Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-08-08, 11:14 PM   #1
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default Thinking about switching to an Intel chipset...

When I got this board, it was fairly new so I expected some of the issues to be worked out, and I also expected the 9800 GX2 too be on top for a bit longer, and was set on quad SLI. Once I realized however, that the GTX 280 was set for release this month, my quad SLI plans went down the drain, and I will be stepping up to the 280 upon release. I'm tired of the issues with this mobo, the random BSoD's, the RAM problems over DDR2 800, the video corruption issues, etc. It also seems that I don't have much use for an SLI board anymore because it looks like GTX 280 SLI will only be usable on socket 775, not on Nehalem which I will be upgrading to. As a result, I'm considering (painfully I might add) a DDR3 X48 mobo as a replacement until Nehalem.

Any recommendations for an X48? maybe even an X38, needs to be DDR3 as well. I was thinking about the DFI LP UT X48 T3R, or Foxconn BlackOps. For RAM, I plan on getting the 2x2GB G.Skill HZ DDR3 1600. GTX 280 SLI would be nice, as I will be upgrading to a 3008WFP later this summer, and need as much power as possible, but I dont want to just set one card aside when Nehalem comes. Any thoughts on the likelihood of Nvidia selling the SLI license to Intel and allow it on their X58 chipsets?
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 02:59 AM   #2
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Thinking about switching to an Intel chipset...

I, too, feel myself finally getting away from AMD and going Intel. Hopefully soon, but who knows. Thing is, I have no idea what mobo, cup or ram to get.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 04:04 AM   #3
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Thinking about switching to an Intel chipset...

I've had a P35 (Asus Pk5 SE) which I killed during a bios flash, but very easy overclocker, fast and stable as heck, and the X38 in my sig is rapidly becoming my favorite board since I started playing with computers.

The X38 bios has a larger learning curve than even the DFI Expert I had, but well worth it so far.

No regrets on going Intel.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 06:25 AM   #4
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Thinking about switching to an Intel chipset...

i would say is useless upgrade at this time.

1) DDR3 is still useless and crazy expensive
2) nehalem is close
3) why bother with upgrades now?
4) what kind of proof do you have to blame any of your issues on the board?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 07:01 AM   #5
mcolbourn
Time waits for no man!
 
mcolbourn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 736
Default Re: Thinking about switching to an Intel chipset...

I would agree with grey that the X38 is a nice chipset and my DS5 is the best board I have owend.

IMO I would go for an X38 or P45 chipset (you can get both in DDR3 versions) unless you really want the top overclocker possible and then go for an X48 but they are only really the hand picked X38's and not worth the extra cost.
__________________
CPU : Intel Core i7 920 @ 4 Ghz - MOBO : Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R - RAM : Corsair Vengeance 12GB DDR3 PC3-12800 - GPU : Power Color 6970
HD : Crucial m4 128gb (SSD),1TB Samsung F3 & 1TB Samsung F1 - Sound Card : ASUS Xonar DG - Speakers : Logitech Z523 - PSU : CORSAIR Gold AX750 Case : CM 690 II Advanced - Display : Hazro HZ27WC
mcolbourn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 07:05 AM   #6
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Thinking about switching to an Intel chipset...

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
I agree.
And it's always a good time to get rid of a nV crapset board.
haha, you and your crapset, my NV chipset been going strong for close to 2 years now.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 09:54 AM   #7
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,062
Default Re: Thinking about switching to an Intel chipset...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
haha, you and your crapset, my NV chipset been going strong for close to 2 years now.
But you realize you are a minority.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 09:58 AM   #8
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Thinking about switching to an Intel chipset...

i know, there aren't that many Polish people we are minority
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-09-08, 10:20 AM   #9
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,062
Default Re: Thinking about switching to an Intel chipset...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
i know, there aren't that many Polish people we are minority
you dork.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 10:48 AM   #10
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default Re: Thinking about switching to an Intel chipset...

Other users are experiencing stability problems similar to mine with the QX9650 and a 2x2GB ram configuration, it seems to be the perfect storm of issues. I've been following the S2F thread over at XtremeSystems, and numerous people have claimed that their systems were more stable with the exact same hardware at lower voltages, just a different chipset - primarily one from Intel. The video corruption bug is known to be a nforce 700 series problem and ASUS has yet to fix it or respond to my email concerning it. Also, I was interested in a DDR3 board because I could just save the ram for Nehalem, but have the benefit in the Interim. P45 or X38 might be ok, I just want to be able to get the most out of my cpu and ram, and prefer as many options as possible.

Nekrosoft, correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't believe you have an ASUS nforce board do you? I'd probaby be ok with an EVGA nforce board, as many of these issues are unique to the S2F, but with SLI seeming like a waste, I figured I might as well not take a chance and go to Intel.
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 11:00 AM   #11
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Thinking about switching to an Intel chipset...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uberpwnage View Post
Also, I was interested in a DDR3 board because I could just save the ram for Nehalem,

Nekrosoft, correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't believe you have an ASUS nforce board do you? I'd probaby be ok with an EVGA nforce board, as many of these issues are unique to the S2F, but with SLI seeming like a waste, I figured I might as well not take a chance and go to Intel.
yes, i have an EVGA, been very good to me. about the ram, by the time nehalem does come out, there will be better DDR3 and much cheaper DDR3 out. There is no point in waisting money on DDR3 now in hope of future.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 11:09 AM   #12
evox
:3
 
evox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: India
Posts: 2,254
Default Re: Thinking about switching to an Intel chipset...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
yes, i have an EVGA, been very good to me. about the ram, by the time nehalem does come out, there will be better DDR3 and much cheaper DDR3 out. There is no point in waisting money on DDR3 non in hope of future.
+1

Get DDR2, wait for DDR3 to get cheap.
evox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
295.53: the kernel needs "acpi=off", thinkpad T420, nvs 4200M Imbrius NVIDIA Linux 1 05-27-12 06:18 PM
AMD vs Intel druga runda CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 08-20-02 01:09 PM
Thinking about switching back to Windows if I can't get this to work!!! dungscooperdave NVIDIA Linux 7 08-15-02 08:29 AM
Ali M1541 chipset problem perun NVIDIA Linux 3 08-12-02 05:35 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.