Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-22-08, 10:48 PM   #1
azanon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 101
Default Can you use 2 power adapters on this card?

I have a Seasonic S12 Energy+ 650 Watt, with 2, 6-pin PCI-E's and 52A total shared on 4, +12V rails.

IF i were to get the BFG GTX 280, could I get away with using both of those adapters; the 2, 6-pin PCI-E to 8-pin PCI-E, as well as the 2 molex to one PCI-E for the other connector? My total amps should be enough since I only have one HDD, 2x2GB DDR2, and a Q9450 on a P5Q motherboard. Too risky?
azanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-08, 11:16 PM   #2
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Can you use 2 power adapters on this card?

It's possible yes... My BFG even had a single 6->8 pin, so I used that too, leaving one free 6-pin PCIe which I used on the card. I also tried 2 6-pin to 1 8pin and 2 4-pin to 1 6-pin, like you are trying to do. It starts up fine, though I had the overheating problem and had to return mine...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-08, 11:43 PM   #3
BCKator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 135
Default Re: Can you use 2 power adapters on this card?

azanon:

I have that same PSU and I am planning on using it w/ the gtx280 (when the price comes down and/or my cash flow goes up and assuming nothing better shows up in the mean time). I bought a blank 8pin pcie conn from Performance PCs and I am planning on combining the wires (cut, splice, solder, repeat) from one of the 6-bin pcie with an un-used 4-pin MB conn to supply the 8 pin pcie. I will be, in the process, shortening both cables going to the vid card.

Your solution should work as well I would think. If possible, I would try to use molex conns from seperate PSU output bundles, not two from the same wires, just to limit the current per wire.
__________________
"BlackSilver": Modified air-cooled LianLi8B w/ 4 38x120mm Scythe intake fans, 16"x16" custom air filter, custom fan controller, GIGABYTE GA-P55M-UD4 (uATX), i5-750 @3.5G(turbo)OCCT linpack stable, 4G GSkill DDR, XFX 5870, Crucial 128GB SSD (OS), WD 1T CavBLack HD (data), WD 2T Green HD (backup), Corsiar CMPSU 750W PSU, PWR ~105/370W idle/max

"Green" : AsusP5Q-E, C2D8600@~4.4G(440Mx10), EVGA GTX285@~741/1692/1269, 300G Velocirator + 150G Raptorx (just for show), DVD-RW, custom H2O loop w/ Koolance CPU/GPU/NB/FET blocks in heavily modified LianLi case w/ 16"x16" input air filter, integrated 3x120 swiftech rad, dual mcp350 pumps, lots of copper pipe, custom Fan controller, & 7 Scythe SFF21F fans (~600rpm@idle, ~1400rpm@load), PWR ~160/484W idle/max.
BCKator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 08:22 AM   #4
azanon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 101
Default Re: Can you use 2 power adapters on this card?

Seems like I read somewhere that "nVidia" says these approaches are just not good long-term solutions. But I'm wondering, why not? If my power supply can get the power to the card, then what difference does it make? As long as i use molex's from separate rails, and I believe by design, my 2 PCI-E's are on separate rails, then there should be no problems.

I probably wouldn't want to bother if I can't do this long-term.
azanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 08:42 AM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Can you use 2 power adapters on this card?

a single 6-pin to 8-pin adapter is not a good idea, there is a reason why they put 8-pin on the card.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 08:58 AM   #6
azanon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 101
Default Re: Can you use 2 power adapters on this card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
a single 6-pin to 8-pin adapter is not a good idea, there is a reason why they put 8-pin on the card.
Now this I agree with. It would be pointless to put a 8-pin connector on there, and lose a lot of customers in the process because of that, if both the 6-pin and 8-pin could supply the same amount of power.

But back on my question, I also can't see why my solution should cause any problems. If those adapters are designed to supply the right amount/sufficient power, then they should work long-term. I'm confident my Seasonic would be up to the task. The only issue is where the adapters would introduce problems themselves.
azanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 09:21 AM   #7
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Can you use 2 power adapters on this card?

I think the safest approach is 1x6 pin connector and use 2x6 pin to 8 pin adapter. So single GTX280 will require 3x6Pin or 1xPin + 1x8Pin.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 09:34 AM   #8
azanon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 101
Default Re: Can you use 2 power adapters on this card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227 View Post
I think the safest approach is 1x6 pin connector and use 2x6 pin to 8 pin adapter. So single GTX280 will require 3x6Pin or 1xPin + 1x8Pin.
BFG tech states the GTX 280 "requires" 3, 6-Pin PCIs. I personally have no doubts just using one adapter probably isn't an issue, and wouldn't have even asked the question if I had 3.

I'm just wondering why this is? I have 4, 12+V rails with 52A total. I can use 2 rails on one jack, and 2 rails on the other. Where's the problem if there is one?
azanon is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-08, 07:22 PM   #9
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Can you use 2 power adapters on this card?

To be honest with you it all depends on PSU. My single 6pin cable can push 170W on my Rosewill 850W so i would be safe with 6 to 8 pin solution but since i will have extra 6 pin cables i will go with 1x6pin and 2x6pin to 8pin adapter to balance out the power.

My uncle got same PSU you have and he is running ATI 2900XT. It requires 1x6pin and 1x8pin cable and he has only 2x6pin cables. He runs one of 6pin cables through adapter to 8Pin. Heck he can even overclock that card and never had any stability issues.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI Announces GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card supporting GPU OvervoltageAdjust Power News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM
GeForce GTX 690 - World's Fastest Graphics Card Adjust Power Limit (MSI) News Archived News Items 0 05-04-12 06:40 AM
Video card upgrade advice needed Billy34 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 5 08-28-02 05:19 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.