Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-16-08, 05:56 PM   #13
Maverickman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 527
Default Re: I dunno about the 280..

Most reviewers state that the GTX 280 is just overpriced for the performance it delivers. You can get 2 8800 GTs for a little over $300 that can approach the performance of the GTX 280 in Crysis.
__________________
Core i7 2600 @ 3.7GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Superclocked 941 MHz
1TB Seagate HDD 7200 RPM 32MB Cache
16X BluRay-RW drive
Dell 30-inch U3014 monitor
Dell speakers
Maverickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 06:21 PM   #14
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default Re: I dunno about the 280..

personally mine is coming tomorrow to play Age of Conan with!
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 07:33 PM   #15
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,126
Default Re: I dunno about the 280..

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Man View Post
how can this be true for crysis, is the settings on medium or low? all the reviews i've seen at 1920 on high settings it gets around 25 fps no aa or af
Note that the results were for 1680x1050.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 07:36 PM   #16
G-Man
i can hit the g spot
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 274
Default Re: I dunno about the 280..

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeC View Post
Note that the results were for 1680x1050.
even at 1680x1050 on high settings with AA/AF turned up , you got 47fps, thats amazing ;/ all the other reviews i've noticed got nowhere like urs..... just curious how you got those, maybe some special tweaking?
__________________
Core i9 "Engineering Sample"
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 07:36 PM   #17
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,126
Default Re: I dunno about the 280..

Quote:
Originally Posted by -=DVS=- View Post
They also claim 8800 GTX gets 26fps @ 1680x1050 16xQ AA , same settings i don't get anywhere near that score i got 16~ with 177.26 , without AA i got ~28 fps , so my guess is they didn't actually use 16xQ AA.
My results were with 16xQ AA enabled under Windows XP. I didn't claim that the frame rate displayed 26 fps. That's what the results from the benchmark stated. Note that I also used ForceWare WQHL 175.16 when I tested the GeForce 8800 GTX.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 07:42 PM   #18
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,126
Default Re: I dunno about the 280..

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Man View Post
even at 1680x1050 on high settings with AA/AF turned up , you got 47fps, thats amazing ;/ all the other reviews i've noticed got nowhere like urs..... just curious how you got those, maybe some special tweaking?
What review are your referencing and were they benchmarked under Windows XP with high quality (as opposed to very high)?

No special tweaking. Installed the GeForce GTX 280 and drivers and ran the benchmark.

Edit: Just re-ran the benchmark on the GeForce GTX 280 at 1680x1050 with 16xQ AA and high quality settings:

MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 07:47 PM   #19
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: I dunno about the 280..

Crysis runs like crap even with GTX280 which means that something badly is ****ed up with DX10 or Crysis itself.

Overall nothing to be impressed about. My SLI 8800GTX does equal or maybe even better job then single GTX280. Simply, it would be waste of money for me...
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 07:58 PM   #20
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Default Re: I dunno about the 280..

There must be big difference between Win XP dx9 and Vista DX10 in Crysis.

MikeC you should use Crysis Benchmark Tool , http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1791
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-16-08, 08:00 PM   #21
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: I dunno about the 280..

crisis is just a bench util now . with no big games been out for a bit how can i tell if this is a good card??

you have bf3 dx10 (mmm 64 player dx10 at maxed out graphics) coming out end of year and farcry2 . then you have the physics drivers coming out thats a big punch there.

the only reason i whould upgrade me card is for the cooler at 450 big money that if i see no differance only on numbers on a bench mark not real world
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 08:01 PM   #22
ArrowMk84
Registered User
 
ArrowMk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: I dunno about the 280..

Looks like I'll be skipping this go around. Everything runs well at 2560x1600 with a single 8800GTX here (with Crysis and Bioshock being the exceptions, but even they're playable with a couple of options turned down). So I'll see what AMD has to offer later this week, or wait until the fall/winter refresh (when I'll be upgrading the rest of my system, anyway).

And damn, the power draw on full load...
__________________
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz | Asus Maximus IV Extreme | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz 9-10-9-27 | Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 580 3GB | Creative X-Fi Titanium Pro PCI-E | Intel 510 Series SSD 120 GB | 2x Raptor 600 GB RAID | 2TB WD Black | Lite-On 21x Blu-ray Burner | Corsair AX1200 Modular PSU | Silverstone FT02 | Corsair H60 with Dual Fans | Dell 3007-HC 30" LCD | Audioengine 5 & S8

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
ArrowMk84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 08:01 PM   #23
ragingWS6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 244
Send a message via AIM to ragingWS6 Send a message via Yahoo to ragingWS6
Default Re: I dunno about the 280..

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227 View Post
Crysis runs like crap even with GTX280 which means that something badly is ****ed up with DX10 or Crysis itself.

Overall nothing to be impressed about. My SLI 8800GTX does equal or maybe even better job then single GTX280. Simply, it would be waste of money for me...
Was thinking the same thing. Going to keep my 8800GTX system as long as I can. I finished up Crysis anyway playing with Custom settings @ 1440x900, 2xAA and I was averaging just under 40 FPS (except for the last part on the aircraft carrier...that was a slideshow with AA enabled). Good enough for me though.
__________________
Gaming System: Windows 7 x64 Ultimate, Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.7GHZ, Swiftech Apogee XT waterblock with custom watercooling kit in Corsair Obsidian 800d case, 8GB Corsair XMS3-1600 RAM, Asus P8P67 Pro MB, 2xEVGA GTX460 1GB FTW in SLI (900/2075), 2x150GB WD Velociraptor 10,000RPM 3.0gb/s 16mb cache in RAID 0, Coolermaster Real Power Pro 850W PSU
HTPC System: Windows 7 x64 Ultimate, AMD Athlon64 X2 5400+, 4 GB OCZ PC6400 RAM, EVGA GeForce 9600GSO, 320GB Seagate SATA HD, ECS GeForce 8200 MB
ragingWS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 08:04 PM   #24
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,126
Default Re: I dunno about the 280..

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227 View Post
Crysis runs like crap even with GTX280 which means that something badly is ****ed up with DX10 or Crysis itself.

Overall nothing to be impressed about. My SLI 8800GTX does equal or maybe even better job then single GTX280. Simply, it would be waste of money for me...
But you have to admit that it is tempting to pick up one GeForce GTX 280 instead of two GeForce 8800 GTX

I didn't compare the GeForce GTX 280 to the GeForce 8800 GTX in SLI, but as I was running benchmarks on the GeForce GTX 280, I felt that the GeForce 8800 GTX in SLI would offer better performance overall. This is something I am interested in comparing and will likely do a follow up.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.