Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-29-09, 11:40 AM   #1
mizzer
Is he safe?
 
mizzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 102
Default Network switch and Xbox 360 question...

I have the 360 hardwired directly to the router. The network performance graph shows maximum quality for streaming.

Now, I'd like to install a network switch between the router and the 360 in order to hook up other network-ready components (TV, DVD player, amp).

My question: do I need a gigabit switch to maintain the current network transfer speeds to my 360 or can I settle for a 10/100 switch? (This is assuming that, at the time of streaming, I will use all of the bandwidth for the 360.)

gracias

mizzer
mizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-09, 12:12 AM   #2
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: Network switch and Xbox 360 question...

The network port on the 360 is 10/100, and in theory with a switch you can have full bandwidth being used between separate ports on the switch.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-09, 03:39 AM   #3
Fuku2
Metal Guitarist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 358
Default Re: Network switch and Xbox 360 question...

I will blow your router out of the sky with my rocket launcher.
__________________
Asus P8P67 Pro
Intel Core i7 2600 3.40 GHz
2x Gigabyte GTX 570 1GB SLI
8 Gigs Kingston 1333 DD3
Asus VH238H 23" LED 2ms
WD 1TB Caviar Black 64MB cache SATA 6 Gb/s
CM Silent Pro 850 Watt

Band: http://www.myspace.com/hollowappostle
Fuku2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-09, 07:28 PM   #4
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Network switch and Xbox 360 question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mizzer View Post
I have the 360 hardwired directly to the router. The network performance graph shows maximum quality for streaming.

Now, I'd like to install a network switch between the router and the 360 in order to hook up other network-ready components (TV, DVD player, amp).

My question: do I need a gigabit switch to maintain the current network transfer speeds to my 360 or can I settle for a 10/100 switch? (This is assuming that, at the time of streaming, I will use all of the bandwidth for the 360.)

gracias

mizzer
Well here is the first question. Is the router even gigabit? If not then installing a gig switch wouldn't have any impact. The second point of consideration is where you are streaming from/to. If you're using all internet traffic then a 100mbit connection is much faster than your internet anyway, so it won't matter.

It's very unlikely that installing the switch will have any impact on performance unless you are copying files from a computer connected to the router while trying to stream at the same time.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-09, 09:00 PM   #5
mizzer
Is he safe?
 
mizzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 102
Default Re: Network switch and Xbox 360 question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuku2 View Post
I will blow your router out of the sky with my rocket launcher.
Mamma, is the bad man gone? He keeps following me.




mizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-09, 11:48 PM   #6
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: Network switch and Xbox 360 question...

Go back to the network performance graph, it tells you how much bandwidth it is using.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-09, 08:51 AM   #7
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Network switch and Xbox 360 question...

Are you streaming from a PC or from Netflix or something?

If it's from Netflix, I wouldn't worry about it. Odds are your internet bandwidth is a fraction of the 100 Mbps pipe, so others won't affect it. As for streaming from a PC, I would also just stick with the 10/100 connection.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-09, 02:50 PM   #8
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Network switch and Xbox 360 question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuku2 View Post
I will blow your router out of the sky with my rocket launcher.
::

What is going on here?

You wont need a Gigabit switch. My 360 streams fine and I have a plain little Netgear 100/10 switch.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.