Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-04-08, 11:00 AM   #1
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Time Warner plans to cap usage

Quote:
Time Warner Cable has begun putting new subscribers to its service on metered accounts. This new model, apparently limited to the area of Beaumont, Texas, provides users a certain "allowance" and will charge users $1 per gigabyte when they exceed their limit. Kevin Leddy, Time Warner Cableís executive vice president of advanced technology, told the AP that this metered billing approach is an attempt "to deal fairly with Internet usage", given the fact that just 5% of the companyís subscribers are taking up "half of the capacity on local cable lines".

According to the AP article, Time Warner Cable is offering tiers that will range "from $29.95 a month for relatively slow service at 768 Kb/s and a 5 gigabyte monthly cap to $54.90 per month for fast downloads at 15 Mb/s and a 40 GB cap." By any measure, these are pricey plans, even if we donít consider the download cap. Both downloads and uploads will count toward the monthly cap, by the way. Justifying its metered approach, Leddy told the AP that "We think itís the fairest way to finance the needed investment in the infrastructure."

A 5 GB cap will give users a bandwidth of about 166 MB per day, which may not be enough for most users and families out there today. A 40 GB cap elevates the average daily download volume to 1.3 GB, which should be enough, if you are not downloading a movie every day. But some may argue that for $55 a month, there should not be a cap at all.
http://www.tomsguide.com/us/Time-War...news-1562.html

Wow I really hope they aren't serious... I can almost guarentee that I use over 40GB a month. I just had to download the patches for COH the other day and that weighs in at about 2GB right there. Then add in a technet download, and maybe a game demo and I've already used 1/4 of the cap in a day. If you were to download at your max speed, you could theoretically use an entire months usage in about 6 hours.

Thankfully I don't have TW, but IIRC they are owned by Comcast, who also has been rumored to be looking at caps.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-08, 12:47 PM   #2
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Time Warner plans to cap usage

Quote:
5 gigabyte monthly cap
holly hell
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-08, 12:50 PM   #3
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Time Warner plans to cap usage

They have got to be kidding. That is complete Gib*****!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-08, 01:20 PM   #4
Monolyth
Meow Mix Kills
 
Monolyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: END OF DAYS
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: Time Warner plans to cap usage

Quote:
from $29.95 a month for relatively slow service at 768 Kb/s and a 5 gigabyte monthly cap to $54.90 per month for fast downloads at 15 Mb/s and a 40 GB cap.
$29.95 is way overpriced for such a package WAY overpriced. If this is meant to be the "people that check e-mail and do a little browsing package", they missed the mark by at least $10. And the 15mb/s on a 40GB limited service is a joke, I watch a lot of my TV shows (and some movies) online, and man someone help me if I want to watch them in HD + my normal surfing + iTunes downloads + gaming + patches + game downloads.

Wait never mind I can only do 2-3 of those things every month, guess it's time to live without...
__________________
Gaming 5.0
Asus R4 Extreme | Core i7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz Corsair H100 | 16GB G.Skill@1866Mhz | EVGA GTX TITAN Superclocked | Sammy 40" LCD
Asus Essence One | OCZ Revo 3 120GB, Revo 3 X2 240GB | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX1200 | Windows 8.1 Pro


Storage 2.0
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD | Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz NH-D14 | 16GB G.Skill@1600Mhz | Areca 1880ix-16 RAID HBA
Temp Storage - 1.8TB (4x450GB Hitachi 15k RPM SAS) | 18TB (12x3TB Hitachi RAID10) | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX620 | Windows 7 x64
Monolyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-08, 03:21 PM   #5
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: Time Warner plans to cap usage

This will never survive in a market with GPON FIOS and docsis 3.0...
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-08, 07:30 PM   #6
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Time Warner plans to cap usage

Haha welcome to my world! That's your standard Australian plan right there.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-08, 11:52 AM   #7
bobmitch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: Time Warner plans to cap usage

I am soooo glad I dropped Time Warner when Verizon FIOS became available...over a year ago...what a difference in speeds AND customer service. TWC was awful...and Verizon is actually pretty good. I went from 6/768 to 15/2 and never look back. Fibre Optic is the way to go...no matter what TWC promised...they never followed through...and Verizon s good to their word
bobmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-08, 11:56 AM   #8
Serrasalmus
Red Belly Piranha
 
Serrasalmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Send a message via MSN to Serrasalmus
Default Re: Time Warner plans to cap usage

also think about voip if your on the phone all the time....
__________________
||MaryJane||
||EVGA x58 3Xsli||i7 920@4.3 turbo HT enabled 1.46v||6 Gig Corsair 1600 8-8-8-19 1T||EVGA GTX285 TRI-SLI Vanilla@720/1566/1350 ||500gb seagate 7200.11 32mb cache raid 0 ||1 TB WD Black||LG Super Multi Blue DVD ||Antec 1200||Corsair HX1000||custom built water setup, Koolance cpu-350ac Koolance rp-1000bk, Koolance mvr40 w/95mm plate, Koolance MB-EVX58, Feser one 3/8 UV orange tubing, black ice pro 2 rad, Feser extreme performance 240||HANNSpree 28" HF289H LCD||G15 gen 2 keyboard

EvilInside (sons rig)
||Asus Maximus Formula SE||Q9450@3.2 Stock Voltage||4 Gig ocz Reaper 8500 @1100 5-5-5-15 2T||Sapphire HD4870 512mb Crossfire 790/1100 Stock Cooler||2x 500gb Raid 0 seagate 7200.11 32mb cache 500gb wd carvier||Asus 20xdl dvd-rw + -||Antec 900||mushkin 650||19" extreme flat crt|| X-Fi Extreme Gamer||some cheap keyboard




Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "...holy crapola ...what a ride!"
Serrasalmus is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-18-08, 08:15 PM   #9
nrdstrm
 
nrdstrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Staples Center
Posts: 1,677
Default Re: Time Warner plans to cap usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobmitch View Post
I am soooo glad I dropped Time Warner when Verizon FIOS became available...over a year ago...what a difference in speeds AND customer service. TWC was awful...and Verizon is actually pretty good. I went from 6/768 to 15/2 and never look back. Fibre Optic is the way to go...no matter what TWC promised...they never followed through...and Verizon s good to their word
Yep...Not only is FIOS uncapped, but they are increasing speeds again nation wide. I think the new speeds going into effect next week look like this :
5/2 increase to 10/2
15/2 increase to 20/5
15/15 increase to 20/20 (my package...woot!)
30/10 increase to 50/20 (or somthing to that effect)

I love me some Verizon...lol
__________________


On Any Given Sunday!
nrdstrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 12:39 AM   #10
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: Time Warner plans to cap usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrdstrm View Post
Yep...Not only is FIOS uncapped, but they are increasing speeds again nation wide. I think the new speeds going into effect next week look like this :
5/2 increase to 10/2
15/2 increase to 20/5
15/15 increase to 20/20 (my package...woot!)
30/10 increase to 50/20 (or somthing to that effect)

I love me some Verizon...lol
lol i have faster fios...tee hee...
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 12:57 AM   #11
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Time Warner plans to cap usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
Thankfully I don't have TW, but IIRC they are owned by Comcast.
TWC is not owned by Comcast.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 01:13 AM   #12
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Time Warner plans to cap usage

Yeah, that's nuts. We get 10/512 for $35 and 30/768 for $50 on Cable Modem service, with no bandwidth cap. Who needs Fiber when you've got 30mb coax? lol
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora KDE 16 Geforce GTX260 and slow gtk applications Rendering NVIDIA Linux 10 07-11-13 07:02 AM
Verizon's shared data plans won't save solo users much money News Archived News Items 0 06-12-12 10:40 AM
Verizon announces 'Share Everything' plans ' the future of mobile data (sort of News Archived News Items 0 06-12-12 10:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.