Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-02-08, 04:06 AM   #61
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05 View Post
*erhem* So....you're done now, crainger?
Just use onboard and do passthrough via optical and let the z-5500 do the decoding. DTS interactive and dolby digital live is pretty much useless.
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-08, 04:17 AM   #62
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
::

Yes zapa. Use onboard. That's all you need.
Lol. K, now what about the HID? Mouse, Keyboard, etc?
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-08, 04:23 AM   #63
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05 View Post
Lol. K, now what about the HID? Mouse, Keyboard, etc?
Cordless! Logitech Cordless Desktop EX90. No need to get anything better than that.
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-08, 05:10 AM   #64
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Or get a Logitech DiNovo thingy. They have at built in touch pad so no need for a mouse. I have one and I'm thankful I can just use the keyboard in my palm.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-08, 01:10 PM   #65
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

K cool. I don't want it too look all tacky with a mouse and keyboard on top of the HTPC, lol.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-08, 03:51 PM   #66
BronzeGod
Kanye West is emo
 
BronzeGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,099
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05 View Post
/cvar_megaderail "fail"



I want something that will give me everything. It's one of those things where "If I have it, I won't need it, but if I don't have it, I'll end up needing it."
The Auzentech X-Fi has everything and then some. It will also be updated to suport DTS-Master HD as well I think.
__________________
>>>>In MikeC We Trust<<<<
BronzeGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-08, 03:04 AM   #67
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

But aren't Creative drivers utter crap right now??
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-08, 06:21 AM   #68
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Nope.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-03-08, 07:55 AM   #69
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Nope.
QFT.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-08, 12:44 PM   #70
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Then why does everyone bash on Creative?
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-08, 03:00 PM   #71
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05 View Post
Then why does everyone bash on Creative?
Because they suck!

Kidding! Creative's driver's are typically crap. Though I've heard recently they've gotten *a lot* better. I still have no reason to put that X-Fi back in my rig, though I am curious to give it a go. The Crystalyzer was nice and all, but I do enjoy utilizing the S-PDIF out and the only digital out on my X-Fi is a 3.5mm out if I recall. Don't feel like buying another cable to wire into my receiver right now. It's more of a hassle than it might seem.

For HTPC Creative's cards are essentially useless. For most games Creative's cards are almost useless. From what I recall, there aren't many titles that make really good use of EAX. Though for the games that do utilise and implement it properly, it really does sound killer (especially on a beasty 5.1 setup ). Regardless, those games are few and far between unfortunately. Newer titles like Crysis and CoD4 really don't take advantage of EAX (to my understanding) and thus sound excellent on most on-board solutions assuming you're using good speakers.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-08, 03:50 PM   #72
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05 View Post
Then why does everyone bash on Creative?
The drivers were easy to mess up if you install them wrong. There was also the 'Squeal of Death' which affected A LOT of Audigy 2 owners. It was an issues where the PC would lock up with a squealing noise, it was hardware and Creative acknowledged the issues and replaced a few peoples cards, but not everyone's. I had the issue with my Abit IS7 P4 board, but it disappeared when I went to an nforce chipset.

Then there was the cost. Creative cards have always been pricey, but compared to the latest Azentech and ASUS offerings, they are cheaper.

Redeemed is right about Creative cards not being good for HTPC, I guess they were before we had decent onboard and DDL, but now they are only good for gaming. Ignore what people say about them being crap for gaming. It's the only way to get full hardware sound for all games under Vista. EAX is a bonus, but Alchemy will also boost FPS in a lot of DS3D games under vista. Especially Oblivion I managed a 10FPS increase, although that was before my beloved Q6600.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 GT: audio on TV with a DVI(PC) to HDMI(TV) cable? legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 0 06-23-12 07:58 AM
Upgrade from 290.10 to 295.49 on GeForce 8300 = no hdmi audio + overscan tbubel NVIDIA Linux 2 06-15-12 03:55 AM
No HDMI audio on 302.07 fldc NVIDIA Linux 5 06-01-12 04:46 PM
nForce Audio pergamon NVIDIA Linux 6 12-25-02 11:38 PM
Bohooo HELP, new Nforce 1.13 Audio Utilities won INITIALIZE nanyangview CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 1 09-04-02 07:40 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.