Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-22-08, 08:33 PM   #1
Maverickman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 527
Default Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!

I was playing COD4 today for about 10 minutes when my computer just shut down. I was able to reboot with no problems, but this was totally unexpected. I have a 750W power supply, so that wasn't the problem. I did set dual-cards to "yes" in the graphics section. The next time I played, I set it to "no," and I played for an hour with no issues. Maybe that dual cards setting was the problem. COD4 plays great at 1920X1200 with 4X AA and AF set at max.

I also played Crysis for over an hour with no problems!
__________________
Core i7 2600 @ 3.7GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Superclocked 941 MHz
1TB Seagate HDD 7200 RPM 32MB Cache
16X BluRay-RW drive
Dell 30-inch U3014 monitor
Dell speakers
Maverickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-08, 09:12 PM   #2
Malichite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48
Default Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!

I would suggest that you use a program to monitor the temp of your GPU core since there have been a few of us on the forum that have been having massive overheating (i.e. 100+ C). Best way to see if your card is affected by the same bug I have is to download something to monitor GPU core temp (ie. RivaTuner or Everest) and then get Ozone3d FurMark. If you have one of the anomalous cores like I have, you should see the core rapidly rise to the high 90C - 100+C in only a minute or so running FurMark at a high res with AA. If your card is indeed overheating you may then either experience thermal throttling or sometimes a complete shutdown.

Currently I and several others on the forums are RMAing our new cards as this is definitely NOT normal behavior. Most normal GTX280 will hold around the high 70s C to low 80s C in games and programs like FurMark or rthdrbl. I am curious to hear what you find out, but it is possible you aren't affected and it was related to the driver settings you adjusted.

-Malichite
__________________
Q9650@3.6Ghz | Gigabyte X48 | Asus 8800GTX | Auzentech Prelude 7.1 | 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066 | PCP&C 750W SLI Edition | WinXP Pro x32 | Logitech G15
Malichite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-08, 09:57 PM   #3
Maverickman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 527
Default Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!

I think it was the in-game setting that was the problem. The GTX 280 is obviously not an SLI card. I've played Crysis for over an hour with no problems. When I exit the game, I immediately check my GPU temp. with EVGA Precision and GPU-Z, and it is usually in the 74-76 degree range. I'm assuming that's the approx. temperature under load.
__________________
Core i7 2600 @ 3.7GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Superclocked 941 MHz
1TB Seagate HDD 7200 RPM 32MB Cache
16X BluRay-RW drive
Dell 30-inch U3014 monitor
Dell speakers
Maverickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-08, 11:47 PM   #4
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverickman View Post
I think it was the in-game setting that was the problem. The GTX 280 is obviously not an SLI card. I've played Crysis for over an hour with no problems. When I exit the game, I immediately check my GPU temp. with EVGA Precision and GPU-Z, and it is usually in the 74-76 degree range. I'm assuming that's the approx. temperature under load.
Checking the temp after exiting the game will not do. The temperature fall rapidly after exiting. If you want to really learn the actual operating temps, use furmark in a window while running Rivatuner or EVGA's precision tool...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 12:16 AM   #5
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
Checking the temp after exiting the game will not do. The temperature fall rapidly after exiting. If you want to really learn the actual operating temps, use furmark in a window while running Rivatuner or EVGA's precision tool...
+1
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 05:22 AM   #6
LBJM
Registered User
 
LBJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 627
Default Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!

you might want to get a G15 keyboard so you can monitor game temps on the fly.
__________________
Gigabyte ud7 rev 2.0
12GB of G.skill

wishing for an ARM based desktop.
LBJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 05:41 AM   #7
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!

No need for that, the eVGA precision tool supports OSD for the large majority of games...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 09:57 AM   #8
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!

as does rivatuner..
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-25-08, 03:40 PM   #9
s1kb45trd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!

me too, crashed in call of duty 4 and crysis.

RMA it while you can! i did, got a new card with no such problems so far.

if you want to keep your faulty core, just increase the fan to 100% + enhance your in-case airflow. or you can downclock your gpu. both will work, but you shouldnt have to deal with these problems in the first place.
s1kb45trd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-08, 07:11 AM   #10
rap1d^
 
rap1d^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 110
Default Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!

Just tried out COD4 for the first time since getting my GTX, after 5mins gameplay PC powers itself off. I have no other problems and the temps are fine 70-75c.
__________________
| Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.0Ghz | Asus P6T Deluxe | 3x2Gb Corsair DDR3 PC-12800 | 2 x Palit GTX480 | Creative XFI | OCZ Vertex 3 | BenQ FP241w | Windows 7 64 |
rap1d^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-08, 07:23 AM   #11
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rap1d^ View Post
Just tried out COD4 for the first time since getting my GTX, after 5mins gameplay PC powers itself off. I have no other problems and the temps are fine 70-75c.
What PSU are you using?
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-08, 08:47 AM   #12
rap1d^
 
rap1d^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 110
Default Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
What PSU are you using?
It aint the PSU, 1kw Enermax Galaxy and this only happens in COD4
__________________
| Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.0Ghz | Asus P6T Deluxe | 3x2Gb Corsair DDR3 PC-12800 | 2 x Palit GTX480 | Creative XFI | OCZ Vertex 3 | BenQ FP241w | Windows 7 64 |
rap1d^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 02:50 PM
NVIDIA launches GeForce GTX 670, Zotac's AMP! Reviewed (PCGamer) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 11:11 AM
GALAXY Launches the GeForce GTX 670 and GTX 670 GC! News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 09:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.