Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-23-08, 01:14 PM   #1
turdhat
Registered User
 
turdhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 379
Default What are you guys using to overclock the gtx280 ?

How do you know when you find the right speed ? My temps are awesome at 663/1188 but I stopped there because how do I know what is safe for the card ? What is being used for artifact testing these days ?
__________________
MSI P67GD55
Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8ghz 1.35v, 1.40v full load
Cooler Master Hyper 212
Gigabyte 580 @945/2232
4 Gigs Ripjaw @ 1600
Antec (a good one) 650w
A Partridge in a pear tree.
turdhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 01:16 PM   #2
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: What are you guys using to overclock the gtx280 ?

Furmark, stability test option... Go easy on it though, it stresses cards way more than Crysis for example...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 01:23 PM   #3
turdhat
Registered User
 
turdhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 379
Default Re: What are you guys using to overclock the gtx280 ?

Furmark ? Nice ok thanks.. This is good for artifact testing then ?
__________________
MSI P67GD55
Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8ghz 1.35v, 1.40v full load
Cooler Master Hyper 212
Gigabyte 580 @945/2232
4 Gigs Ripjaw @ 1600
Antec (a good one) 650w
A Partridge in a pear tree.
turdhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 01:44 PM   #4
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: What are you guys using to overclock the gtx280 ?

i use a rolex
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 02:41 PM   #5
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: What are you guys using to overclock the gtx280 ?

Do your scores go up in 3Dmark 06 when you guys overclock on the GTX 280? My scores actually went down slightly. Not sure why either. Temps were low too.
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX Titan SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme - 8941 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 02:46 PM   #6
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: What are you guys using to overclock the gtx280 ?

Overclocking is not worth it, i mean to overclock the video card.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 03:25 PM   #7
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: What are you guys using to overclock the gtx280 ?

Just run Crysis on max settings for a while.

For games, it is worth OCing.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 04:26 PM   #8
particleman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 370
Default Re: What are you guys using to overclock the gtx280 ?

I just tried Furmark a couple of days ago at the recommendation of Lfctony. It is by far the best stability tester. Nothing heats up a card like Furmark. Furmark makes your card run way hotter than rthdribl or even Crysis. If you want to test the worst case scenario use Furmark.

As for overclocking the 280 GTX, I would be careful with overclocking it, the card already runs incredibly hot, when you overclock it, it runs even hotter.
particleman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-08, 05:18 PM   #9
turdhat
Registered User
 
turdhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 379
Default Re: What are you guys using to overclock the gtx280 ?

Man I keep hearing all this about temps and mine has not heated above 72c even with Crysis and Atitool. I have a full server case with two normal sized case fans pulling in and one pushing out the back. My cpu has a zalman 9700. Temps are better than my old 8800gtx under load. I have been using rivatuner to check that I am running in full power 3d mode during games and even overclocked it a bit to 663/1188. THx for the suggestions folks.


Edit: Wow, furmark does heat things up. 85c with fans at auto and 80 with it forced too 100% Still not bad considering how that program stresses the hardware. How do I know how far I can push it without blowing it up ? I have the EVGA sc edition and I am hearing people say that are hitting 700 core a lot. My stock core is 621 and I am at 663 now.. Should I use furmark to check for artifacting ?
__________________
MSI P67GD55
Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8ghz 1.35v, 1.40v full load
Cooler Master Hyper 212
Gigabyte 580 @945/2232
4 Gigs Ripjaw @ 1600
Antec (a good one) 650w
A Partridge in a pear tree.
turdhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 06:01 PM   #10
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: What are you guys using to overclock the gtx280 ?

Riva Tuner works fine here, as does nTune. Riva Tuner allows you to unlink the shader from the core clock though. So I like it a tad better.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 11:32 PM   #11
pizzaguy
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 115
Default Re: What are you guys using to overclock the gtx280 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227 View Post
Overclocking is not worth it, i mean to overclock the video card.
I beg to differ.
pizzaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You guys need to resubmit your dma-buf patch LLStarks NVIDIA Linux 0 05-27-12 10:13 PM
Need your guys advice with this build.. anything should be added or removed? hirantha CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 12 05-18-12 08:36 PM
300$ for SSD please suggest me one guys :) said53 General Hardware 21 05-11-12 03:41 PM
How high of an overclock can I expect out of a GeForce4 Ti 4200? Danno NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 08-16-02 11:31 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.