Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-19-08, 12:51 PM   #25
Dreamingawake
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 806
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

Ahh okay, darn.. I'm guessing Rivatuner doesn't work with the 280's yet ??

I re applied the thermal paste to my cpu and temps dropped 20-25 degrees !!!

temps also dropped 25 on my gtx 280.. idling at 45 degrees instead of 70 now !!
Dreamingawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 01:08 PM   #26
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

I'll open it up again then...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 01:28 PM   #27
AMC_Duke
Mea Culpa
 
AMC_Duke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 331
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

my Cpu is running very cool 40 idle 55 Load

I gues we just got faulty cards

at least im not alone anymore

I will get an replacement soon hope its fixed
AMC_Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 01:40 PM   #28
Dreamingawake
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 806
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

I dunno, mine seems to be okay now..

I've set the fan speed manually to 70% and the temps
on my GPU never went over 55 during Crysis..

Got to max 50 on the CPU during Crysis but it was IDLING at 70 before
so, that's a huge improvement

I couldn't even play for a minute before the system shut down but
I just finished playing for 30 minutes straight without a hitch..

I'm pretty sure your card isn't faulty.... if you've tried a new PSU, and your CPU isn't overheating
it must be the 280 overheating when you launch a 3d application..

it shuts itself down to avoid damaging itself..
Dreamingawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 01:55 PM   #29
AMC_Duke
Mea Culpa
 
AMC_Duke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 331
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamingawake View Post
I dunno, mine seems to be okay now..

I've set the fan speed manually to 70% and the temps
on my GPU never went over 55 during Crysis..

Got to max 50 on the CPU during Crysis but it was IDLING at 70 before
so, that's a huge improvement

I couldn't even play for a minute before the system shut down but
I just finished playing for 30 minutes straight without a hitch..

I'm pretty sure your card isn't faulty.... if you've tried a new PSU, and your CPU isn't overheating
it must be the 280 overheating when you launch a 3d application..

it shuts itself down to avoid damaging itself..

I tryed setting in Ntune the speed to 100% it was noisy like hell and even put 1 big fan in front of it same thing ! =(
AMC_Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 02:07 PM   #30
Dreamingawake
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 806
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

wow crazy.. maybe i got lucky ?

im gonna go play crysis some more and see what happens..
Dreamingawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 02:56 PM   #31
AMC_Duke
Mea Culpa
 
AMC_Duke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 331
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamingawake View Post
wow crazy.. maybe i got lucky ?

im gonna go play crysis some more and see what happens..
http://www.hardware.info/productdb/b...ower_Pro_600W/

Thats my Psu should do it fine nothing overclocked in my system an a E6600 that idle now 27

Dont know still blame my sample
AMC_Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 03:00 PM   #32
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

My card just died. So I'm setting up an RMA, send the board to the UK. Absolutely terrible...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-19-08, 03:07 PM   #33
Quick420
Registered User
 
Quick420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London,Canada
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

This is not sounding too good guys,you think they'd have this sort of thing figured out by the time the product hit the streets.I would never want a card in my system running at 100c,it would have the same effect as a weak heating element placed inside the case.I hope they sort this out with rma's for you guys.The cards look promising still ouch I burnt my tongue
__________________
:Gaming Rig:
Asus P5N-D SLi E8400 Wolfdale@3.6ghz/TTBig TyphoonCooler 51c Orthos 3hrs
Galaxy GTX560ti-GC 296.10 Forceware 950/1900/2200,1100mv,Gts250/Physx
2x2gb Ddr2 1066mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
3xWD WD5000AAKS 500gb/sata300/ 1xSeagate 320gb Ide(tuuunz)
X-fi Fatality Pro*ASUS VH242H 24"LCD*:::Windoze 7-64bit:::
Sony DvD/Ram-Drive
Logitech G25
3dmark06 17,898 Vantage 12,851



If the light is GREEN the trap is clean
Quick420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 03:09 PM   #34
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

damn Nvidia is really screwed when it comes to these new cards "bad" performance and temps and **** one wonders if a 9800GX2 would be better to get or?
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 03:29 PM   #35
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

I don't know man. I'm really disappointed. I mean how can you miss something like this during Quality assurance? You run the card for 5 seconds and it heats up to 115C and shuts down. I mean it was even heating up to 85C in Windows... You don't miss something like this. Especially on a pre-overclocked model that has to go through thorough testing...

I'm honestly tired of this. Upgrading every once in a while, paying all that money and having to pray that the hardware comes operational... Consoles are just so problem free. It either works or it doesn't. No conflicts, no overheating, no drivers... I'm sitting right now and thinking of the wonderful experience I'm having with games like Metal Gear Solid 4 and Uncharted on the PS3, or Gears of War and Mass Effect on the 360. And I know that tomorrow morning, I will have to get up and go to the post office, ship a card to the UK and get it back hopefully in two weeks... Not the best of times...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 03:34 PM   #36
AMC_Duke
Mea Culpa
 
AMC_Duke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 331
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
I don't know man. I'm really disappointed. I mean how can you miss something like this during Quality assurance? You run the card for 5 seconds and it heats up to 115C and shuts down. I mean it was even heating up to 85C in Windows... You don't miss something like this. Especially on a pre-overclocked model that has to go through thorough testing...

I'm honestly tired of this. Upgrading every once in a while, paying all that money and having to pray that the hardware comes operational... Consoles are just so problem free. It either works or it doesn't. No conflicts, no overheating, no drivers... I'm sitting right now and thinking of the wonderful experience I'm having with games like Metal Gear Solid 4 and Uncharted on the PS3, or Gears of War and Mass Effect on the 360. And I know that tomorrow morning, I will have to get up and go to the post office, ship a card to the UK and get it back hopefully in two weeks... Not the best of times...

Yes this realy sucks im glad i still have my 8800 gtx and 9800 gtx hanging around =)
AMC_Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.