Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-16-08, 12:48 PM   #1
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Anyone know if SP2 will fix Vista?

So I booted up today while I was working on my other PC. I hear the gaming machine come up, then beep. Reboot. Slid over to the other one as Windows Vista x64 came back up and was greeted with a "there was an unexpected error...". Clicked on more information... JOY! Nvidia drivers....

It's been a year and a half. Vista still has issues. Bah. I can blame NV for this one I guess.

__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline  
Old 06-16-08, 02:19 PM   #2
Airbrushkid
 
Airbrushkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,420
Default Re: Anyone know if SP2 will fix Vista?

So when did they come out with SP2 for Vista?
__________________
Intel Q9550 l eVGA NForce 780i SLI FTW l 2 Palit GTX 560 Ti 2 GB SLI l Corsair Dominator 8 gig PC2-8500 l 2 - Intel X-25M 80 gb SSD Raid 0 l WD 1 -2TB & 2 -1TB l On board sound l Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1200 1200W l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l 3 X Dell E248WFP 24" Monitors
Airbrushkid is offline  
Old 06-16-08, 02:50 PM   #3
Absolution
AbsoUI
 
Absolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 933
Default Re: Anyone know if SP2 will fix Vista?

Fix vista? What's wrong with it. My system is stable as a rock. I have 2 windows failures since I installed vista x64 about a year ago. Both were from overclocking too high.

Blame nVidia. I also don't get nVidia driver issues either though (litterally, the only instability on my system right now is when I write terrible code and the app crashes).
Absolution is offline  
Old 06-16-08, 02:52 PM   #4
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Anyone know if SP2 will fix Vista?

how is an nvidia error Vista's fault?

why the hell do ppl blame the OS for ****ty drivers written by third party devs?

use the default video driver in vista, that will be stable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Absolution View Post
Fix vista? What's wrong with it. My system is stable as a rock. I have 2 windows failures since I installed vista x64 about a year ago. Both were from overclocking too high.

Blame nVidia. I also don't get nVidia driver issues either though (litterally, the only instability on my system right now is when I write terrible code and the app crashes).
+1

i use to have random restarts. i then went into the Problem Reports and Solutions thing in the control panel, and it told me i had an incompatible program. uninstalled that and vista has been rock stable ever since.
ViN86 is offline  
Old 06-16-08, 03:51 PM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Anyone know if SP2 will fix Vista?

Joe at it again.

more BS
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline  
Old 06-16-08, 04:07 PM   #6
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Anyone know if SP2 will fix Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
how is an nvidia error Vista's fault?

why the hell do ppl blame the OS for ****ty drivers written by third party devs?

use the default video driver in vista, that will be stable.


+1

i use to have random restarts. i then went into the Problem Reports and Solutions thing in the control panel, and it told me i had an incompatible program. uninstalled that and vista has been rock stable ever since.


Why would anyone use the default driver? lol Thats retarded.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline  
Old 06-16-08, 04:09 PM   #7
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Anyone know if SP2 will fix Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
Joe at it again.

more BS
We've already had this conversation - I'm not joe.

Secondly how is this more BS? I posted a screenshot for the people like you. Booted PC, rebooted with a crash from the video driver. So where is the BS?

Show me where the BS is here. You and the drama, just like a friggin' woman.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline  
Old 06-16-08, 04:23 PM   #8
Medion
 
Medion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Barksdale AFB, La
Posts: 1,238
Default Re: Anyone know if SP2 will fix Vista?

Not a Vista error. You're using Forceware 177.26. Try an official release. There's a reason why NV hasn't officially released that build. 175.16 is the latest official.
Medion is offline  

Old 06-16-08, 04:25 PM   #9
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Anyone know if SP2 will fix Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Medion View Post
Not a Vista error. You're using Forceware 177.26. Try an official release. There's a reason why NV hasn't officially released that build. 175.16 is the latest official.
Yea, Im gonna stick with these though. Till today havent had an issue and have been gaming in Vegas 2 and Grid alot.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline  
Old 06-16-08, 05:18 PM   #10
Medion
 
Medion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Barksdale AFB, La
Posts: 1,238
Default Re: Anyone know if SP2 will fix Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
Yea, Im gonna stick with these though. Till today havent had an issue and have been gaming in Vegas 2 and Grid alot.
Haven't tried Vegas2 (not my type of game), but GRID runs fine on 175.16. I honestly mean no offense, but it's just that Vista has a bad enough rep as is. It's made even worse when someone slams it in a public forum, when the crash was from using an unofficial 3rd party driver.
Medion is offline  
Old 06-16-08, 05:21 PM   #11
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Anyone know if SP2 will fix Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
We've already had this conversation - I'm not joe.

Secondly how is this more BS? I posted a screenshot for the people like you. Booted PC, rebooted with a crash from the video driver. So where is the BS?

Show me where the BS is here. You and the drama, just like a friggin' woman.
your anti-vista crusade is just pathetic, XP isn't perfect, there never was a ****ing OS that was perfect.

if you are not Joe then you must be his twin brother or maybe his second personality. You act excactly like him.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline  
Old 06-16-08, 05:33 PM   #12
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Anyone know if SP2 will fix Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
your anti-vista crusade is just pathetic, XP isn't perfect, there never was a ****ing OS that was perfect.

if you are not Joe then you must be his twin brother or maybe his second personality. You act excactly like him.
Why dont you go re-read the post, did a say a ****ing thing about XP? Geezus, you are as stupid as you are annoying in your posts. I didn't even say anything about XP you hoser. You blame me for being on an "anti-vista crusade" but you have nothing to back it up. Thats slander, show me where I'm on an 'anti-vista crusade'.

Now get back to the original point please. Arguing about XP isn't even anything I wanted to do. I was just pissed my machine crashed on a cold boot and it was from Nvidia's drivers.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
HDMI overscan fix for multiple resolutions + Zod Engine Problem. cheechr1 NVIDIA Linux 0 06-11-12 02:27 PM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
QIII engines & Dets 40.41 "darkness" fix... sisi NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 6 09-03-02 04:55 AM
Refresh rate fix for opengl? Zarich NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 1 08-29-02 02:47 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.