Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-22-08, 05:07 PM   #1
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Your 280GTX bundled package

Did you get 6 to 8pin cable adapter?
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-08, 05:21 PM   #2
top3koms
Registered User
 
top3koms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mid-Atlantic Region
Posts: 283
Default Re: Your 280GTX bundled package

I got the EVGA SSC edition and it did not come with a straight 6 pin to 8 pin adapter ,it did come with a 2X6 pin to 8 pin adapter and it is working great for me so far.
__________________
Asus Rampage III Extreme/Intel Core i7 960/Corsair H70
Corsair Dominator Gt DDR3 1600 (7,7,7,20)
EVGA GTX 580 SLI/ Soundblaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Intel X25-M 80Gb SSD - WD Black 500Gb /LG DVD-RW
Silverstone DA1000 / Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Coolermaster Stacker 830 / Alienware AW2310
NVIDIA 3D Vision
top3koms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-08, 05:25 PM   #3
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Your 280GTX bundled package

That's what i thought. My 850W PSU has 4x6 pin cables. So, 1x6 pin + 2x6pin into 8pin adapter will do a thing . It will use less power then SLI 8800GTX.

Thanks....
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-08, 06:55 PM   #4
Dreamingawake
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 806
Default Re: Your 280GTX bundled package

My box said it comes with a 6 to 8 pin adapter, but it never did

It looks like someone took it out and replaced it with another molex to 6 pin..

Called EVGA and they're sending a replacement, but i was pretty choked..
Dreamingawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-08, 07:01 PM   #5
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Your 280GTX bundled package

Quote:
Originally Posted by top3koms View Post
I got the EVGA SSC edition and it did not come with a straight 6 pin to 8 pin adapter ,it did come with a 2X6 pin to 8 pin adapter and it is working great for me so far.
Hmm i think my PSU comes with only 2x6pin connectors ... this dosent seem a good news to me
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-08, 07:26 PM   #6
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Your 280GTX bundled package

All of the EVGA's should come with a 2x6pin to 1x8pin converter, also it includes a 2xmolex to 1x6pin connector
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-08, 05:42 PM   #7
wollyka
From the Land of Cedars
 
wollyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Beirut-Lebanon
Posts: 449
Default Re: Your 280GTX bundled package

****.. mine didn't come with one, it only comes with a 2 molex to 6 pin connector? Why in hell do i need that?i cannot test my card now since my PSU has only 2 6 pins connectors.. I should have paid more attention to the bundle, now i screwed..( new PSU to order since no Y 8 pin adapter to be found in my country!! i should have bough the evga one instead!

PS: the card i got is the XFX one
__________________
System:
-Intel Core i7 2600 @4.2 Ghz
-ASUS P8Z68-V PRO GEN3
-G.SKILL SNIPER SERIES / 1600MHz
-evga Geforce 680GTX
-X-fi Fat1ality FPS
-Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W PSU
-LG LED E2380
wollyka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-08, 06:38 PM   #8
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Your 280GTX bundled package

I'll scratch the XFX off my list then.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-28-08, 01:22 PM   #9
wollyka
From the Land of Cedars
 
wollyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Beirut-Lebanon
Posts: 449
Default Re: Your 280GTX bundled package

Bough a new 1200W PSU.. maybe that's way it is better for future, but my advice to people is to have a good look on the bundle!
Edit: At least, my XFX for now is not having the overheating problem with Furmark, but it seems when the Fan reaches 100% it stays there even if the temps dropped! maybe a bug in the driver..
__________________
System:
-Intel Core i7 2600 @4.2 Ghz
-ASUS P8Z68-V PRO GEN3
-G.SKILL SNIPER SERIES / 1600MHz
-evga Geforce 680GTX
-X-fi Fat1ality FPS
-Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W PSU
-LG LED E2380
wollyka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-08, 02:17 PM   #10
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Your 280GTX bundled package

My BFG came with 1 2x6p-> 8pin and a 6p->8p... I think the reason XFX doesn't include a converter to 8-pin is that they believe it can damage the card...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-08, 04:58 PM   #11
wollyka
From the Land of Cedars
 
wollyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Beirut-Lebanon
Posts: 449
Default Re: Your 280GTX bundled package

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
My BFG came with 1 2x6p-> 8pin and a 6p->8p... I think the reason XFX doesn't include a converter to 8-pin is that they believe it can damage the card...
Yes true, they included a flyer showing proper Power connections and they clearly state they don't recommend this type of converter!
__________________
System:
-Intel Core i7 2600 @4.2 Ghz
-ASUS P8Z68-V PRO GEN3
-G.SKILL SNIPER SERIES / 1600MHz
-evga Geforce 680GTX
-X-fi Fat1ality FPS
-Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W PSU
-LG LED E2380
wollyka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-08, 08:14 PM   #12
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Your 280GTX bundled package

Quote:
Originally Posted by wollyka View Post
Yes true, they included a flyer showing proper Power connections and they clearly state they don't recommend this type of converter!
I'm running it with that cable. 850W Sli is for sure enough, don't think that there is any problem with that.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.