Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-07-08, 10:24 AM   #1
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Slowly moving to 802.11n ;)

Today I bought a new mini-pcie nic for my laptop; a nice Atheros AR5008E-3NX (dual band) based wnic. My laptop already had an 802.11n, but it had a crappy broadcom based wnic. broadcom wnic only could handle 2 antennas, was slower and not compatible with net stumber or other special apps .

Now need to buy a dual band PCI, PCIe or USB wnic for family PC, just don't feel like dragging cables.

Finally need to wait for D-link DIR-855, Atheros based Dual band router.

all my PCs will run on 802.11n 5Ghz band 40MHz mode. Will keep 802.11G running on the same router in 2.4ghz mode, for backwards compatibility to my mobile windows phone.


Just sharing my plan.

dual band is the best, 11n will not slow down when B or G device connects. 802.11n 5Ghz 40MHz is the least used mode, no more interference of any type!
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-08, 09:39 PM   #2
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Slowly moving to 802.11n ;)

I like this dual band idea. It sucks having a 108mbps router but can only use 54 due a flatmates laptop. ::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 09:43 AM   #3
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Slowly moving to 802.11n ;)

only problem is that D-link DIR-855 is about 270-300 bucks.

I have two other choices:

Linksys something600 (forgot the excact model number) it cost about 170, but its broadcom based, there might be a chance broadcom and atheros might not like each other.

Apple Airport Extreme Gigabit edition, this router is Atheros based, but doesn't have normal webbased setup page, you have to install some ****ty apple program with limited options to configure it.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-08, 06:25 AM   #4
Stoneyguy
Mechwarrior
 
Stoneyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kaplan, LA
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via MSN to Stoneyguy
Default Re: Slowly moving to 802.11n ;)

I bought the D-Link DGL-4500 for use with the N and A standard, and I use my older D-Link 625 router for G and the rest. I was going to pick up the 855, but decided that since this solution is working without a hitch, why spend more money.
Stoneyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-08, 08:09 AM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Slowly moving to 802.11n ;)

true, i could keep my DGL-4300 for G 2.4ghz and use DGL-4500 for N 5ghz

how is DGL-4500 gigabit performance? I heard it the switch is not full-duplex.

also are you running n in 5ghz?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-08, 08:55 AM   #6
Stoneyguy
Mechwarrior
 
Stoneyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kaplan, LA
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via MSN to Stoneyguy
Default Re: Slowly moving to 802.11n ;)

I'm running the DGL-4500 in 5ghz for A and N.

I can't really comment on the wired performance. I have my 360, 625, and both my PCs Ethernet ports wired to my 4500 but never tested the speeds.
Stoneyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-08, 09:18 AM   #7
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Slowly moving to 802.11n ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
I like this dual band idea. It sucks having a 108mbps router but can only use 54 due a flatmates laptop. ::
The Belkin Wireless N MIMO router I picked up the other day seems very good so far. I got it in a kit with a Wireless N MIMO USB adapter for 80 of my English pounds and it is dual band. I stay connected at 150Mbps while my mate can connect with his 'G' PC and iPhone without slowing me down.

I think for the money it's a good bit of kit. Lifetime warrenty too . N1 stuff is just too much money ATM. Although I would have really liked this router just cos it looks badass...



...but it's 120 here with no USB adapters.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-08, 11:24 AM   #8
Stoneyguy
Mechwarrior
 
Stoneyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kaplan, LA
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via MSN to Stoneyguy
Default Re: Slowly moving to 802.11n ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs
The Belkin Wireless N MIMO router I picked up the other day seems very good so far. it is dual band. I stay connected at 150Mbps while my mate can connect with his 'G' PC and iPhone without slowing me down.
I don't see anywhere where it says the router works on the 5Ghz frequency. It would appear that it uses the 2.4GHz version of the N standard and so is not really a dual band. Let me know if I'm wrong, because it's a cheap alternative if I am.
Stoneyguy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-17-08, 11:35 AM   #9
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Slowly moving to 802.11n ;)

I guess it muct be if I can connect at 'N' speeds while other are connected at 'G' speeds, no? I just assumed it was based on this

EDIT: this is the setup screen. Dunno if it helps..


Last edited by Revs; 09-06-11 at 09:47 AM.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-08, 02:48 PM   #10
Stoneyguy
Mechwarrior
 
Stoneyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kaplan, LA
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via MSN to Stoneyguy
Default Re: Slowly moving to 802.11n ;)

Thanks Revs, but dualband is a router that's capable of performing at 5GHz and/or 2.4GHZ.

My 625 router is similar to the one your showing. It can use "N", "G", and "B" at the same time, but all are under the 2.4GHz band. My 4500 allows you to chose if you want 5GHz or 2.4GHz but not both at the same time. The 855 that Nekro listed in his post is the only router I know of that can run both simultaneously at this time.
Stoneyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-08, 05:39 PM   #11
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Slowly moving to 802.11n ;)

What's the highest connection speed that you can get with 2.4Ghz. I though it was 54Mbps?
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-08, 11:35 PM   #12
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Slowly moving to 802.11n ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoneyguy
The 855 that Nekro listed in his post is the only router I know of that can run both simultaneously at this time.
this linksys can do it aswell
http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...=1175206014B10

problem is that linksys is broadcom based, which might not play nice with atheros based cards.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Improve the Look of Your Home by Moving Wall Art and Rearranging Your Furniture [Home News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 09:00 PM
Why are the mods moving threads? Mike89 Feedback Forum 13 08-30-02 04:17 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.