3Ghz 1333Mhz FSB
Asus P5Q Intel P45 ATX Motherboard
hec ACE580 580W ATX12V Power Supply 100
ATI Radeon HD 4870 (Considering Crossfire)
Area 51 Black Case
2 120mm fans, one for front and one for back
4x1gig of DDR2 800 Ram
Eyolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-08, 02:58 AM   #17
ninelven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 132
Default Re: Building a new Rig

looks good... one question though - what resolution is the monitor you will be using?
ninelven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-08, 07:25 AM   #18
JaxMacFL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 474
Default Re: Building a new Rig

You might consider a 4870x2.
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.8GHz (1.40v) w/NH-D14 - P8P67 WS B3 rev (BIOS 2105) - G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3-1600 16GB (7-8-7-24-2T) - Sapphire 7970 Crossfire w/Xtreme 7970 coolers - OCZ Agility 3 240GB - Dell 3008FPW - SB X-Fi Tit Fatal1ty Pro - Seasonic X-1250W - CM HAF X RC942 - Win 7 HP x64 SP1
JaxMacFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-08, 10:35 AM   #19
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Building a new Rig

how good is 8800Ultra in SLI?
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-08, 08:15 PM   #20
Eyolan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: Building a new Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninelven View Post
looks good... one question though - what resolution is the monitor you will be using?
If I can, I'll be getting 22" at 1620x1050. Otherwise I'll be using my current dual 1280x1024.

As for the x2...it mostly depends on the price and when they release it. I plan on getting the computer within the next two to three months. So I'm hoping they will release it soon.
Eyolan is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-14-08, 03:59 PM   #21
ninelven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 132
Default Re: Building a new Rig

Well, at that resolution there really isn't any point in getting a GTX 260 or 280. I'd guess a single 4870 would be more than sufficient.
ninelven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-08, 04:24 PM   #22
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,726
Default Re: Building a new Rig

If I was building now Id spend a bit more on the PSU.

Something with 8pin graphics plugs between 700 and 1kw

I wouldnt trust that $49 psu as far as I could throw it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninelven View Post
Well, at that resolution there really isn't any point in getting a GTX 260 or 280.
No none at all ,Move along ,Nothing to see...
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-08, 05:10 PM   #23
ninelven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 132
Default Re: Building a new Rig

Ah.... the internet.
ninelven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-08, 12:15 AM   #24
Eyolan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: Building a new Rig

At the resolution I'm planning on running, 1680x1050, is there any reason to consider crossfire and spend more money on a PSU and Mobo that supports it? From what I have gathered, SLI/crossfire are mostly for larger screens, such as 19x12 and up, correct?
Eyolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The PC Gamer Rig: New CPUs, motherboards and more News Archived News Items 0 05-08-12 05:00 PM
Building new computer, need help. LORD-eX-Bu General Hardware 5 09-10-02 05:11 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.