Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-10-08, 01:38 PM   #37
rudedog
Not so Rude
 
rudedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: CoD 5 back to WWII

I always wondered and have asked when at EA about using the Cryisis engine. They do have a lic for it so why not do something like this.

Would have loved to see them use that instead of the UT3 engine for MOHA
__________________
Not so Rude, Rudedog FPSadmin.com | twitter | Microsoft MVP 2009-2012 - Games for Windows
Main Box:Intel QX6850|Asus Formula Maximus|4GB(1GBx4) @ 1066|Evga 285GTX - 182.05|150Gig Raptor SATA|2x WD 250Gb SATA|2x Lite-on 1673S DVDRW-all|Pioneer
BDR-202|X-Fi Fatal1ty 2.07.0004|Logitec G7-setpoint 3.1.116|Ergodex DX1-firmware 1.1-driver1.3|Dell UltraSharp 2405FPW 24" LCD|PCPower and Cooling TurboCool 1000 SLI|Windows 7 Ultimate|Klipsch THX 5.1
Imac: Snow Leopard|27" screen|i7 2.93|12 GB|ATI HD 5750 1G|WD 1T SATA|2xWD 2T firewire 800|Sharing Dell 24"
Laptop: MBP|2.16|2GB ram|160drive
Laptop 2: MBP Unibody|2.66|4GB ram|320drive
Camera: D700 + MB-D10 + EN-EL3e + GP1|Nikon14-24 f2.8|nikon24-70 f2.8|nikon70-200 f2.8|nikon 50 f1.4|Sigma 150-500
Car: 2010 Dodge Challenger R/T Classic Plum Crazy Purl|6 Speed|Power roof|Super Track Pack|20" classic rims|Functional ram air hood
rudedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 01:56 PM   #38
evox
:3
 
evox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: India
Posts: 2,254
Default Re: CoD 5 back to WWII

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudedog View Post
I always wondered and have asked when at EA about using the Cryisis engine. They do have a lic for it so why not do something like this.

Would have loved to see them use that instead of the UT3 engine for MOHA
My guess is since EA always aims for the mainstream (grandma to toddlers) using CryENGINE 2 isn't the best move, since it kills pretty much every system and a majority of public lacks the hardware to run it smoothly.

BTW, I didn't know they had a license for it? When did they buy a license from Crytek?
evox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 02:06 PM   #39
rudedog
Not so Rude
 
rudedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: CoD 5 back to WWII

Trying to search EA's press releases via their site but that is hopeless. I think I overheard it at one of our Medal of honor community events I attended at EALA.

I have it written down in my notes. This was before they announced they where using the Unreal 3 engine, so it could have been wishfull thinking on their part or mine LOL.

I'm still trying to search their PR site (EA)
__________________
Not so Rude, Rudedog FPSadmin.com | twitter | Microsoft MVP 2009-2012 - Games for Windows
Main Box:Intel QX6850|Asus Formula Maximus|4GB(1GBx4) @ 1066|Evga 285GTX - 182.05|150Gig Raptor SATA|2x WD 250Gb SATA|2x Lite-on 1673S DVDRW-all|Pioneer
BDR-202|X-Fi Fatal1ty 2.07.0004|Logitec G7-setpoint 3.1.116|Ergodex DX1-firmware 1.1-driver1.3|Dell UltraSharp 2405FPW 24" LCD|PCPower and Cooling TurboCool 1000 SLI|Windows 7 Ultimate|Klipsch THX 5.1
Imac: Snow Leopard|27" screen|i7 2.93|12 GB|ATI HD 5750 1G|WD 1T SATA|2xWD 2T firewire 800|Sharing Dell 24"
Laptop: MBP|2.16|2GB ram|160drive
Laptop 2: MBP Unibody|2.66|4GB ram|320drive
Camera: D700 + MB-D10 + EN-EL3e + GP1|Nikon14-24 f2.8|nikon24-70 f2.8|nikon70-200 f2.8|nikon 50 f1.4|Sigma 150-500
Car: 2010 Dodge Challenger R/T Classic Plum Crazy Purl|6 Speed|Power roof|Super Track Pack|20" classic rims|Functional ram air hood
rudedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 02:07 PM   #40
LT.Schaffer
Praise The Lord!
 
LT.Schaffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chernarus
Posts: 1,960
Default Re: CoD 5 back to WWII

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeReWoLf View Post
I know i'll be getting this one. I love COD in general.

Same here

That's why i got the Collectors Edition of COD2 because it had the cool bonus of interviews with the Vets Talking about Point Du Hoc and D-Day


I don't think i'll ever get sick of WW2 games.
__________________

Intel Q9650|Asus P5Q Pro Turbo|GTX 480|CM 690 II Advanced|Corsair Dominator 4GB|LG LE3500 32"|X-FI|Intel 80GB SSD|Win 7 64Bit
Nvidia Driver:310.70 WHQL


Dedicated LAN Coop Server
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500|Asus P5B Deluxe|BFG GTX 285|Antec 900|Kingston HyperX 2GB|Viewsonic VX2255WMB 22"|Win 7 32Bit







GOD BLESS AMERICA

I Proudly Support Our Troops

Current Game:Elder Scrolls V Skyrim
LT.Schaffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 02:21 PM   #41
JigenD
Registered User
 
JigenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,070
Default Re: CoD 5 back to WWII

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
I wonder if Activision and EA are worried about doing Vietnam in CoD and MoH because of the requirement to make a really amazing jungle. While this generation of consoles is impressive, I'm not sure it would be easy to make a really dense jungle atmosphere. Obviously on PC it would be easier, but even Crysis, in my opinion, could have used a better "dense" look in the woods.
Except if you look at the scans above, this one does take place in jungles.
JigenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 02:35 PM   #42
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: CoD 5 back to WWII

perhaps COD 6 might use cryengine 2?

ohh btw for the 10TH cod they should come up with something cool

like Call ODF Duty 10th anniversary if that is so or someting
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 03:08 PM   #43
evox
:3
 
evox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: India
Posts: 2,254
Default Re: CoD 5 back to WWII

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudedog View Post
Trying to search EA's press releases via their site but that is hopeless. I think I overheard it at one of our Medal of honor community events I attended at EALA.

I have it written down in my notes. This was before they announced they where using the Unreal 3 engine, so it could have been wishfull thinking on their part or mine LOL.

I'm still trying to search their PR site (EA)
EA's gamespress site?
evox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 03:22 PM   #44
rudedog
Not so Rude
 
rudedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: CoD 5 back to WWII

info.ea.com under news. It's linked as their corporate info all the way at the bottom. Not many people know that you an create an account and get early access to screen, box shots as well.

They sometimes put it up there or link to it internally by mistake... :-)
__________________
Not so Rude, Rudedog FPSadmin.com | twitter | Microsoft MVP 2009-2012 - Games for Windows
Main Box:Intel QX6850|Asus Formula Maximus|4GB(1GBx4) @ 1066|Evga 285GTX - 182.05|150Gig Raptor SATA|2x WD 250Gb SATA|2x Lite-on 1673S DVDRW-all|Pioneer
BDR-202|X-Fi Fatal1ty 2.07.0004|Logitec G7-setpoint 3.1.116|Ergodex DX1-firmware 1.1-driver1.3|Dell UltraSharp 2405FPW 24" LCD|PCPower and Cooling TurboCool 1000 SLI|Windows 7 Ultimate|Klipsch THX 5.1
Imac: Snow Leopard|27" screen|i7 2.93|12 GB|ATI HD 5750 1G|WD 1T SATA|2xWD 2T firewire 800|Sharing Dell 24"
Laptop: MBP|2.16|2GB ram|160drive
Laptop 2: MBP Unibody|2.66|4GB ram|320drive
Camera: D700 + MB-D10 + EN-EL3e + GP1|Nikon14-24 f2.8|nikon24-70 f2.8|nikon70-200 f2.8|nikon 50 f1.4|Sigma 150-500
Car: 2010 Dodge Challenger R/T Classic Plum Crazy Purl|6 Speed|Power roof|Super Track Pack|20" classic rims|Functional ram air hood
rudedog is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-10-08, 05:38 PM   #45
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: CoD 5 back to WWII

Quote:
Originally Posted by JigenD View Post
Except if you look at the scans above, this one does take place in jungles.
True... I guess I should have thought that out, the Pacific theatre jungles are similar to the Vietnam jungles I would guess.

Maybe they're all just scared off since all those Vietnam games from 5 years ago sold like crap and were poorly reviewed.

Or maybe Vietnam is of less interest since it was much less a heroic war with a clear patriotic goal... or maybe because it's more recent and a touchier subject. I know a lot of my friends' dads were in the war.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 06:19 AM   #46
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: CoD 5 back to WWII

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrixteH View Post
WW2 has been done to death now.....modern and future warfare is the way forward.

On a good note i can't see CoD5 steeling the crown from CoD4 as the best multiplayer FPS game to date which is good news.
That's just an opinion of a single man...
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 08:16 AM   #47
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: CoD 5 back to WWII

Quote:
Originally Posted by JigenD View Post
Except if you look at the scans above, this one does take place in jungles.
which will be jungles like in that MOH Pacific game, few trees on a narrow path.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 08:40 AM   #48
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: CoD 5 back to WWII

personally i can't get enough WW2. i'm really looking forward to this, i just hope treyarch does it justice .. also hoping CoD6 will be "Vietnam" !
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU memory consumption, back buffer, Quadro tdsussman NVIDIA Linux 5 08-14-12 10:14 PM
[Regression] "6 little screens" problem is back with 302.07 (AU0-8428 pannel) mile-igad NVIDIA Linux 6 06-26-12 09:10 AM
New DLC Available: Jagged Alliance - Back in Action: Point Blank DLC News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 07:30 PM
PSN Dusts Self Off, Gets Back Online News Gaming Headlines 0 06-10-12 03:30 AM
Twitter Hits Back at Court, Prosecutors Over 'Occupy' Order News Gaming Central 0 05-09-12 02:10 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.